We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11828 NW Plaza Circle, Kansas City, MO 64153 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The only thing good about this stay was the young woman who took our reservations and it went downhill from there. The hall outside our nonsmoking room reeked of smoke. The room was dirty. Ring around the bowl in the toilet. The air conditioner was noisy. After being in the building for approximately 4 hours I experienced an asthma attack at night. That has never happened to me before. I would not recommend that anyone stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davissue48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    28
    45
    114
See reviews for
74
28
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stay here if you want:

dirt toilet
mold in shower
ants in your room
no shampoo without asking
a general dirty feeling
a shower you cannot adjust that will beat your skin off
a front desk that cannot break a S20

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank DCAdGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable that's all one can ask for during a one night pit-stop. The hotel was a 20 minute drive to downtown Kansas city. We did not make the drive and found a closer place to go out for dinner called Zona Rosa. there were a variety of shops and restaurants in this town-like complex.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wholenessmoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This place is great! Grear value!!!!! The employes treated us like family!!! The room is big and breakfest is really good. The bar prices are cheap, they have really good specials. The employee Ronda was very sweet and always made us feel like we were important. I will be returning to this hotel and will recomended it to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a Clarion until a few days ago. I am guessing the lost their franchise and I saw first hand why. I am pretty sure they are not running the AC in the lobby since the front doors were open on a 97 degree day. Which leads to the flies on the lobby/breakfast area.

The rooms smelled of mildew and the desk person (I think it was a actually the shuttle driver manning the desk) cared less.

Room Tip: shop around
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliceg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was hands down the most scummy, disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in.. Upon walking off the elevator onto the 2nd floor where our room was I could instantly smell mold (my 16 month old is VERY allergic to mold and mildew), before even entering our room I went straight back down stairs and asked for a refund due to my daughters allergy and the smell and the JERK (owner, i later found out) stated NO WAY.. that this is how hotels work and I would not be getting one penny back. I then asked if I could speak to some one above him, his exact words were that the only person above him was GOD!!! I was completley shocked and outraged and then I said that was absurd and I wanted to speak with someone and his wife, who out right called me a liar and said that my daughter was not allergic to "anything in their hotel" confirmed that the only person above the JERK I was speaking with was GOD!. Needless to say, we got charged for the room and ended up leaving and having a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Next door

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hailee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

It was easy to get a room. Nice airport shuttle service. But my room was nasty with stained carpet and a flithy shower curtain. I was very unpleased. Will not be staying again I will make sure that I preplan for a cleaner hotel when traveling.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adore007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Airport Kansas City
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Airport - Plaza Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#29 of 111 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Kansas City International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Property: Plaza Hotel
Address: 11828 NW Plaza Circle, Kansas City, MO 64153 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Airport)
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing