We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe worth it for parking, maybe.”
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #93 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed March 14, 2012

On the plus side, beds were comfortable, linens seemed very clean, 2 weeks of parking was cheap and the shuttle to and from the airport was prompt. On the bad side- building was just dingy, my room had threadbare towels, and the guys on staff here were CREEPY. As a single woman I would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CurlyLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 259 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

Great customer service. We had a 6:00 am flight and this hotel has a 4:25 am (and 4:40 am) shuttle bus to the airport. The price for a one king bed suite (bedroom is separated from the living room, you can close the door) is affordable, about $125++ plus you'd get a free breakfast and can park for a week here. Cheaper than parking at the airport.
Unfortunately, the mattress was too hard, otherwise I would give it a 4 star.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This hotel is located very close to KCI and makes it convenient if you need to stay overnight before catching an early flight.

That said, this hotel is a bit tired. The rooms need a bit refreshing and the bedding need to be replaced.

The customer services makes up for some of the short comings.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RanchGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was delivered the WRONG sandwich. They came and took it back after I had taken the cover off and eaten some fries!!! I was healthy but what if I had a cold or bronchitis or ..... I did not want it but did they serve it to someone else? The health department will be notified!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We will never stay at this location again. Our bed was uncomfortable and the 2nd night I found the control for the Sleep Comfort bed was under mattress. Bed was deflated and inoperable. Our friend's room, the fridge and microwave were missing and not very clean. The pool the next morning was dirty, scummy and bunches of hair floating on top.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I was traveling with my disabled father. I called ahead to be sure there were handicapped rooms. I was told there were, however the bathtubs are NOT wheelchair accessible, they are the same bathtubs in the regular rooms with bars. The sleep number beds were uncomfortable, the hot tub was freezing cold, the drains were clogged, some of the light bulbs were burned out, the free breakfast was gross and the seat belts in the van had been cut out. The staff was friendly, except for the manager, who was extremely rude! When I pointed out the bathtubs were not wheelchair accessible she recommended we stay at the Hampton...not to worry, next time we will!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I usually write excellent reviews, but I have to write about our experience to warn others and hope that management fixes things. Checkin was a complete mess. The computer systems were down and we waited over 30 minutes before we were finally given a key....to someone else's room! Luckily they were understanding since they also walked in on someone else! Another 20 minutes later, finally given a room that was unoccupied. We dropped our stuff off and left for dinner, but our key wasn't working when we got back. Waited in line again and overheard the person at the front saying they were also assigned a room with someone else's luggage, which turned out to be ours! All we wanted was a place to sleep before heading to the airport early in the morning. One sleep number bed was broken with one side permanently on soft, and the other hard, leaving an uncomfortable line in the middle. Shower drains didn't work either way, wireless didn't work at all so we hopped on neighboring marriott's wireless. Pool "closed" for maintenance the entire time even though we didn't see anyone cleaning it. They had the guts to send me a satisfaction survey which I filled out outlining the poor management and problems, but no response. Bottom line is I will never stay at another Clarion hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank amc347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport
Comfort Inn-Kansas City Airport
#48 of 111 in Kansas City
293 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City
Sleep Inn Airport Kansas City
#78 of 111 in Kansas City
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kansas City South
1 mi away
Hilton Kansas City Airport
Hilton Kansas City Airport
#13 of 111 in Kansas City
652 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Airport
Hampton Inn Kansas City Airport
#23 of 111 in Kansas City
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: 11828 NW Plaza Cir, Kansas City, MO 64153-1110 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Airport)
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: $68 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing