We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Kansas City barbeque”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Smokin' Guns BBQ

Smokin' Guns BBQ
Ranked #104 of 1,406 Restaurants in Kansas City
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good Kansas City barbeque”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Award winning KC barbeque. The rubs and sauces are very good. I usually get the ribs and potato casserole and I have never been disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plain--1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    68
    37
    20
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Didn't hit my expectations”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Visited restaurant based on Triple D TV show and was somewhat disappointed in the BBQ. I have been in KC many times and have had great BBQ in the past, but the brisket and turkey BBQ we had at the Smokin' Guns BBQ seemed dry and chewy. The burnt ends were better, although nothing to write home about. The sauce was OK, but the hot one could be taken up a notch.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Two_from_NC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The brisket was cold, grey and dry. The manager informed us this was probably due to "reheating". So you know your product is crap and yet you serve it anyway? No apology either.
Ribs were decent, but like most everything else, lacked any hint of smoky flavor.
Everything seemed like it was leftover from earlier in the day. Dining room was almost empty at dinnertime, which is no surprise given the low quality of the food served.
The fame from Guy Fieri's visit must have gone to their heads and they probably think reputation will carry them...sorry guys, your food is mediocre and not worth the hype at all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMisanRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Best barbeque I have ever had and at a super reasonable price. Where else can you get a huge platter of food and two draft beers for $21? Had the 3 meat platter with Ribs, Brisket, and Turkey. I think I may go back tomorrow night for dinner two of two while I am here in KC!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevesmobilepc1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas ctiy
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just ok...”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I thought it was just okay. We split the baby back ribs and the best part of the meal was the potato casserole. Dinning room is boring.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sashadog24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' Guns BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Smokin' Guns BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing