We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for train enthusiasts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Crown Center
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent a few nights at the Westin after Christmas, taking the train from Chicago. Once you wend your way through the concrete maze of Amtrak and get into the original Union Station, you are transported. The old station is fabulously maintained. And even though it is not well-promoted, you can walk all the way to the Westin without going outdoors via an enclosed walkway connecting the facilities. It's not that far, but you can save on taxi money. The Westin is a fine place with a heated outdoor pool open year-round. The staff are friendly, the rooms very clean, and the access to the shops in the Crown Center very convenient. We went back to the Union Station to see the model train exhibit and soak up the atmosphere that only a classic transit hub can provide. I'd gladly stay at the Westin again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room. Some people may not want to face the pool as it draws a lot of kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boomertravelers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Boomertravelers_11- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and were able to indulge in all the great sites in Crown Center. It is our goal to create as relaxing and refreshing an experience as possible for our guests. It means a lot to our team we were able to provide top notch service for you. We value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to have you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,169 - 1,175 of 2,292 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is magnificent in terms of size, view and location (if you know what you're looking for). This was my first trip to Kansas and Cory, the Front Office Director, helped me arrange everything I needed to make it a memorable stay. Thanks, Cory!

Steps away from the WWII museum and connected to Crown Center, you have everything you need here. The lobby has got to be one of the most beautiful lobbies I have seen at the Westin properties. Bravo, guys. The convenient and state-of-the-art work station made managing work away from the office much more enjoyable.

The room we stayed in had a great view of the city and the famous Union station. We will definitely stay here again when we stop by Kansas!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Aidan N- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of all the great sites and shops in Crown Center, connected to our hotel. It is our goal to ensure our guests have everything they need for a top notch stay. I am happy to know our team went above and beyond to create a friendly and relaxing stay for you. We look forward to having you back in the future! Thank you again for your refreshing comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived at the Westin Crown Center Hotel on a Friday following the Christmas holiday. The hotel was bustling with weekenders. It was such a pleasant and busy environment. The check-in service was fast and friendly. Our traditional king size room had a breathtaking view of the Kansas City Mid Town area. The Shops (including legoland and the aquarium) attached to the hotel was a plus. It was kid friendly and very accommodating. The next morning breakfast at the Brassiere Restaurant was great and affordable. The buffet was clean and the staff was very nice. The waiters talked about sports with us and made us laugh. They also remembered us the next morning. We had a wonderful stay. I highly recommend this property for your stay in Kansas City!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Gwynne B- I appreciate you taking your time to share your refreshing comments on your stay with us at The Westin Crown Center. I am pleased to hear what a top notch experience you had with us and that our staff provided quick and efficient service, ensuring you had everything you needed for a relaxing weekend. Crown Center is so beautiful over the holidays and I am happy you were able to indulge in all the great attractions the area has to offer. We truly value your business and it means a lot to our team to know what a positive experience we were able to create. We look forward to having you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Nice 2 night stay at the Westin Crown Center for our 50th anniversary. The Corner room was spacious and met our every need. Room service dining was delicious. The location near Union Station was great especially with the inclosed walkways. We plan to return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Corner room for its spaciousness and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Susan F- Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am delighted to hear what a top notch stay you had with us! It means a lot to our team you chose to celebrate such a special celebrations! Happy 50th Wedding Anniversary. It a great to know our team went above and beyond to ensure your stay was special and memorable. We truly value your business and look forward to creating many more relaxing stays for you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had such a good time and the staff was so helpful and anxious to please us. The buffet on Christmas Day was fantastic...and to think, we had been concerned that we wouldn't find a place open for a decent Christmas meal.
Our hotel room was clean and spacious (the view was fabulous!) We called the front desk and requested a slightly later check-out than noon; the front desk clerk voluntarily gave us extra time. How thoughtful!!
Thank you for doing everything possible to help us have a really nice time! We will be looking forward to staying in this hotel again, as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Our daughter chose for us, so that we had a terrific view of the Mayor's Christmas Tree (from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am delighted to hear what a top notch experience you had with us and that our staff went above and beyond to ensure you had everything you needed for a relaxing stay. I have shared your refreshing comments regarding the delicious meal you received on Christmas with our Brasserie team. I am truly happy with what a memorable experience you had with us and we look forward to creating many more for you in the future. Thank you again for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have stayed at this property for two straight years. Last year they were remodeling the lobby and rooms. They did a great job. Plenty of good restaurants to eat and shopping is getting better too. Great location and we will stay here again next year. Has an on-site parking garage and the train station is across the street.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefeMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

chefemark- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over the past 2 years and are impressed with our new lobby renovations. The Westin takes great pride in being located in the heart of Crown Center and I am happy you are able to indulge in all the area has to offer at your convenience. We value your business and look forward to having you back with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I recently stayed overnight at the Westin Crown Center in downtown KC. No problems experienced with the stay. All of the staff I encountered were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely consider the Westin Crown Center in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmichael171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

mmichael171- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your stay at The Westin Crown Center. I am pleased to hear what a great stay you had with us and that our staff was friendly and accommodating, ensuring you had everything you needed for a relaxing and refreshing stay! We truly value your business and would love to welcome you back to create another top notch, memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
3.1 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 111 in Kansas City
1,204 reviews
3.1 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crown Center

Address: 1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108-2503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#10 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $220 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center, a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award is encompassed by Hallmark's Crown Center. Known as a city within a city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelPower, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Crown Hotel Kansas City
Westin Crown Center
Westin Kansas City
Kansas City Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing