We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convention Value, Updated Room, Lobby Construction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Crown Center
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Convention Value, Updated Room, Lobby Construction”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Value was great, room was fine. Lobby was under construction but should be finished by now--leaving you with a great new lobby. Found the undersized pillows a little hard to work with--should have called for replacements. And the catered food for the conference was not always so great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
mkedan- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is great to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are very excited about the lobby renovations and will be opening the lobby back up on March 13th. It will be great to hear what you think of the finished product on your visit. I sincerely apologize the food provided during your conference did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with our banquet team so we can work to provide signature food in the future. The Westin team values your business and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,183
    556
    270
    120
    59
See reviews for
439
400
90
925
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our Anniversary weekend and had a wonderful time! The lobby was under renovation during our stay and there were lines to check in, but KUDOS to the staff for being wonderfully attentive in getting us checked in efficiently and quickly. We had a large corner room at the end of the hall. The room was a nice large size and equipped with a fridge. The room was clean and quiet with a VERY comfortable bed. The location of this hotel is what makes this property wonderful. It is connected to Crown Center, giving you access to LEGOLAND, SeaLife Aquarium, restaurants and shopping. It is also connected by skywalk to Union Station and more restaurants at The Freight House. It was nice to walk to dinner at Union Station while the snow fell outside and not have to drive. I can't wait to visit KC and The Westin again! Thanks to the Westin for a memorable Anniversary!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2twins0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
mom2twins0829- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you and your husband had a wonderful time during your anniversary. It means so much to our team to get to be a part of such a special day! I am happy our staff was friendly and accommodating, getting you set up with a beautiful corner room! The Westin is very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center and I am so happy you were able to take advantage of our covered link walkway to visit Union Station, and the Freight House for a delicious meal as well as get to visit the new Sea Life Aquarium and Lego Land! We look forward to being able to create another welcoming and memorable stay for you and your husband in the future. Let us know what you think of the new lobby renovations when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Hotel staff was very attentive and helpful. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, and the location in proximity to Crown Center was fantastic. Because of the numerous skywalks which connect to the hotel it is easy to walk to numerous places without having to go outside. I would stay here again if traveling to Kansas City.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gozags2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Gozags2012- Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was friendly and accommodating, making sure you had everything you needed for a signature stay. We take great pride in our Westin Heavenly beds and I am happy you were able to relax and unwind. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center, surrounded by so many of Kansas City's favored attractions and it is great you were able to take advantage of our covered walkways to stay out of the snow and cold and visit all Kansas City has to offer in the area. We truly value your business and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I travel to KC for work each month and stay at the Westin each time. I have many other hotel options but, the rooms / bathrooms, recognition of my SPG status, and most importantly the staff keep me coming back to this property. They are undergoing renovation in the lobby right now, however besides seeing it as a guest you would never know it is going on. They have thoughtfully moved the front desk and provided a clear path to the elevators so guests really have no impact.
From Harry the shuttle driver, the kind man who makes specialty coffees each morning, the friendly front desk staff, and to the former globetrotter front door man, I have never felt as welcomed in a hotel.

The location provides easy walking distance to several restaurants as well as being a quick cab ride to midtown, Plaza, or downtown restaurants. I look forward to each time I return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCharles_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
MrsCharles_13- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to have you as one of our loyal members and that you consider us your home away from home! Your business means so much to our team and I am happy to know the staff play such a huge roll in your committment to the Westin Crown Center. We are very excited about the lobby renovations and cannot wait to hear what you think of the new improvements, which will be complete at the end of this month! I have shared your warm comments with our management team so our staff receives the proper recognition they so greatly deserve. We look forward to having you stay with us again so and create many more relaxing, welcoming stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville area
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was very impressed with the Westin Crown Center! The staff was very nice and helpful. My room was very spacious, comfortable and clean. Loved the bed! The food was great! I would definitely stay there again.

Kudos again to the staff. KC was hit with one of the biggest snowstorms ever while I was there. Some employees couldn't make it into work. The ones who did kept everything running smoothly. Thanks for doing a great job under difficult circumstances.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
FoodieTN- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was friendly and accommodating, ensuring you had everything you needed to have a relaxing and refreshing stay! The Westin Heavenly bed is a favored amenity by many of our guests and I am so happy you were able to have a "heavenly" sleep. Throughout the crazy snow storm, knowing our staff was able to come together as a team and create such a positive stay for you is just great! We value your business and look forward to creating another signature stay for you in the future. Let us know what you think of the new lobby renovations on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAINBRIDGE ISLAND
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel had all the little touches that are frequently missing: free(!) bottled water each day, a magnifying mirror in the bathroom, lots of easy access outlets for charging electronics, feather pillows on request, a refrigerator that is not stuffed with items for sale, a safe, real hangers.... Plus, the room was a nice size, the shower was great, there were bed tables on both sides of the bed. I don't know if I got free wireless because of the group that I was with or if everyone gets that. The only little annoyance was that the bathroom light buzzed, but that was minor compared to the rest of the amenities in this hotel.
Also, the front desk was quick, accomodating and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Susan T- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to appreciate all of the amenities offered in your guest room! The Westin is very excited about the new shower heads and so happy you enjoyed showering each day! I sincerely apologize for the buzzing from the light in your bathroom. I completely understand how frustrating that can be. Sharing your feedback can only help us provide a more renewing experience for all guests. I have shared your comments regarding the buzzing to our engineering team so we can fix these issues for the future. We value your business and appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. The Westin looks forward to serving you as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

With impending weather moving into the Kansas City area, our business was able to book rooms for employees who needed to be close in order to staff their departments. The staff at the Weston went above and beyond in a crazy weather situation. I wish there were six stars!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Kim1024- Thank you for taking your time to share your positive feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It am so pleased to hear we were able to accommodate you and your staff during the crazy winter storms! I am happy our staff was able to go above and beyond to ensure you were as comfortable as possible during your stay. It means so much to us to have you share your experience with us! We look forward to having you back to the Westin in the future, and staying with us under better cirmunstances. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
3.1 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,134 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
1.0 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
1,082 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crown Center

Property: The Westin Crown Center
Address: 1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108-2503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center, a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award is encompassed by Hallmark's Crown Center. Known as a city within a city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Crown Hotel Kansas City
Westin Crown Center
Westin Kansas City
Kansas City Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing