We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best place in KC to spend a weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Crown Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Crown Center
Ranked #10 of 113 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Best place in KC to spend a weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The amenities offered by the Westin, as well as their great staff, make this THE place to stay if you are spending time in KC, whether for business or pleasure. There are plenty of good places to eat/drink in the area (walking), as well as some really great museums and things to visit.

Any time I have stayed at the Westin over the years, the staff goes out of their way to make the stay wonderful. Not all places do.

Room Tip: Get a room on one of the top floors, for a great view of downtown/midtown KC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RufusRJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
RufusRJones- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your warm comments regarding your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you consider our hotel the best place in Kansas City to spend a weekend and that our staff makes you feel warm and welcome. We take great pride in being located in the heart of Crown Center and I am happy you were able to take advantage of all of the local attractions. We strive to provide signature service for our guests and knowing they go above and beyond to make sure you have a great stay is wonderful. We value your loyalty to the Westin Crown Center and look forward to continuing to create refreshing, memorable stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    520
    258
    113
    56
See reviews for
413
373
89
862
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Outstanding hotel with great customer service. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Check-in very quick. Front desk personnel very polite and courteous. Location is close to many attractions and restaurants. Would recommend for all types of travel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ETA9977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
ETA9977- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to relax and unwind in your clean and comfortable room. I am pleased our staff was able to provide quick and efficient service for you and that they made you feel warm and welcome to the Westin. We take great pride in being located in the heart of Crown Center and I am happy to know it was convenient for you to visit the location restaurants and attractions so close by. We value your business and look forward to creating another signature stay with you in the future. Let us know what you think of the new lobby renovations that will be complete in March on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Comfortable bed, great service, good food and drink, what more can you ask for! Excellent location to the Power and Light section of Downtown. Easy access in and out. If you needed help, the staff was quick to respond. I look forward to the next time I am there, to see the renovation project complete. If you need something in downtown K.C., this is where you need to stay. I will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank logrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
logrog- Thank you for taking your time to share your warm feedback regarding your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to unwind in the comfort of your Westin Heavenly bed. We take great pride in being located in the heart of Crown Center and I am happy you were able to take advantage of the local attractions in the area. The Westin strives to provide signature service, and knowing they were quick and efficient, making your overall stay a success is such a delight. We genuinly value your business and appreciate your loyalty to the Westin. I look forward to creating another welcoming and memorable stay and hearing what you think of the new lobby that is complete in March on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at the Westin for an international business organization meeting. I had stayed here a few times before. There was another conference here at the same time, and when I arrived around 9 p.m., theywere out of the original room type booked for me. My room was upgraded to the top floor (I believe the upper 5 floors are an upgrade from the first 13). Even with the remodel of the vast lobby area going on, the staff was very warm, courteous, and I had a wonderful stay. Checking in and out was swift, and the food was great, as I has breakfast in their restaurant as well as several lunches as a part of the business meetings.

Room Tip: Wonderful views from the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
James M- Thank you for taking your time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and after a long day of traveling our staff was able to provide quick and efficient service, making you feel warm and welcome upon your arrival. I am happy you enjoyed your meals in our restaurant and that our meeting was a success. We value your loyalty to the Westin and look forward to providing you with signature service in the future. I can't wait to hear what you think of the new lobby that will be complete in March! Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I love this hotel. Beds are very comfortable, rooms are clean and service is excellent. There was considerable renovation going on when we were there, but it in no way detracted from the attractiveness or comfort of this hotel. Check in was remarkably quick. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I have stayed in several rooms. I like the higher floors because the view is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaFCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
GinaFCM- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you loved staying with us and were able to relax and unwind in our Westin Heavenly beds! We are very excited about the new lobby renovations that will be complete in March and look forward to having you back to our hotel to hear what you think of the new improvements. We strive to provide signature service to our guests, making them feel relaxed and welcome and I pleased the service you received was excellent. We value your business and cannot wait to serve you as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Westin recently as part of a weekend trip from St. Louis to Kansas City via Amtrak. The reason for our trip was to go to Legoland, which is in Crown Center. It was only logical to stay at the Westin as it is connected to both Crown Center and Union Station.

When I made the reservation, I noted that we were going to be celebrating our son's birthday. When I called the day of arrival to confirm my reservation, I again noted this. When we checked in, the front desk agent read aloud this information and said she'd make sure that the hotel would send up a goodie from room service. Since we arrived so late in the day, she said she'd send it the following night.

We were pleased to be upgraded to a corner room. There were two "balconies" that overlooked Union Station. The kids enjoyed watching the trains go by. The room was very large but the bathroom was rather small and there was rust on the ceiling above the shower head. The TV was rather old. It was very warm in our room and would not cool down even after setting the thermostat to 66. We just cracked open the windows for a while.

It was very convenient to be able to walk right into Crown Center. We liked being so close that we could run back to our room to drop off packages, take a nap, etc.

We had the breakfast buffet both days at Brasserie in the lobby. The $1 price for kids made it attractive. We had the same waitress both days and she was great.

Our last night at the hotel was a waiting game... the promised birthday amenity had not showed up, even while we were out for dinner. I let the kids stay up a little while just to see if room service would come, but nothing. I did mention this upon checkout and the front desk agent was very apologetic.

In summary - Great location. Physically getting a little run down, at least in the guestrooms and hallways. Certainly appreciated the free upgrade, but a little disappointed in the missed amenity. Westin needs to take a page out of Four Seasons Hotel's playbook when it comes to catering to children.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Shannon P- Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and means a lot you would chose the Westin to celebrate your son's birthday! We are very excited about the Sea Life Aquarium and Lego Land that are new additions to Crown Center and it is great to hear you were able to take advantage of this! We have a great package deal for these attractions on our website for your future stays. I am so happy you were able to enjoy your suite and your kids were able to have fun watching the trains from their room. I sincerely apology for the issues you enountered with the birthday amenity not arriving to your room. I have shared your comments with our Restaurant Management as well as our Front Office Manager so we can work to better communicate with our staff to prevent this from occurring in the future. This is not what staying at a Westin should feel like. We would love the opportunity to have you back in the future and hear what you think of the new lobby renovations that will be complete in March. Thank you again for sharing your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our family went to Kansas City from St. Louis on the Amtrak. We did not want to get a rental car so we decided to stay at the Westin at Crown Center which is attached to Union Station by a covered, elevated walkway. This is the second time we made this trip as it is a nice, long weekend getaway. The Westin is a wonderful place to stay. We booked a standard (2 bed) room and requested an upper floor. When we checked in, we were told that we were not only on the 15th floor but we were also upgraded to a corner suite! What a wonderful room, lots of space for our family and beautiful views out of the ceiling to floor windows that covered the entire wall. We had a beautiful view both day and night! The beds are so comfortable and have multiple layers of bedding and pillows of every kind. There was only 1 tv in the corner suite but it has a swivel so you can turn it towards the seating area or the beds. This hotel is attached to the Crown Center Shopping Mall that has wonderful restaurants and other venues. We saw the live theatrical production of Number the Stars which was also very nice. The Westin will also give you a discount card to use at numerous shops, restaurants and other venues at the Crown Center. There is a Legoland and SeaLife at the Crown Center as well. The Brassiere restaurant that is at the Westin offers Kids Eat for $1.00 with adult meal purchase. We ate Sunday breakfast buffet and it was wonderful, tastey food, fresh and hot, The $1.00 kids meals made this a great deal. We would totally recommend this wonderful hotel, which is convenient, clean, upscale and beautiful. There were renovations being done in the lobby but we did not hear any noises from the work crews. It is scheduled to be completed in March 2012 which is very soon. If you are going to Kansas City, stay here, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCullen46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
BCullen46- Thank you for taking your time to share your warm feedback regarding your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff took great care of you, upgrading you to a high floor, corner suite! We take great pride in our Westin Heavenly beds and I am happy you were able to relax and unwind, while enjoying your beautiful view of downtown Kansas City. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center, connected to so many great shops and restaurants, as well as Union Station and I am pleased you were able to use the Link covered walkway to stay dry and warm, as well as enjoy all of the great amenities Crown Center has to offer! The Westin values your business and looks forward to having the opportunity to serve you and your family as our guests in the future. Our lobby renovations will be complete in March and I would love to hear what you think of the new improvements. Check out the packages we offer online for Sea Life and Lego Land for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
3.1 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
3.0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#15 of 113 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crown Center

Property: The Westin Crown Center
Address: 1 E Pershing Rd, Kansas City, MO 64108-2503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center, a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award is encompassed by Hallmark's Crown Center. Known as a city within a city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Crown Hotel Kansas City
Westin Crown Center
Westin Kansas City
Kansas City Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing