We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great group service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A group of about 50 women spent four wonderful days at this property and were treated like royalty! Rooms were average, but we weren't in them much except to sleep. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms had all the working parts, and a/c worked great which was a huge plus in the 99+ temps! Staff made the stay perfect! Always a smile, always helpful, always accommodating. Food was great (especially breakfast). Special kudos to Tracee! Above and beyond!

Room Tip: Pool view!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emgTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

emgTX,

We are happy that you enjoyed our property! I will pass your compliments to Tracee. She, and all of our staff, strive to exceed your expectations. Tracee is a great asset and your compliments will be rewarding to her.

Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 725 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wow was the Staff Accommodating! Nice and Friendly....Room was great, Restaurant and Bar was Great! Hey Tracie!
This Red Hatter Thinks You All Rock!
The Red Hat Ladies from all over came together for a celebration and thank you for all you did to make our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

MP
Thank you for your review. We loved having your group in the hotel. I think our staff had almost as much fun as your group! We hope you can come back sometime for another great week of fun in Kansas City.

Best regards,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Typically don't expect much from a Holiday Inn! But this was very nice. Room was spacious and clean. Bed was comfy as were pillows. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking is free as was the wifi. Location is very close to the Plaza, and we found the drive to Kauffman/Royals Stadium to be easy - avoided all the traffic on I70 and/or 435. Only negative was no breakfast provided.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Tim S,
Thank you taking time to tell us about your experience. I think you will find that the Holiday Inn brand is making huge strides in the quality of hotels and service. We do not have a complimentary breakfast because we have a full-service restaurant on property that offers a great full buffet as well as a delightful cook to order menu.

I’m happy that you enjoyed all of our great amenities and the convenience of our location. We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and it appears that we did with the exception of a free breakfast. I can tell you that we offer discounted packages that include breakfast in our restaurant. When you come back you should find the package option a better overall value!

Thanks again,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

1st let me say that if you stay on the 2nd floor depending on where its at, like our room, we could not get the luggage cart to our door and had to carry all of our stuff along ways. So the setup of this hotel is way outdated. Other than that, the staff was EXCELLENT, the bed was AWESOME. We slept in both mornings of our stay. The outdoor pool was very refreshing and was surprised to see that it was 10 feet deep. We spent several hours out their. One of the biggest and best outdoor pools around, Way better than average. We had a good time at the bar and got some great recommendations from the bartender on where to party at in Westport. This weird layout of this place is outweighed by all the other amenities it offers. Free garage parking, free wifi, free shuttle service, and great staff as well as GREAT location. Westport is only a 5 minutes away. We took a cab to Westport on Saturday night and it was only $5. We took the free shuttle on Sunday night. Keep up the good work!!!

Room Tip: Choose a top floor facing the swimming pool.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K9SONTHELOOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

K9SONTHELOOSE,
Thank you for the great review. As I stated in an earlier review we are in the process of planning improvements that will eliminate the luggage cart / layout issue that you mention. Our pool is the largest outdoor hotel pool in the Kansas City area, and is a favorite with our guests. A number of previous guests have told us that the pool and courtyard area feel more like a Mexican resort than a hotel in Kansas City! I appreciate all of your comments about our excellent staff, awesome bed, free parking, free Wi-Fi, free shuttle service, and great location! I think you just about covered everything.

We certainly hope that you will come back to Kansas City and stay with us again!

Best regards,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The workers were very nice , The rooms seem to be out dated , carpet was damp from the ac, the pool area was nice. the food was good thou it was not busy it took a while for the food to arrive,
It was close to country club plaza and they did have shuttles to take you there and pick up.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caruso22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Caruso22,
First let me apologize that your carpet was damp. I hope that you called our staff to fix that for you. Even with our preventative maintenance measures once in a while a hvac drain will stop up and cause this sort of problem. If you let us know we can take immediate steps to resolve the problem. As for the guestroom decor, our photos on our website are very current and a great representation of our guestrooms.

On a more positive not, I am pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. You also mentioned one of our guests’ favorite amenities, our complimentary shuttle service within a three mile radius of the hotel. It seems to be a great convenience for so many of our guests.

Sincerely,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here for three days for a convention and was pleased to find the hotel exceeded my expectations for a Holiday Inn. I didn't mind in the least that the decor was not ultra-trendy; the hotel and rooms are very functional, clean and pleasant. I slept exceptionally well. The staff, particularly the catering staff, was super friendly, efficient and helpful.
The only things I did mind were an awkward building layout including some steep, unfriendly ramps and ultra-long hallways (making it difficult to get from one room to another) and no grab bars in the tub/shower. Also, be advised that this HI allows pets: some other convention-goers complained of dog barking that woke them up early or kept them up late.
I found it a nice, reasonably priced place to stay close to downtown KC.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asat85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Asat85,
We appreciate your review of our hotel. It is great to hear that we exceeded your expectations- that is our goal. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff, especially our catering / banquets staff that serviced your three days of meetings.

I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the building layout. We are in the process of planning some capital improvements in that area to improve our guests’ experience. It is feedback like yours that keep us continually improving our property. Also, we are a pet friendly hotel but the noise disturbance is very uncommon.

Again we appreciate your time to write the review and your kind words about our hotel.

Sincerely,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was part of a weekend long collectors event held at this hotel and can not stop raving about the experience I had.

This may not be the grandest hotel in the vicinity but the service is better here than I have experienced at some 4 star hotels. The sales & banquet staff went above and beyond all expectations. I have worked on events in cities all over the US and have never had a staff so willing to go out of their way to assist on so many levels. Adrienn from sales is wonderful and right on top of everything to make sure our needs were met.

The service is tops in ALL areas and the staff extremely pleasant. I was told many times they work to attain a service rating of 10, the highest, but what they deliver deserves a 15. One employee in particular, Roxann should be the model on which every service industry person should follow. She is a huge asset to Holiday Inn.

The food in the restaurant and at banquets was very good and the chef did a wonderful job of incorporating our event themes into the meal presentations.

The decor of the hotel is modern and simple, kept very clean. I didn't spend much time in my room but it was very clean and the bed comfortable. I never heard any sounds coming from the halls or adjoining rooms.

Great location and outstanding staff, thank you Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza for making my eight days with you such a pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Michael,
It was certainly a pleasure having your group stay with us for a great week of events! Adrienn and Roxanne are just a couple of our superstar associates who dedicate themselves to exceeding our guests’ expectations! It is wonderful to hear that our service is on par or better than 4 star hotels you have stayed with in the past. We take pride in being flexible so that we can accommodate the needs of all of our guests.
Your heartfelt praises are the greatest reward that I can pass along to our wonderful staff!
We look forward to hosting your group again in the future and continuing this great relationship.

My heartfelt thanks,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#25 of 109 in Kansas City
647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza

Address: One East 45th Street, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: $138 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel at the Plaza-Kansas City is located on the world famous Country Club Plaza, the Midwest's premier shopping / dining / entertainment district. The hotel provides the following complimentary services: WiFi, garage parking (all other Plaza hotels charge), local calls, and shuttle service within a 3 mile radius, including Historic Westport. The Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza Hotel also offers a 24 hour fitness center along with the largest heated outdoor hotel pool in the city!Finally, relax in our bar or simply order room service and relax in your room. Minutes from Sprint Center Arena, downtown Kansas City American Century, Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, H&R Block 3 miles, UMKC 5 blocks, Rockhurst U., 7 blocks, KCAI and St Luke's Hospital 5 blocks, KU Med 5 blocks, Sports Complex 10 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing