We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay by the plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

spent 5 nights and basically enjoyed it. had free breakfasts which were hot and delicious- even if it was the same meal of eggs, bacon/sausage, potatoes (delicious) and toast, oj, coffee/tea. its a great price, free parking, clean big rooms, sheets a little scratchy and pillows not the most comfortable, but with the free 3 mile shuttle, very convenient to walking to the plaza , nice place, great place to enjoy the plaza lites for the holiday season.

Room Tip: loved rooms because they have the ability to set the thermostat for your comfort and you can have it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Safetraveller1,
Thank you so much for your review. Our bedding package is a Holiday Inn Brand Standard but as with anything it may not suit everyone, and I apologize for that. It sounds like you had a pleasant (almost long-term) stay with us and made use of many of our great amenities- like our free parking, shuttle service, individual comfort controls in the rooms, etc. The breakfast is fantastic especially the potatoes as you mentioned! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to Kansas City.

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 734 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel itself was nice, but what made the difference was the people who work there. From Simone in the bar at night, to the lady with the long black hair in the restaurant (who works MANY hours). The people at the front desk at check in were very friendly and engaged me immediately. There was also a young man (I didn't see his name tag) who, when I was sitting in the hallway before the restaurant was opened and coffee service out, offered to bring me (and an elderly gentleman sitting in the same area) a cup of coffee. Over and above the expected customer service. I also appreciated the underground, secure parking. I will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaye s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Kaye,
Wow, your review of our hotel is what our entire staff works for every day! We appreciate your recognition of our staff members ( I will pass this on to them) and how they go above and beyond to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Your home away from home. It is the attention to small details that often times make the biggest difference in a guest's experience, and I can see that that is the case with your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again in Kansas City!

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend to attend a business conference downtown. The hotel itself is about a ten minute drive to downtown, but walking distance to Country Club Plaza where all the shops and restaurants are. The front desk staff were professional and courteous. Underground parking is free for guests but the parking spaces were very small. We had rented a mini-van and the space provided made it a very tight squeeze. The rooms were old, outdated and in need of some renovation. Hallways definitely had a 1970s feel to it. Overall, a pleasant experience but definitely not upscale.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evalano07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Evalano07,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments about our great location and our courteous staff. We strive to make our guests feel comfortable. We use your feedback to make continuing improvements to the property and our service. We hope that you will stay with us on your next visit to KC.

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked a month ahead of time and no one told us this was a big weekend for Nascar and weddings. Tried to check in twice, room was never ready, moved us to room at end of entrance hallway. Very noisy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear lenslie,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. It is disappointing to know you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received from our reservation staff and at check in as well as the loud noise you encountered. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences for us to improve on our services for our next guest or your next visit.

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. This helps in becoming a better hotel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My family and I had to fly into Kansas City for a family emergency and spent 3 nights in this hotel. Not only was it conveniently located within walking distance of St. Luke's Hospital, the staff at the facility was AMAZING. Andrew WInters, Guest Relations Manager, was helpful in getting us checked in and accomodating our needs. Several family members were in/out during our stay and he helped with parking passes, meal vouchers, shuttle rides, all were handled with ease. Not only did he take care of our needs, the bartender became aware of our situation and was thoughtful to ask us daily how our family member was doing. During a time of stress and mental exhaustion, the staff at the hotel helped in whatever way possible. Their caring service was greatly appreciated by my entire family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALISHA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Alisha,
Thank you so much for your kind words about our Staff. The Holiday Inn motto is "Great Hotels, Guests Love"- this is what we strive to achieve each day with each guest. It is obvious that Andrew and Simone made a great personal connection with you and your familiy during what had to be a difficult time for your family. I will personally extend your gratitude to my teammates to let them know how their going the extra mile made a special impact on your family.

Best regards to you and your family,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed at this facility for 3 nights while in town on business. Very happy with hotel. As PC member got some free drink coupons at the lobby bar. After an afternoon of KC traffic it was just what the doctor ordered. The location is very near the plaza and an easy walk down the hill. Not said going back with an arm load of shopping bags and a couple tired feet. Oops, again the bar and those drink coupons. Had breakfast at this facility one morning. Overalll it was quite good - not exceptional but good. This hotel was an overall very good value for the dollar. I would stay at this facility again without question.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaded-Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Jaded-Bird,
Our Priority Club Members are quite special to us- and as you noted we offer special perks for you! Whether it is bonus points, or free drinks, or free breakfast you are sure to feel special and get an even better value as a PC member. Next time you may want to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service so you don't have to carry all those shopping bags! Thank you for your feedback.

At your service,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were at the hotel for our anniversary.
Pros - Great location is within easy walking distance of all the shops and restaurants of the plaza. A little more of a walk and you can easily get to UMKC campus. Parking is secure, gated, and FREE. We had wireless internet with our room and it worked well throught the hotel. Staff was very helpful and gave info on where to go on the plaza. Mass transit on Main St. outside the front of the hotel.
.
Cons - The entire location is very early 2000's in style at best, and rooms need to be updated. Our room was clean and functional, but the king matress was swayed in the middle. The workout room is tiny with 2 treadmills, an elliptical, and a one stack multi-position weight tower. 2 of us working out in there was tight. One computer in the lobby to do "business" work on with a printer.

I would stay here again if I had a business or casual visit to the Plaza area. The pool was good size with a large deck area. We did not swim because of the time of year and rainy days. If the hotel does an update and adds a better workout room and business area, this would be an ideal hotel for the money and location.

Room Tip: The breakfast buffet is adequate. If you have time, walk to the plaza and get a local breakfast whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NW-John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

NW-John
We are pleased that you chose our property to celebrate you anniversary in Kansas City! It sounds like you enjoyed the Country Club Plaza with all of the shopping, dining, and entertainment options that our just outside our doors! Our complimentary secure parking is a very big “hit” with so many of our guests. Combined with our complimentary shuttle service you can literally park your car when you arrive and not have to move it until you leave!
We especially appreciate your mention of our helpful staff. It is our purpose to make each guest’s experience the best it can be!
Thank you for your input in regards to the fitness center and business center. We do have more than one computer and printer working the business center now. I’m sorry that there was only one working during your stay. I hope that you will stay with us the next time you’re come to Kansas City!

Best regards,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#27 of 109 in Kansas City
657 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza

Address: One East 45th Street, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: $137 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel at the Plaza-Kansas City is located on the world famous Country Club Plaza, the Midwest's premier shopping / dining / entertainment district. The hotel provides the following complimentary services: WiFi, garage parking (all other Plaza hotels charge), local calls, and shuttle service within a 3 mile radius, including Historic Westport. The Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza Hotel also offers a 24 hour fitness center along with the largest heated outdoor hotel pool in the city!Finally, relax in our bar or simply order room service and relax in your room. Minutes from Sprint Center Arena, downtown Kansas City American Century, Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, H&R Block 3 miles, UMKC 5 blocks, Rockhurst U., 7 blocks, KCAI and St Luke's Hospital 5 blocks, KU Med 5 blocks, Sports Complex 10 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing