We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$84
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
$179
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$136
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$207
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$107
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
$118
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Country Inn - North(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fontaine(Kansas City)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
816 Hotel(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
$104
$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (815)
Filter reviews
815 results
Traveler rating
311
242
155
63
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
242
155
63
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry club plazafront deskunderground parkinggreat bartenderfree shuttlehotel barshuttle servicewithin walking distanceoutdoor poolart museumbreakfast buffet ishotel shuttlemile radiusconvention centerunion stationsimonekc
Filter
Updating list...
640 - 645 of 815 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

There was absolutely nothing special about this hotel. The welcome was rather underwhelming and we weren't given a real welcome to Kansas City. My friends received a fantastic welcome (from the charming lady that described the hotel as a square donut), but mine was just going through the motions. The hotel itself is quite big, shaped in a circle. It can take a while to get to your room unless you cut through the pool's courtyard (closed at night).

The bedroom seemed clean, but the bathroom had black hair everywhere. When your hair color isn't black, you're sure it's not yours. Towels were replenished and the beds were made nicely. The WiFi worked, but cut out at midnight the morning of our departure. The air conditioning worked nicely.

Would I recommend this hotel? Sure, if there are no better options. There are no extras, save for the shuttle. A few of the shuttle drivers were fantastic. However, our last evening there we called to get picked up and ended up waiting 45 minutes. If they would have told us 45 minutes, that would have been one thing but instead they told us 10 minutes. They were there in 15 minutes, but they passed right by. When we called them back they claimed we weren't waiting for them at the corner when in fact we were. I understand the tardiness, but the lying is rather childish.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nogentais1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your frank feedback regarding your recent stay. Our goal is provide each guest outstanding service and to make you feel at home away from home. We obviously fell short of this goal and I apologize that we did not provide you a proper welcome to Kansas City. It is through your feedback that we are able to address these issues with our staff so that it is a rare occasion when we fall short.

Thank you again for your feedback,
Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

This Holiday Inn runs a little below par with other Holiday Inn's I've stayed at. The staff were very kind. The hotel is rather dated and that is evident in various aspects. The rooms could have been cleaner but weren't extremely dirty.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Beauratke,
We appreciate your feedback, especially noting our staff and great location. If you would like to contact me directly at the hotel I would like to hear about the rest of your experience as there is not much detail in the review.

Thanks again,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were in Kansas City for the weekend and chose this hotel based on its proximity to the Plaza. When we arrived the front desk was very helpful in offering ideas on where to eat, what to see etc. since we didn't have a definitive plan. The rooms were nice and comfortable. The front desk possibly a manager asked people walking by if they were enjoying their stay and if there was anything he could do for them. We had a choice of free drinks at the bar or free breakfast, we chose the breakfast and we found it to be one of the best hotel breakfast buffets we have had. They had a great selection to chose from and the food was of good quality. Great customer service except for the bartender. She seemed to be annoyed to help us and I had to wait a while for service when she was off on the side on her phone. Overall great stay and good price!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Ashley,
Thank you very much for you feedback! I see that you signed up for our Priority Club Rewards membership program- you will receive reward points for all your stays in IHG hotels. We have an additional pick a perk program that allows Priority Club members to receive their choice of drinks in the lounge, breakfast in our restaurant, or bonus points! Thank you for recognizing our front desk personnel- they strive to exceed your expectations. I do however apologize that our bartender was not as attentive as she should have been. Your feedback allows us to continually improve service throughout the hotel. I certainly hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit Kansas City!

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just returned from a short getaway. Picked the Holiday Inn for the location and price. Both were good. Nice hotel for the money. Great location near the Country Club Plaza and the museums. Nice pool area. Our room was very clean. I had read and heard that the beds were hard but the king bed in our room had a pillow top mattress which was very comfortable. Maybe they have recently updated. Don't know for sure but we found everything to be satisfactory. The van service to local attractions was also very convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful. Especially want to thank Washington who checked up in and later drove the van, taking us to dinner spots and the museums. He is very nice man who was consistently professional and caring. Also, Diva who served us coffee each morning was gracious and kind. Breakfast included in the rate was more than adequate. All in all we had a nice time and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanne e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Jeanne,
Thank you for your feedback, especially your compliments of Washington and Diva! They are outstanding staff members and exemplify the kind of customer service we strive to provide every guest. I will make sure that I pass along your kind words to them.
We have recently replaced the mattresses throughout the hotel to an outstanding pillowtop for greater comfort. It is through your feedback that we are able to continuously make improvements to improve our guests experience.
Thank you again,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great stay. Only issue was housekeeping showing up at 8 AM. We weren't there for too long just a night. The pool area is great would have loved to be able to stay and enjoy but we had to get back on the road. It was a clean, quiet room. This was our 2nd time staying here at will stay again.

Room Tip: Room is tight with two beds, but nice room. Our room must have been first for housekeeping at 8 AM, little earlier since we didn't check in until about 10 PM the night before.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Kristi,
Thank you for staying with us again! There is no greater compliment for us than that. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Kansas City.

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews