We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
northern michigan, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Nice location, and, since we booked on priceline, a good deal. The staff is what made it special - they went out of their way to help. My mother was feeling poorly, and the kitchen made toast for her at 9 pm and just gave it to me, with a glass of club soda to make her feel better. The morning waitress, Diva, was especially a gem - she made our day.
One caveat - this is not a handicap accessible location. To get to our room, we had to push mom (and her walker) up a steep ramp.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Marmom,
We greatly appreciate your kind words towards our staff. It is our goal to provide this kind of "above and beyond" service that really touches our guests. Please accept my apologies that our front desk did not notice your Mother had a walker, otherwise they would have placed you in a more accessible room. Next time you stay with us just mention that and we will certainly make certain we get you a room without stairs or a ramp!

Sincerely,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    216
    135
    49
    39
See reviews for
157
121
34
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aledo, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

There was absolutely nothing special about this hotel. The welcome was rather underwhelming and we weren't given a real welcome to Kansas City. My friends received a fantastic welcome (from the charming lady that described the hotel as a square donut), but mine was just going through the motions. The hotel itself is quite big, shaped in a circle. It can take a while to get to your room unless you cut through the pool's courtyard (closed at night).

The bedroom seemed clean, but the bathroom had black hair everywhere. When your hair color isn't black, you're sure it's not yours. Towels were replenished and the beds were made nicely. The WiFi worked, but cut out at midnight the morning of our departure. The air conditioning worked nicely.

Would I recommend this hotel? Sure, if there are no better options. There are no extras, save for the shuttle. A few of the shuttle drivers were fantastic. However, our last evening there we called to get picked up and ended up waiting 45 minutes. If they would have told us 45 minutes, that would have been one thing but instead they told us 10 minutes. They were there in 15 minutes, but they passed right by. When we called them back they claimed we weren't waiting for them at the corner when in fact we were. I understand the tardiness, but the lying is rather childish.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nogentais1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your frank feedback regarding your recent stay. Our goal is provide each guest outstanding service and to make you feel at home away from home. We obviously fell short of this goal and I apologize that we did not provide you a proper welcome to Kansas City. It is through your feedback that we are able to address these issues with our staff so that it is a rare occasion when we fall short.

Thank you again for your feedback,
Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
312 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

This Holiday Inn runs a little below par with other Holiday Inn's I've stayed at. The staff were very kind. The hotel is rather dated and that is evident in various aspects. The rooms could have been cleaner but weren't extremely dirty.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Beauratke,
We appreciate your feedback, especially noting our staff and great location. If you would like to contact me directly at the hotel I would like to hear about the rest of your experience as there is not much detail in the review.

Thanks again,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were in Kansas City for the weekend and chose this hotel based on its proximity to the Plaza. When we arrived the front desk was very helpful in offering ideas on where to eat, what to see etc. since we didn't have a definitive plan. The rooms were nice and comfortable. The front desk possibly a manager asked people walking by if they were enjoying their stay and if there was anything he could do for them. We had a choice of free drinks at the bar or free breakfast, we chose the breakfast and we found it to be one of the best hotel breakfast buffets we have had. They had a great selection to chose from and the food was of good quality. Great customer service except for the bartender. She seemed to be annoyed to help us and I had to wait a while for service when she was off on the side on her phone. Overall great stay and good price!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Ashley,
Thank you very much for you feedback! I see that you signed up for our Priority Club Rewards membership program- you will receive reward points for all your stays in IHG hotels. We have an additional pick a perk program that allows Priority Club members to receive their choice of drinks in the lounge, breakfast in our restaurant, or bonus points! Thank you for recognizing our front desk personnel- they strive to exceed your expectations. I do however apologize that our bartender was not as attentive as she should have been. Your feedback allows us to continually improve service throughout the hotel. I certainly hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit Kansas City!

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint charles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just returned from a short getaway. Picked the Holiday Inn for the location and price. Both were good. Nice hotel for the money. Great location near the Country Club Plaza and the museums. Nice pool area. Our room was very clean. I had read and heard that the beds were hard but the king bed in our room had a pillow top mattress which was very comfortable. Maybe they have recently updated. Don't know for sure but we found everything to be satisfactory. The van service to local attractions was also very convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful. Especially want to thank Washington who checked up in and later drove the van, taking us to dinner spots and the museums. He is very nice man who was consistently professional and caring. Also, Diva who served us coffee each morning was gracious and kind. Breakfast included in the rate was more than adequate. All in all we had a nice time and will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanne e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Jeanne,
Thank you for your feedback, especially your compliments of Washington and Diva! They are outstanding staff members and exemplify the kind of customer service we strive to provide every guest. I will make sure that I pass along your kind words to them.
We have recently replaced the mattresses throughout the hotel to an outstanding pillowtop for greater comfort. It is through your feedback that we are able to continuously make improvements to improve our guests experience.
Thank you again,

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great stay. Only issue was housekeeping showing up at 8 AM. We weren't there for too long just a night. The pool area is great would have loved to be able to stay and enjoy but we had to get back on the road. It was a clean, quiet room. This was our 2nd time staying here at will stay again.

Room Tip: Room is tight with two beds, but nice room. Our room must have been first for housekeeping at 8 AM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Kristi,
Thank you for staying with us again! There is no greater compliment for us than that. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Kansas City.

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

All we were looking for was clean, friendly accommodation for the night, with a swimming pool. The good news is, this hotel has a swimming pool. But the hotel is dated, the location isn't good, the carpets smell of mildew and mold, and the rooms are dreary. You can do so much better in KC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear sc43,
I apologize that our property did not suit your needs. The photos on the website are very recent and indicative of what you get when you arrive. I am most confused about your comment on our location- as location is repeatedly noted as great in these reviews. We are just blocks away from 200 shops and restuarants and have a complimentary shuttle that will take you to all of them.

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.6 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#24 of 109 in Kansas City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza

Property: Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Address: One East 45th Street, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel at the Plaza-Kansas City is located on the world famous Country Club Plaza, the Midwest's premier shopping / dining / entertainment district. The hotel provides the following complimentary services: WiFi, garage parking (all other Plaza hotels charge), local calls, and shuttle service within a 3 mile radius, including Historic Westport. The Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza Hotel also offers a 24 hour fitness center along with the largest heated outdoor hotel pool in the city!Finally, relax in our bar or simply order room service and relax in your room. Minutes from Sprint Center Arena, downtown Kansas City American Century, Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, H&R Block 3 miles, UMKC 5 blocks, Rockhurst U., 7 blocks, KCAI and St Luke's Hospital 5 blocks, KU Med 5 blocks, Sports Complex 10 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing