We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay for an unexpected extended layover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kansas City Airport Marriott
Ranked #58 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 27, 2009

My 20 minute layover at MCI airport turned into a 24 hour layover due the flight being canceled at 11AM. The airline placed myself as well as other passengers at the Marriott near the airport. Convienient transportation shuttle apprx 15 minute wait, and about a 5 minute ride to the hotel. Greeted by friendly staff who quickly checked us in as we arrived from the airport. Front desk staff very helpful, answered my multiple questions about the area, also gave suggestions of where to go if I wanted to venture away from the airport area. Bed was comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoopette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 483 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2009

Stayed here for two nights in March for the NCAA Men's Basketball Tournment. The main reason I stayed was the great rate of $89/night PLUS a breakfast buffet. On top of that my friend I was staying with had a $100 Bonus Bucks coupon which was good for $100 off a two-night stay. The entire two-night stay ended up being around $100. Not a bad deal!!! Hotel is clean and convenient to the airport. If you want to go anywhere you will need a car because there is NOTHING (besides the airport) around. Pool was OK. The hot tub deck was kind of old and disgusting. Breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grensi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

I have commuted to KC for 5+ years, I have stayed at the KCI Marriott quite a few times over the years when I have a particularly early flight. One of the nice things about this hotel was that it had a Hertz desk on-site so you could pick up your car from Hertz and then drop it here the evening before your departure and take the shuttle (which starts at 4:40 a.m.) directly to the terminal, 5 mins. away. When I checked in last night, I was told that the hotel no longer has its agreement with Hertz. (Someone needs to tell Hertz since its website still shows this as a dropoff site and its personnel told me I could drop here when I picked my car up earlier this week. The desk clerk told me they would call Hertz to come pick up my car but I was left with the feeling that I was putting them out and that I should probably not do it again.

Regular rooms are too small. With the refurbishment and the new desks, chairs, etc, you have to move furniture if you wish to get to the far side of the bed. (Why no flat screens when you are refurbishing?) I am platinum and am usually upgraded to a junior suite (once even getting the "Presidential Suite"), however, this was not the case last night. Regular room is way too small when you have seen the others. Beds and linen are your typical high-end Marriott variety - quite comfortable. "Wired for Business" (internet) is $12.99/day here which is high when there are so many other choices around (though this hotel is by far the closest to the airport).
Bottom line: I probably will not stay here again. I have stayed at many hotels here at KCI and, frankly, most are dated and a little worn. No gems here, with one exception. There is a recently opened Residence Inn here at the airport which is quite nice.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jocnnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

i frequently stay at this hotel for business here are a couple thigns to look forward to. resturant has COLD beer, great food and a wonderrful view of the lake. The 9th floor is the place to be with peanuts and other nuts at every table, wonderful snack food and breakfast in the morning, your home away from the crowd downstairs. Fitness room loaded TV screens on every treadmill

hope you enjoy and go for the 9th floor, you deserve it

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runningman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Stayed here for a business trip and was pleasantly surprised.
This Marriott is right on the Airport premises which makes it very easy to go back and forth. The room was spacious, seemed a little larger than most Marriotts I have stayed in. Didn't get to use many of the facilities but did see the fitness center which was small but sufficent enough. Staff is very nice and helpful.
Room service was expensive but the food was good.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank meanbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

we chose the K.C airport marriott simply because of its location being the closest hotel to the terminal , we wanted to get some rest after the two flights we had taken to get there.
the hotel more than met our needs,the pool was great to help us relax and the kids enjoyed some fun swimming after hours sat on a plane, the spa bath as another reviewer has already mentioned did appear to be just a small domestic type & not what you would expect to find in a large hotel but it was fine as we had the pool area to ourselves.
the room was fine for our needs ,clean with very comfortable beds, we got a great nights sleep !
the staff were great , friendly & helpful ,fast & easy check in/out
and when they had a problem getting the kitchen to make the pizza that came as part of the package we had booked they sent out for a pizza delivery ,gave us a double order, extra fries ,4 sodas that came with the room deal ,and complimentary beers all sent up as room service, they really went the extra mile to make sure we were happy,all in all a great start to our vacation, I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel & staff to anyone .

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cheshirelad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

I've stayed in this hotel about a dozen times. Yes, the rooms are small, as most reviews here mention. But, the beds are very comfortable. The hotel is flanked by the A Terminal and rent car lots. This is literally smack in the middle of the airport, so it's not like visitors are going to be people on vacation looking for a resort. They are mostly business travelers on a quick stay the night before or after a flight. The lobby bar is normally full of tipsy Southwest Airline flight attendants, and after midnight it turns into a major league hook-up bar. I've been there on week nights when it's been 11:30 and the bar was wall-to-wall people in on business with a flight out the following day or the next.
There are no other restaurants within walking distance or quick driving distance. You have to go a few miles down I-29 to hit the Zona Rosa area with a dozen or more restaurants in a neat little area. Otherwise, you're stuck at the Marriott.
When you check in, ask the attendant behind the desk to include breakfast with your room. They'll add $10. If you do without and go to breakfast the next morning, get the buffet and pay on your own it can be over $15.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Fletch32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Kansas City Airport
Hilton Kansas City Airport
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
597 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#35 of 109 in Kansas City
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Airport
Hampton Inn Kansas City Airport
#21 of 109 in Kansas City
568 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Kansas City Airport-Kci East
1.5 mi away
Towneplace Suites Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Airport Marriott

Address: 775 Brasilia Avenue, Kansas City, MO 64153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $101 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kansas City Airport Marriott is currently undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation. Our redesigned guest rooms are everything you don't expect. Chic, sophisticated & stylish, they feature platform beds, walk-in showers, wide-open closets, hard-surface floors and locally-inspired artwork. All guest rooms have been upgraded to 55” flat screen TVs. This redesign makes the Kansas City Airport Marriott the premier hotel and a top choice for travelers looking for a hotel near Kansas City Airport (MCI). Take advantage of our hotel's helpful perks; we provide complimentary access to our on-site fitness center & indoor pool, as well as exceptional on-site dining options. Our newly-designed restaurant will feature indoor, as well as outdoor dining space. We also place you within a short distance of the city's most notable businesses and attractions, including Zona Rosa shopping center, Kansas Speedway, and downtown Kansas City dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kansas City Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kansas City Airport Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing