We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kansas City Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kansas City Airport Marriott
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was a very nice hotel located very near the airport. We arrived at the airport around 11:00 pm was was picked up by the hotel shuttle within 15 minutes and the drive to the hotel took about 5 minutes. We were booked into a corner king bed jr. suite which was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was a little small but workable - they probably could have used some of the space from the sleeping area/sitting area of the room and made the bathroom a little bigger. The bed was very comfortable which was very nice since we had been traveling for several hours and was very tired. Being near the airport I was expecting more noise from the planes but I only heard one during the few hours we were there. The front desk staff was very accommodating. My husband was going to purchase a couple of soft drinks from the snack area beside the front desk during our check-in but the young lady at the front desk told him to take them compliments of the hotel. Never had this to happen before at any hotel that we have stayed. We used Marriott Rewards Points (15,000 points) for our stay. We did eat breakfast in the hotel restaurant and unfortunately this is the part of the hotel that kept me from giving the hotel an excellent score. The hostess and wait staff were extremely nice and accommodating but the food on the breakfast buffet was not very good especially for the price of $17 per person. We are from the south and are used to southern biscuits and gravy and theirs was not quite to our taste. I also had a bowl of oatmeal and is was pretty tasteless. Nonetheless, if ever in the area again I would not hesitate at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twobutlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    164
    105
    51
    24
See reviews for
61
64
38
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

First of all this was an unscheduled stay at the KCI Marriott..Due to the upcoming snowstorm "Rocky" sweeping across the midwest, we decided to leave our home 50 miles away from the airport and stay at the airport Marriott..
We arrived at the hotel around noon on Mon the 25th of Feb 2013, stayed the 26th as well, our flight to Cancun was scheduled for Wed the 27th at 9:10 am..
The room: I believe it was 107, ground floor with an exit door in the room for patio seating..The exterior door had the weather stripping in disrepair, plus the door threshold was bent, allowing a large gap between it and the bottom of the door..Blizzard conditions set in with 35 mph winds and blowing snow..yep, it was blowing into our room..Nothing a couple of towels couldn't fix around the bottom of the door..
The interior of the room was very dated, wallpaper coming loose of the wall in the bathroom, dust around the TV area...It looked like this room had not been occupied for some time..It may have been pressed into service since a lot of the airport employees had vouchers to stay there overnight..
The room was very small..After settling in and being more concerned with the winter storm outside, we ventured outside the room and talked with the staff about the snow storm..They were very reassuring that the Marriott would do it's best to provide transportation to the airpot for us, on wednesday morn, this was monday afternoon..
We mentioned the room condition and were offered another room, but we declined as we had things in a relative order for a short stay..
We were in the Lobby using their free wifi to update weather conditions, I ran into a employee, Kristina, we started chating..During the course of our conversation, she asked my name..I gave it to her and she said she had been looking for us as we had issues that had come to her attention..
We really didn't make a big deal out of the room to anyone, but the front desk had alerted her..Her full name is Kristina Brown, Director of Hotel Operations..She went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable, comped us one night and provided us with a memorable dinner meal of filet Mignon's and Crab Cakes..Very good meal..Also a Cheese platter, strawberries and such in the room..
The front desk employees did not leave the resort during the storm, they stayed in the resort overnight..Worked the next day..Very friendly an always had a smile..Very good crew..
All night long during the 15" snowfall, the exterior crew worked with skid loaders to keep the parking lot clear and the shuttles to the airport operating..Even tho, most of the flights had been cancelled..
We left the hotel at 6 am wednesday the day of our flight to a long line of delayed travellers flying Frontier Air..We made it out of KC after a 20 minute delay for de-icing...
Overall:
The room was not up to Marriott standards..
Swimming pool was being remodeled, not operational..
Gym area was nice and clean, used by a lot of guests..
WiFi only available in the lobby area..
Food was very good, a bit pricey..
Service was very good and the Hotel staff really tries and always has a smile in somewhat dire situations..
The stay, park and ride works as it should, very nice..Someone on the bus asked about what would happen should their battery be dead on the car that had been parked for some time..Reply, " maintenence will give you a jump and get you going"..That's nice to know..
The hotel took a negative and made a positive experience for us..Kudos to the staff...

Room Tip: Do not stay on the 1st floor patio rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank litenlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Family spent the night there before flying to Mexico.

Pros: We had a very large 2 bed room. The beds were the most comfortable I've had in a long time. There was no airplane noise. We got a great rate which included up to 14 days of free parking. The shuttle was a very quick ride to and from the airport.

Cons: The bathroom and shower were very small which is typical of an older hotel, but doesn't bother me.

I would definitely stay here again if I'm flying in/out of KC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eskens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANSAS
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott KCI before flying out at 6am to Cancun. The hotel is starting to look a little dated. The rooms are tiny and the shower is very small. The reason for the very good rating is it's location, the free transfer and the cheap park and fly. The transfer was timely and fast. Our car was safe while we were gone. At $109.00 for the room, transfer, and parking , this is one heck of a deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had attempted to get on a flight to Chicago from Kansas City during a snowstorm because it was supposed to get worse. So after having my flight canceled at the end of the night, around 19:30, I called Marriott at the Airport and they had a room for me. So a phone call to the front desk and a free shuttle picked me up. The guy who picked me up was really nice and said, "Don't worry about it, you'll get home". So after the 5 minute drive to the hotel, I walked up to the desk said I was checking in. The woman at the counter was super awesome. She had my keys already set, my account was on the screen and offered me the WiFi for the room. I have upgraded status so I think this was part of the package. She told me the status of the flights for the next morning without me asking and said the shuttle starts around 4:30. I went up to the room, and it was clean, viewed the airport and a pond, and was really quiet, despite being on the top floor and near the elevators. I had a 6:30 flight out and relaxed before going to bed. I went to the lounge and the bartender was really nice. Everybody kept their cool despite the many travelers who were probably upset. The next morning, Marriott had 2 shuttles running to get people to the airport early. Everything was clean and neat the entire time. Would stay here for sure if you are looking for a night over or early flight the next day.

Room Tip: Rooms on top have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cuch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosworth, missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We assumed this would be a clean updated hotel because it was a Marriott.....boy were we wrong. The first room they put us in reeked of urine. Even they had to admit it was awful. The mattress had holes in it, was about 6 inches deep, which tells you how old it was, sagged unbelievably and the sheets were so small they would not fit. They moved us to a cleaner room and offered us two free bottles of water. Gee thanks ! Knock yourselves out. We will never stay there again. Just awful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
247 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

A very typical Marriott, nothing fancy but nothing awful, well located if using airport closest hotel to the airport. Have stayed her several times and staff have always been very pleasant and responsive. Parkin free. This area is 20 min or so north of most of the city, though, so may not be a good location depending on what here for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jishenker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
Holiday Inn Kansas City Airport
#37 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport
2.0 mi away
Hilton Kansas City Airport
Hilton Kansas City Airport
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City Airport
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kansas City Airport-KCI East
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Airport
Hampton Inn Kansas City Airport
#25 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kansas City Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kansas City Airport Marriott

Property: Kansas City Airport Marriott
Address: 775 Brasilia Avenue, Kansas City, MO 64153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kansas City Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary excellence awaits you at the Kansas City Airport Marriott. Our hotel, which boasts an unparalleled location on the grounds of Kansas City Airport (KCI), features 384 spacious, tastefully appointed hotel rooms and suites, each overflowing with first-class amenities. Our hotel rooms offer flat-screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi, pillow top mattresses, room service, and more. Take advantage of our hotel's helpful perks; we provide complimentary access to our on-site fitness center and indoor pool, as well as exceptional on-site dining options. For those seeking a venue for a business meeting or event here in Kansas City, our hotel showcases almost 30,000 square feet of flexible venue space and an outstanding location near Kansas City Airport. We also place you within a short distance of the city's most notable attractions, including Zona Rosa shopping center, Kansas Speedway, and downtown Kansas City. Here at the Kansas City Airport Marriott, we set a new standard for comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Kansas City Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kansas City Airport Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing