We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Leaches!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Attended a convention at this hotel March 1-2 of this year. Had to post a $50 hold on my card for incidentals, which they promised would be removed in one or two business days after checkout. It's now the 22nd, and they still have the hold on my account, despite numerous telephone calls and assurances that the hold would be removed. (I used no incidentals.) Others in our group report the same problem. Another guest was charged $1,000 for a water dispenser that was accidentally damaged in the exercise room by a ball that bounced into it. Folks, accidents happen - especially when you have an exercise ball in an exercise room! We checked out and moved on, but can't get them to do the same!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ophitke38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
ophitke38- Thank your for taking your time to share your comments and concerns regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. I sincerely apologize your your stay was less than perfect with the frustrations you encountered with your hold on your account. I understand how frustrating this is. Your experience was not at all what staying at a Sheraton should feel like and your feedback can only help us provide a more renewing experience for all guests. I have addressed this issue with our Front Office team as well as our Accounting department to further investigate the situation.

We at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center have devoted time and energy into building a world class brand. All of our training starts with “It’s all about the Guest”. Our goal is to transform the guest experience so that it is different, better and special, which builds guest satisfaction and loyalty.

We truly value your business and hope that your experience here will not reflect negatively on other Starwood Hotels or Resorts. If you would like to speak further regarding your billing, please contact our Front Office Manager, Cory Crook at cory.crook@sheraton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    461
    199
    77
    49
See reviews for
278
310
59
728
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We checked in an hour ago and I am so dissappointed with the check in, the service n the bell man lead person. Per our request We were given room 2806 with a city view n king bed and the bell man from outside valet was assisting w our luggage. The lead bell man in the lobby took the cart from him n said that he would finish the job m get us to our room n this is when the circus show n unprofessionali began. This person immediately began handling the luggage cart careless and rough. At one time, i had to push the insecure items on the cart due to his carelessness n inattention to what he was doing. Upon arrival to our room there were dirty good trays aligned on the wall n a broken microwave lying on the hallway...sight for sore eyes. It looked pretty shabby n s scary as if this should have been a floor marked for do not enter...remodeling area. Anyway the room key did not work n the bellman said well the room might be occupied by the looks of the dirty tray along the wall. He went to the house phone n said he was not sure what was going on. Needless to say my fiancée had to go back down to the front desk to get the error corrected. They returned to say that thr front desk clerk made an error the room was occupied n that we would have to move down to the 820 w/lo a view. The lead bellman began mishandling the luggage cart again wrecklessly to the point were my laptop bag flew off and hit the floor hard..he did not even notice. I am hopeful that there are no damages. We mentioned it to him n he did not even apologize but continued on carelessly. We had to go to another floor to get on another elevator to get to the 8th floor. I am highly unsatisfied and dissapoointed in the care and service that i have recd at this Sheraton. I am an SPG member and have never witness this declination of service at any Sheraton properties. Through all these mishaps this morning n after a long flight, we were not offered anything, credits to valet. Food or drink credits, room w a view, etc by the Sheraton staff to offset their mistakes. I expected more from the Sheraton and to make matters worse our reservation ate locked in for 4 more days...and I don't see it getting any better

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaobellamsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Ciaobellamsc- Thank you very much for sharing your comments and concerns regarding your stay with us at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered with our bell staff at check in as well as the frustrations you encountered with getting checked into your room. This is not at all what staying at a Sheraton should feel like. I do hope your stay ended up better than when you arrived. I have shared your comments with our Front Office team so we can address this issue as seen necessary. Please contact our front office manager if you would like to let us know how the rest of your stay went, Cory Crook- cory.crook@sheraton.com. We truly value your business and would love the opportunity to serve you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I really appreciated the great service at the front desk upon arrival. Our flight was delayed by 4 hours and we had to push back our dinner reservations twice. By the time we got to the hotel, we had about 5 minutes to make it to the restaurant in Westport. The desk staff got us checked-in in record time and even took my bag up to the room for me. Friendliness and efficiency is always appreciated!

Our suite was fresh & clean. It had a large living room that had a good workspace and a separate bedroom. As always, the Sweet Sleeper was comfortable and the room was wonderfully quiet.

Did have an issue in the morning locating the Club Lounge for breakfast. I called the front desk to ask where the Club Lounge was and was told it was on the "top floor" and that as a Platinum member, our room keys would work to get us in. I went to the elevator and selected the top floor, which in that elevator was the 28th floor. Wandered about for a bit trying to find the lounge and eventually found a maid who took me to a different set of elevators that went to the lobby and floors 28-41. Unfortunately, my room key did not work to select the 41st floor. Went down to the lobby and received new keys. Went to the bank of elevators and got on, but those elevators only went to the 40th floor. Another staff member helped me to go to the 40th floor and then cross over to a third set of elevators that would go higher. Very confusing! Unfortunately, my new keys also didn't work but this staff member had a master key and let me in to breakfast. By this time, I was running late and had to eat in less than 5 minutes!

We have stayed in SPG hotels all over the world and this is the hardest I have ever had to work to get breakfast! My recommendation would be to put up signs and/or give SPG members a flier at check-in that explains how to find the lounge. The building layout was very confusing. Staff was quite friendly and helpful about it, but it would have been nice to not depend upon them quite so much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Ciaobellamsc- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. I sincerely apologize that your stay has been less than perfect regarding the experience you had at check in and the inconvenience of moving rooms. Your experience was not at all what staying at a Sheraton should feel like and your feedback can only help us provide a more renewing experience for all guests. I have shared your comments with our Front Office management and we are working with our staff to make sure this does not continue for the duration of your stay.

We at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center have devoted time and energy into building a world class brand. All of our training starts with “It’s all about the Guest”. Our goal is to transform the guest experience so that it is different, better and special, which builds guest satisfaction and loyalty.

We truly value your business and hope that your experience here will not reflect negatively on other Starwood Hotels or Resorts. Please contact our Front Office Manager Maurizio Orlando at maurizio.orlando@sheraton.com if there is anything you need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just got back from a two-night stay at the Sheraton/Crown Center. Right in the middle of the Big 12 basketball tourny, the hotel was quite full and we were not able to get a room with a king bed. That gal at check-in noticed that we were disappointed and offered to credit the cost of valet parking for our inconvenience. Everyone was friendly and helpful along the way.

The hotel itself is beautiful - clean and spacious. The rooms were very nice. We enjoyed being able to walk to the Crown Center and on to Union Station via The Link (skywalk).

The location is very good if you are wanting to spend time in KC and not have to drive a lot. We took the cab to Martini Corner ($10 with tip), and from Martini Corner to the Sprint Center (also $10). If you did decide to drive in the area, it's easy to navigate, and parking is not a big problem.

On Saturday night, there is a tolley that runs through the downtown area to places like: Westport, Plaza, Sprint Center, and more. For $10, you can see the sights of several neighborhoods - and then get dropped off next to Crown Plaza within easy walking distance.

Union Station, Hallmark, the Federal Reserve, a few parks, shopping, great restaurants, and all types of bars are close enough to this hotel to really enjoy the sights and fun of KC!

Room Tip: The gal who checked us in had asked if we wanted a room on a higher floor, one with a view, or what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
MaryAnn G- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. It is so great to hear what a fantastic stay you had with us! I apologize we were unable to get your preferred bed type, but I am so happy our staff was able to compensate you for this inconvenience! The Sheraton is very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center and it is great you were able to take such advantage of all the fun sites Kansas City has to offer! Your kind words mean very much to our team and we are very excited to be able to create another warm and memorable stay for you in the future! Check out our club lounge in the future which includes breakfast in the morning, appetizers in the even and a beautiful view of downtown Kansas City from the very top floor of the Sheraton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I want to commend the staff at the Sheraton at Crown Center in Kansas City, MO. They went above and beyond to make my birthday get-a-way trip a great time. We recieved an email the day before we arrived asking if they could do anything to assist with our trip. They accommodated every request plus added a few extras. I have never been treated so special by a hotel staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Mary F- Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff went above and beyond to create a memorble and outstanding birthday! It means so much to our team that you chose our hotel to celebrate! It is our goal as a Sheraton to make our guests feel happier than when they left. You are a valued guest to our hotel and I am so happy they made you feel special! We look forward to creating another memorable stay for you in the future! Happy Birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This property exceeded my expectations in every way. The level of service was top-drawer, accomodations were clean and comforatble, lobby area was attractive, dining was great, & you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Jim R- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations! The Sheraton strives to create a warm and welcoming stay for our guests and knowing our staff went above and beyond to ensure you had a comfortable stay is great! We are very excited about the new lobby renovations and I am happy you like the new improvements! It means so much to our team that we were able to create a signature stay for you! We value your business and look forward to having the opportunity so serve you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
555 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Even though the Crown Center isn't the center of Kansas City, the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center is convenient to everywhere within the city. It is a 5 minute cab ride to the Sprint Center, the same amount of time to Country Club Plaza and close to the hospitals in the area.

The hotel itself is clean with updated rooms. Of course, the beds are wonderful. The hotel's lobby restaurant was accommodating to our group - they kept the breakfast buffet open for my wife and even brought out some freshly cooked bacon.

Especially using SPG's Points and Dollars, this Sheraton is a bargain in my book.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the north get a little noise from the train track across the street. The tracks ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m2swim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
m2swim- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Kanas City Hotel at Crown Center. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax in the comfort of your Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed. I am happy you and your wife were able to enjoy your experience at our restaurant and that our staff was very accommodating during your meal! We take great pride in being located in the heart of Crown Center, so close to many of Kansas City's favorite attractions and it is great that you found it convenient! We value your business and look forward to creating another warm and memorable stay for you and your wife in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#9 of 109 in Kansas City
2,188 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,134 reviews
3.2 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
1.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center

Property: Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Address: 2345 McGee St, Kansas City, MO 64108-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#17 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center is located downtown near the Kauffman Performing Arts Center and other attractions. Our hotel has 5 on-site dining options and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel At Crown Kansas City
Hyatt Regency Kansas City
Hyatt Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing