We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but had an unresolved issue.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Ranked #10 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice room but had an unresolved issue.”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We checked in on Saturday, May 19th. Check-in went smoothly and the valet was great. When we got to our room, everything looked clean, but we noticed a plastic bottle cap and bobby pin on the floor in front of the dresser. Not a big deal, maybe housekeeping forgot to run the vacuum over the floor. In the morning we woke up and found a dirty sock on the floor. We were there for one more day, so we thought we would mention it to the on duty manager Sunday morning. We told him the story an he said "OK, thanks". When we returned to our room that night, the dirty sock was still there after housekeeping made their daily visit. Bad business!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark2474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio O, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We would like to sincerely apologize about your less than stellar stay with us. We are truly sorry that everything did not go as smoothly as planned. We assure you that this is not typical; in fact we pride ourselves on ensuring we provide the best service possible to all our guests, from our accommodations to guest services. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future for a more pleasant stay that is certainly more typical of our hotel. Sinerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    463
    199
    77
    51
See reviews for
282
311
60
736
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This hotel will start a major renovation starting next week. I stayed there last week. The staff was primarily fabulous. There was one little episode but they took care of it quickly, efficiently and with a smile. The room was clean and comfortable,. There could be better lighting near the full length mirror. The pool needs to be serviced. It is in the shape of a grand piano. The work out area needs alot. However, I understand that they will work on that in the renovation. I certainly hope so. The television is not where anyone can actually see it! The food served for the conferance was fabulous. The food in the restaurants was acceptable. Waffles were cold and took forever to come out, Hamburger was fabulous, salad was ok, vegetable wrap was fabulous, pot stickers tasted like carboard. The AV staff for the conferance was the best I have ever dealt with. Everything worked wonderfully. The temperature controll in the conference rooms was unreliable. Sometimes it was really cold. There were electical outlets that were dead and some partially came out of the wall in some coference rooms. When notified of this, these outlets were blocked off .
The furnature found in public places was stained and ripped. Once again, the renovation starts in a few days. The picutures for post renovation look really nice.
There is wifi on the ballroom, mezzanine, and ballroom levels. However in the rooms you have to pay for it.
The "link" (the habitrail connection to shopping, restaurants and another hotel) was incredibly convenient.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homeless-dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My Family, including my 95 year old Grandmother who is wheelchair bound, stayed here for Thanksgiving. We had people in from Wichita, NY, IN and OH. I had the task of picking the hotel and coordinating it all. I chose this hotel and cannot say enough good things about the staff here. Larry, Tammy, Patrick and Rose in particular were so nice and helped make sure our time there was outstanding. They really cared about making our family trip a wonderful experience - they don't treat you like a number here but rather are truly interested in helping in anyway they can. I hope my Grandmother is still with us next year as she wants to come back here next Thanksgiving!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory C, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I have been staying at this property on a regular basis for several years. We went this past weekend and were VERY disappointed. Having a young child, the highlight of staying in a hotel is the pool. However, the pool was FREEZING and DISGUSTING....While hotel staff blamed it on rock fest (that was the previous night) I feel it was a case of neglect. When arriving to the rooftop pool at 7pm there were dirty towels, beer cans and cigarette butts scattered about. The water had a film on it and was too cold be get into. While my child would have maybe ignored the cold, I could not in good conscience, allow him to swim in that filth. I alerted the manager on duty who assured me he would alert housekeeping and maintenance and would have it fixed by 7am. In the morning. When we woke up in the morning, the only change to the pool was that the dirty towels had been picked up. Very disappointed in the quality of this hotel and it was NOT worth the $200 it cost us to stay there.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NSD928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory C, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. I apologize we did not meet your expectations and that you were not able to utilize the pool. I understand the disappointment this must have caused. I have met with the appropriate individuals to prevent an issue like this from happening in the future. Thank you again for sharing and if you have additional feedback, do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

4 of us stayed in the Sheraton during Rockfest 2012 and everything was great. The hotel was only blocks from the event, quick check in, the room was comfortable with a great view of the city. The pool was clean, food was good and just a few blocks from the Power and Light district and not far from the Farmers Market. Ask for the Birthday rate.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urroyalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Won another weekend at the Hyatt and called to try to confirm a room with two beds. The operator couldn't have been more rude and less accommodating. That stated, the stay at the hotel was much better than the last time. Still it isn't a 5-star hotel, but is a decent 3-star. Our stay was nice and uneventful. As last time, the front desk and room service people were stellar.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjt1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cory C, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I sincerely apologize for the rudeness you described. I have followed up with the appropriate teams to continue to improve in the future. I am glad your interactions with the rest of our staff were what you should get from the Sheraton. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Loved our stay! We pricelined a Hotel after leaving another that we checked into and out of within 2 hours and thankfully we ended up with this one! A great night after a very long day. Everything was perfect including the view. All UTD amenities! Cozy! Bed was very comfortable!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#8 of 108 in Kansas City
2,205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
3.3 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 108 in Kansas City
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.9 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 108 in Kansas City
1,100 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center

Property: Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Address: 2345 McGee St, Kansas City, MO 64108-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#17 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center is located downtown near the Kauffman Performing Arts Center and other attractions. Our hotel has 5 on-site dining options and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel At Crown Kansas City
Hyatt Regency Kansas City
Hyatt Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing