We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The Staff was very friendly and welcoming from the front desk to the house keepers. We felt as we were the primary concern. What really surprised me was the room. It was huge and there was plenty of room for a family of five. We had a double queen bed with enough room for a portable crib and to still be able to walk around without stepping on one another. So many rooms I have stayed in don't have space to move. Additionally the room was clean and appealing. The breakfast was a good start to the day, far above many hotel breakfasts that I have eaten over the years.

This Hotel is close to many of the downtown sights, WW1 Museum, crown center, union station, shopping and eating establishments. It was also a short driver to Kauffman Stadium. Across the street is a nice clean park with a running track that I wish I had known about when we checked in.,

I had read some concerning reviews after my wife booked the hotel but we were very pleased and will definitely stay here again if we are in KC.

Room Tip: Our corner room was roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with your family! Our guest rooms are very spacious,
the double Queen rooms are over 400 sq. ft.. We are sorry that you were not aware of the park across the street that has a walking/ jogging path to the Plaza. Many guests really enjoy that walk to the Plaza. We are very close to most of the attractions in KC. So guests appreciate that proximity. We will let our breakfast attendant know you enjoyed the choices on the breakfast buffet.
We are pleased you will be returning to us on your next KC trip. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    376
    101
    40
    19
See reviews for
262
332
52
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel offered great location and comfort as our home base for visiting friends in KC. Staff was very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast had fresh scrambled eggs and sausages, plus cereal, toast, bagels, juice, milk and some other hot baked items. Location is ideal for visiting the Plaza and art museums. Easy parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank EmilyV280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We realize everyone's time is valuable so, it means a lot to us that you took the time to talk about your stay with us! We will notify the breakfast attendant that you enjoyed the variety of choices on our complimentary breakfast buffet. It's so nice to know you also found us convenient to your friends and to so many of the sights you wanted to see. We hope when you return to visit your friends you will stay with us, and become part of our family of guests that we know by name!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed at this place on May 23, 2014. Our room was on the second floor. As soon as we got off the elevator, we noticed an awful smell (sewer). Our room smelled even worse. We were late for a wedding, so we got ready and left as fast as we could. When we came back, all tired, we notified the desk and were told there was only one more room available two doors down on the same hallway. As I said, the whole hallway smelled awful. We didn't feel like repacking everything and going two doors down. So we spent the night in the same room and left as soon as we could in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Fereshteh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Oh my goodness! We are so very sorry you had this experience! We have investigated and it seems there was a mainteinence issue with plumbing on that particular floor. It has since been resolved. Again we are so sorry and we can understand your frustration. We have notified your reservation point of origin and your reservation and stay will be removed. We cannot tell you enough how sorry we are and that we did not provide you with the stay you deserved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My dad and I stayed here for two nights this past week and were not disappointed. We were immediately greeted with a big smile and friendly greeting by Ramon. Check in was easy, and it was apparent they were happy to have us there and made us feel very welcome. We stayed in a Handicap room because of my dad's condition, and I would say it is your basic 2.5-3 star hotel room. Nothing fancy, but the beds were comfortable, included a medium-sized fridge, Wolfgang Puck coffee (which my dad enjoyed very much), and a powerful AC unit that worked really well. The rooms could definitely use some renovating. The door handle was loose and some paint and a deep clean of the bathroom and new carpet would do the place wonders. The hotel is smaller, but it has a certain welcoming feel to it, even a rescue dog named Lydia at the front who was very sweet and a sign that the staff really do care about others. The hotel is located on Main street, a main thoroughfare that is several blocks from the amazing Plaza shopping & restaurant district. In the other direction and several blocks down is the National WW 1 Museum and Art Museums. I had never been to KC before and was glad that we had a rental car to get around. This hotel was VERY conveniently located. We never had trouble finding parking, although it is a small lot. Directly across the street from the hotel is a liquor store, next door to one side is a gas station blocked off mostly by a large fence so you don't even know it is there, and the other side had a heath food store! The back of the hotel had a quaint and quiet courtyard with tables and comfy chairs, and all sorts of blooming flowers. It was a nice oasis in the city. There is no pool or hot tub here, but the breakfast......oh my. This is one of the best breakfasts I have ever had a at a hotel. Every morning from 6:30-9:30 AM, this large, renovated room opens up, complete with couches, a TV, and every sort of delicious breakfast food you can imagine (all included!). Choose from fruit, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, oatmeal, yogurt, bread, bagels, coffee, juice, tea, milk, cereal, etc.....one day we even had fresh monkey bread. Staff was very attentive to keep everything restocked and make sure we had enough to eat and were happy. Other guests around us commented on how robust the breakfast was. All in all, this was a wonderful place to stay and I left with very good memories of my trip to KC. I slept well, and cannot say enough about the friendly and exceptional staff here. Every time we came off the elevator, the staff greeted us by name and asked how our stay was going and if we needed anything. This kind of 5-star personal service by Ramon was noticed and appreciated. Thank you Ramon for making our stay so inviting. I would recommend staying here and would do so again.

Room Tip: The hotel is actually pretty quiet. We had a room facing the road and no problems or overly loud no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tundra74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you so very much for your comments about our property! We are so happy with the sentiment you chose as your title. Because, that is exactly how we want our guests to feel. When people are traveling we know they would usually rather be at home. So we want to give you every reason to feel you are welcome here, and we care about your stay. As you mentioned we have expanded our breakfast room. And thank you for your comments about our breakfast, we will let our attendant know you were happy. As far as the rest of the property, we are gradually improving the guest rooms. We are adding new granite top vanities in every bathroom, as of next week. We are replacing our lamps and giving our hallways a fresh coat of paint. Thank you for noticing our new addition of a quiet back patio. We do feel it is an oasis in the middle of the city. Guests can read, use their computer or just converse by the floweres and twinkle lights in the trees. We will most definitely let Ramon know of your comments. He will be most appreciative. Your new KC family hopes to see you soon on another visit to our city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were in Kansas City for a graduation, and rates at Hampton were sky high. Went to Trip Advisor to get some ideas and saw that this hotel was highly rated (and half the price), so made the reservation.

Gotta say when we first rode up I thought maybe I had made a mistake...the front with the fence and very small parking lot is off putting. BUT, this was a great hotel. It's not 4 star, but everything you need is there. The room was clean with quality bedding, the breakfast as good as any we've had at Hampton or better, and the staff was great. (as a dog lover, I also noticed they were collecting toys for a local shelter....so they are the kind of people who are involved in their community).

As an example, when we first opened the door to our room, we saw it was a King room, not a double...called the front desk and they quickly found us another room.....as we were rolling our suitcases out of the first room..the housekeeping staff came right up to us and asked "was the room not clean?" They cared!

So, we highly recommend this hotel and will use it again when we go to KC.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor on the road side and did not hear any noise. It was the corner room...401.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maroonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We are so happy you decided to try our hotel! We are a great value for our area, and so very close to most of KC's attractions. I am sorry you were apprehensive when you drove in.We are very urban and have a small footprint. So we don't have a lot of room for greenery in front. However, we do make up for it in the back of the property. We have an oasis of green this time of year. With flowers and comfy chairs and couch, all under trees with night time twinkle lights in the trees. We are very concerned with our guests satisfaction and are happy you let us know about your interaction with our housekeeping staff. We do run a fundraiser every year for our local shelter and they are very close to our hearts. We hope you will come to see us again on another trip to KC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed here on a girls weekend to KC. We wanted something close to the Plaza. Parking was limited up front with some parking in the rear, but we were fortunate to get a spot up front. Small lobby and very small reception area with a small patio out back, but it was too cold to hang outside. The rooms have been upgraded, but bathrooms still leave some to be desired. The shuttle will take you within 5 miles...plenty close to the Plaza, if you can get it. We called for the shuttle at 10:30 pm and were told it would not be available before service stopped at midnight! Probably because of people going to a wedding. I guess they had priority over other customers?? So don't plan on it! There's a nice park two blocks west with a walking trail that circles around the edge of the Plaza. They have a very nice breakfast with a variety of hot items.
All in all if you're just looking for a place to sleep close to the Plaza this would do.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwestsuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We appreciate your time to express your opinion on our property. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. However, we apologize if you felt a wedding party took precedent over your needs for the complimentary shuttle. The driver does her best to accommodate everyone. It is a first come first serve basis, hopefully that was explained to you. We have finished most of our remodeling so hopefully you may give us another chance to give you superior service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
192 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Thank you so much for the stay. Friendly staff, amazing rooms, very clean, great breakfast!
Convenient location. My friends and I are on a road trip and we needed a place to stay. We chose this hotel and we are so glad we did! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: choose even numbered rooms to look out to the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runningdevendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We appreciate your generous words. We know the group you were with and thank you for being such delightful and giving guests! We know you travel to many places and it means so very much that you took the time to tell us about your stay. Thank you again, and be safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.5 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#24 of 109 in Kansas City
605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,123 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Address: 4309 Main St, Kansas City, MO 64111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kansas City
#9 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#13 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel we are a smaller, boutique-like property that is very guest oriented. As a repeat winner of Trip Advisors Award of Excellence we are located within Kansas City's dining and entertainment districts. Close to a variety of restaurants and premium shopping on the Country Club Plaza. The world-class art of the Nelson-Atkins museum and the Kemper Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance. Convenient to many of Kansas City's other premier attractions, such as Union Station, the Power and Light District, and City Market and the famous Westport area. Fridays and Saturdays we offer a complimentary shuttle service from 4pm to midnight that can take you anywhere within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. Our friendly staff is happy to give you a variety of great dining and entertainment suggestions or answer any questions that you may have during your stay. We are a 100% smoke-free, dog-friendly property. Guests will enjoy our upgraded amenities, in-room refrigerators, free on-site parking. Ask about our inroom 2 person spas, the only ones on the Plaza. We are also proud to offer free full, hot breakfasts, 24-hour fitness and business centers, and free wireless internet. We look forward to seeing you, enjoy your stay. And always, let us know how we can make the time you spend with us enjoyable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kansas City
Kansas City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing