We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret in KC!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in KC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Almost like home! The entire staff are some of the friendliest, caring, professional people! The free breakfast is outstanding! The hotel is charming and cozy. Great for business or pleasure. Within walking distance to Country Club Plaza. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryGrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    355
    94
    37
    18
See reviews for
241
315
47
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Big Lake, Mn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived at this hotel for the last two nights of a week-long family vacation. Having stayed at several other hotels, including multiple Best Westerns, on this trip prior to ending up in Kansas City, we were expecting to have another great experience here as we did at our previous stops. As we approached the hotel on our drive, we noticed that the area just south of downtown was not what you would call family-oriented. When we went to check-in, there were no parking places left in the front (there are only a dozen or so anyway), so we had to park in the back next to a dimly lit street with what looked like several run-down homes. Needless to say, we quickly gathered up a few belongings and went inside to our room which was a nice surprise because it was warm and welcoming, exactly the opposite of the exterior. The next morning, my three-year-old and I went down to the lobby to check on breakfast when we were approached by a man that had walked in off the street through the front entrance begging for money. I politely explained that I did not have any money with me and tried to go on my way, but he was quite persistent. I brought my child back to my room and went back on my own to the lobby. As I was getting off the elevator, the same man got on it and tried going upstairs, I assume to try to find someone to give him more money. I notified the hotel staff who quickly went after him and asked him to leave the building. The remainder of our stay was fine as far as the accomodations go. As we were leaving, we had one last reminder of the part we didn't like about the location. A man walked through and dug through the ashtrays near the front door looking for cigarette butts that he could still smoke. It is a sad thing to see as an adult and not something I want my young children to be exposed to yet at such young ages.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We want every one of our guests to experience a comfortable, friendly, safe atmosphere while they are staying with us. We are so happy you enjoyed our property, however, we want to assure you we may be in an urban area that is very eclectic, but it is a safe neighborhood. We are just 3 blocks up the street from the famous Country Club Plaza, and are surrounded by neighborhood businesses that include attorneys, engineers, accountants, restuarants, historic homes and we are within walking distance to the nationally recognized Nelson Atkins Museum of Art, as well as the Kemper Contemporary Art Museum. That being said, we will not tolerate non guests on our property. Any persons that appear to not belong on the property are always asked to move along. Our location is very strategicly located inbetween so much of the popular destinations in KC, and that means we are an urban-type area. We value your business and apologize you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We hope that you had a wonderful trip back home and wish you safe and exciting adventures in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Everything was nice except the water pressure in the shower could be a bit better. It wasn't horrible, but it wasn't great. Also, the same goes for the bed, it could be much better. The staff, decor, location, and breakfast were great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel has the feeling of a small boutique hotel at a bargain price. It's a smaller hotel but that was ok. The location is only blocks from Country Club Plaza & right on Main street so you could easily zip north to Crown Center, Westport, Power & Light, Crossroads, etc. We got a king room with the sofa & the room was clean and large. Only suggestion: please add a towel/clothing hook somewhere in the bathroom-there was no place to hang towels or clothes besides the shower rod & it made it awkward to shower & dress with others in the main room. The bed was a bit too soft & my husband changed the mattress around so we wouldn't both sink to the middle to no avail.

Nice off street parking lots both in front & back which we used. Loved the little courtyard in back -drank our coffee there one morning. Great breakfast!! The breakfast room was a bit cramped & people overflowed to the lobby areas & outside. We used the shuttle service on a Friday night during the Taylor Swift concert, we'd gone to eat supper & because the shuttle driver was so busy with picking people up from the concert the owner/general manager came to pick us up herself. The staff was so friendly-Thanks Kayla & Ramon for the help & suggestions & Rowles for the great bbq joint tips.

This will definitely be our number one go-to place to stay when we're in KC from now on.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room-less street noise especially as it is so close to a hospital
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poplar bluff, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

fair price for the hotel. clean rooms and good location relative to Plaza, however parking was an issue, breakfast area was cramped, bed wasn't terrible but wasn't comfortable and air conditioning was very inconsistent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to let us know your observations. We do want all of our guests to have an enjoyable stay with us. And we do listen to every comment because we value your opinion. The Maintenance dept. has been alerted to your air conditioning unit issue. If you had called the front desk we would have gladly move you to another guest room. Due to our urban location sometimes our parking lot does get full, however the overflow lot next door can be used if it is very full on busy nights. Our breakfast is very good and sometimes guests linger in the breakfast room. Making it a little harder for arriving guest to sit where they want. We do have seating off the lobby area and outside patio. And our beds are new and most guests find them very comfortable, but as we all know that is a personal preference. Hopefully, you will try us again on another trip to KC, and we will try our best to make sure it is an enjoyable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hutchinson, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is very clean, nicely decorated and pet friendly. All we were looking for at a great value for our overnight stay on the way further north (went to a Royals game, as well). Close enough to the K for us!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great stay. When we arrived, a guest was singing Happy Birthday to the young lady at the check in desk, what a welcome. The bathroom needed a little help, the back of the door had paint peeling. Overall the room was clean, small refrigerator in room. The host was helpful and gave good dinner information. My only qualm, breakfast did not include omelets, most do not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We seem to have the most fabulous guests! There were several people in the lobby when our guest broke out in song to Kala, our front desk agent. It was very special! Please return to our property this winter when we will be updating our bathrooms. We do provide quite an assortment of breakfast items however. Eggs, sausage,oatmeal,cereal, fresh fruit,yogurt, monkey bread, assorted breads,freshly made waffles, fruit juices and KC's own Roasterie coffee. We hope to see you next time you are in KC. Maybe, someone will be singing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.5 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#20 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
Address: 4309 Main St, Kansas City, MO 64111-1809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#10 Best Value Hotel in Kansas City
#13 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel we are a smaller, boutique-like property that is very guest oriented. As a repeat winner of Trip Advisors Award of Excellence we are located within Kansas City's dining and entertainment districts. Close to a variety of restaurants and premium shopping on the Country Club Plaza. The world-class art of the Nelson-Atkins museum and the Kemper Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance. Convenient to many of Kansas City's other premier attractions, such as Union Station, the Power and Light District, and City Market and the famous Westport area. Fridays and Saturdays we offer a complimentary shuttle service from 4pm to midnight that can take you anywhere within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. Our friendly staff is happy to give you a variety of great dining and entertainment suggestions or answer any questions that you may have during your stay. We are a 100% smoke-free, dog-friendly property. Guests will enjoy our upgraded amenities, in-room refrigerators, free on-site parking. Ask about our inroom 2 person spas, the only ones on the Plaza. We are also proud to offer free full, hot breakfasts, 24-hour fitness and business centers, and free wireless internet. We look forward to seeing you, enjoy your stay. And always, let us know how we can make the time you spend with us enjoyable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kansas City
Kansas City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing