We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed two nights as we took a trip across country. Nice hotel. good size rooms. nicely appointed, helpful staff and reasonable price for a down town hotel. The hotel appears to be recently renovated. Nice old style Spanish style lobby. Quirky ice machine as you have to incert your room key to get about a cup full of ice. Need to reincert several times to get enough ice.
Would recomemnd this hotel.

Room Tip: Small but nice room for breakfast. Elevator for upper floors. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2010Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwsevilleplaza, Owner at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We want to thank you for your positive comments! We are so pleased we were your hotel of choice for your KC stay. The ice machine is configured this way because many times the button on ice machines stick, and the ice machine pours out ice. Then when the next guest comes along there is no ice!
Hopefully, this addresses your observation. Again, thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

971 - 977 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

Bed felt like I was sleeping on a wooden plank, couch was broken and sank in, employees let their kids run around hotel lobby, we were ignored fly a good 20 mins before someone asked if we needed help ... Needless to say it was a horrible experience!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank 82brookea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Manager at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

We want to thank you for your time to bring things to our attention. We most often get compliments on our comfy beds. Everyone has their preferences on firmness, our new mattresses must be more support than you like. The sofa bed was not broken upon inspection so, the cushions must have separated upon sitting in the middle. The children in the lobby, you were referring to, were guests' children that, unfortunately were not being supervised by their parents. The staff was attempting to keep them from disturbing other guests and if you were not attended to promptly we are so sorry. The well being of the children was a major concern of the staff and if they did not greet you in a timely fashion we want to extend our apologies. Hopefully, this explains your concerns, however we appreciate your pointing out your observations. Thank you, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This could have been one of the nicer of the 10 hotels we stayed at during our vacation. Definitely has the potential, but ... I would expect that spilled liquid in elevator and outside elevator (5 feet from front desk) would have been cleaned up and not allowed to dry to a sticky mess. Breakfast was okay, but breakfast room is way too small and tables not level, resulting in more spills. On plus side, internet excellent, rooms were very good, not far from downtown KC restaurants and night life. Good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwsevilleplaza, Owner at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you for your comments,we appreciate it when guests let us know when they have a positive experience and when something needs attention. Yes, we are very convenient to many attractions and guests do tell us our beds are very comfy. The proper staff member has been alerted to your observation. We hope you can stay with us on another trip to KC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed at this location for 4 nights while attending a nearby Conference. The Best Western is
located along Main Street and is convienent location to the Country Club Plaza area, and just
a few miles straight South of the Downtown KC area and the WW1 Musuem, Union Station,
the Federal Reserve, etc. This Hotel is right next door to a QT Gas station for snacks, etc.,
and across the street from a Liquor store with a large selection of products.

Free Parking is available in the front and rear of the Hotel, although the neighborhood behind
the Hotel is a little shady looking. They have a nice selection of coffees, and breakfast items. Staff was friendly and cooperative. I would stay there again. Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwsevilleplaza, Owner at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments! We are very convenient to many sites, shopping and dining options as you mentioned. We are glad you found the establishments close to us met your needs. We realize everyone is so busy, so we appreciate you spending some time to comment on us. We look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I considered quite a few hotels in Kansas City and selected Seville Plaza because of their offer of a free shuttle bus within a 10 mile radius. They don't bother mentioning it is only available on Friday and Sat. evenings. I felt ripped off. Rather than simply apologize and offer to pass on my comments, the young female desk clerk insisted on arguing about how it wasn't feasible to offer it all the time, ignoring my point about feeling misled. She seemed in general to be sullen and not very helpful. The other clerks were much better, more diplomatic. Otherwise the hotel was very clean and comfortable, great breakfast, very convenient to the art museums and dining/shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mzztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwsevilleplaza, Owner at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

We apologize profusely for your experience. We completely understand your frustration with the situation you encountered. This staff member is not reflective of how we treat our guests, and our desk staff has been changed. All of our guests are extemely important to us, and this is upsetting to say the least. If the shuttle is not available, our staff is instructed to call alternative transportation, and if within our 10 mile radius, the cost will be deducted from your bill with a valid receipt.Thank you for your positive commentis on our other ammenities. We wil pass along these comments to the appropriate staff. We appreciate you taking your valuable time to let us know about your stay. We hope you can stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Good service, clean room, free parking. Hotel is showing its age and would benefit from some remodeling...

While the location is convenient the neighborhood is not all that impressive. At least, price is good and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malatestiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwsevilleplaza, Owner at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We do pride ourselves on providing a great value for our guests. We do provide a complimentary shuttle on the weekends to local attractions, next time you stay with us hopefully you can utilize it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have stayed in lots of hotels, and this one did not live up to the reviews I have read on this site.
Yes, the parking is free, and there is a free breakfast (which I would avoid), but this all comes at a cost - or, loss.
We checked-in and the woman seemed to care less and acted as if we were inconveniencing her. We were in-town for a wedding, and the hotel had received a gift to give us from the bride & groom; they forgot and gave it to us when we checked-out.
The breakfast was awful, and the coffee was some of the worst I have tasted, ever. The room seemed clean at 1st, but it was very noisy, and there were ants crawling on the bathroom floor. I didn't even tell my Wife until we left, as I knew she would not react well. I was disgusted by it, but tried not to think about it. This hotel needs a serious update, overhaul and thorough deep cleaning.
It has been years since I have stayed at a Best Western, and now I remember why. I will never return to one again. Spend a few extra $$ and stay at the Marriott down the street.

Room Tip: The A/C turns on and off all night, which potentially blocks some of the noise outside the thin wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsnower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwsevilleplaza, Owner at Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

We want to apologize for any part of your stay that was not satisfactory. Our breakfast attendant should be advised if you are unhappy, so she may address your concerns. We will certainly make that department aware of your comments. Our coffee is from Kansas City's own Roasterie coffee. It is delivered daily to us. I'm sorry you could not enjoy it because we believe everyone should start their day with a good cup of coffee! Also, the property is inspected daily for unwanted little pests that we all encounter in our daily lives. We apologize some were sneaky enough to get by us! We will alert the proper staff member. Your package had been put into safe keeping so nothing would happen to it .But the sticky note with the instructions was not so sticky, but fortunately we knew it was yours! We pride ourselves on cleanliness, we consistantly use an inspection black light, and a UV sterilizer wand, as well as the "Clean Remote" tv control. Our housekeeping staff is required to pass multple tests for the I Care standards of cleaning. We will alert them as well to your comments. We want to thank you for your thoughtful comments and hope you have safe travels ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.5 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#27 of 109 in Kansas City
657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 109 in Kansas City
734 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel

Address: 4309 Main St, Kansas City, MO 64111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#10 Best Value Hotel in Kansas City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#13 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $113 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel we are a smaller, boutique-like property that is very guest oriented. As a repeat winner of Trip Advisors Award of Excellence we are located within Kansas City's dining and entertainment districts. Close to a variety of restaurants and premium shopping on the Country Club Plaza. The world-class art of the Nelson-Atkins museum and the Kemper Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance. Convenient to many of Kansas City's other premier attractions, such as Union Station, the Power and Light District, and City Market and the famous Westport area. Fridays and Saturdays we offer a complimentary shuttle service from 4pm to midnight that can take you anywhere within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. Our friendly staff is happy to give you a variety of great dining and entertainment suggestions or answer any questions that you may have during your stay. We are a 100% smoke-free, dog-friendly property. Guests will enjoy our upgraded amenities, in-room refrigerators, free on-site parking. Ask about our inroom 2 person spas, the only ones on the Plaza. We are also proud to offer free full, hot breakfasts, 24-hour fitness and business centers, and free wireless internet. We look forward to seeing you, enjoy your stay. And always, let us know how we can make the time you spend with us enjoyable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kansas City
Kansas City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing