We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a family of four!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
“Great value for a family of four!”
Reviewed June 14, 2010

The hotel is situated between the trendy Westport area of K.C. and the elegant Plaza with fountains, wonderful shopping and restaurants. It is an easy walk to Westport from the hotel which is good because parking can be tough during peak hours at Westport. Walking is possible from the hotel to the Plaza, but if you reel in some treasures on your shopping trip, you probably want to take your vehicle to store your packages. The hotel does have a "courtesy van" that will transport you to the Plaza too.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssteinauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    436
    360
    236
    156
See reviews for
644
305
46
539
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Prior reservation was booked for 2 nights for a conference @ this hotel. At check-in was told NO ROOM AVAILABLE! Very unprofessional. A prior confirmed reservation is meaningless at this worthless hotel.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ceilingcat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Chicago
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2010

I'm originally from Kansas City, and this hotel has been my selection for out of towners for years -- just had the opportunity to experience it for myself. Although the hotel could definitely use a make-over, I would still recommend it. My gripes: just a general feeling of dustiness/stickiness on surfaces; the fountain in the lobby/atrium held brackish water and was not cycling; elevators worn (you could feel the uneven floor grates through the thin carpeting; bed linens were threadbare; tub drained very slowly, etc. However, the staff was incredibly courteous and helpful, the price was decent and the location is top-notch! Breakfast was terrific and a really nice bonus. I've noticed that someone posted the fact that they felt their balcony was unsafe for children -- our balcony door was welded shut, so the balcony itself was unaccessable and posed no danger whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joliett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Just returned from a knitters escape at the Embassy Suites. Great hotel. The staff was wonderful and so very helpful. Free shuttle was awesome. Took us where we wanted to go and then picked us up when we wanted to come back. Complimentary breakie is great. The omelets were super. Rooms are nice and very clean. It is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kansas28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

This hotel was nice- in a good location- nothing very fancy but good for families. The wall separating the rooms was a solid door which was great for privacy and the staff was great in having cribs set up in the rooms prior to arrival (I called that day to request). The staff was extremely, especially at breakfast. You get two tickets for drinks at the bar for a happy hour. The rooms all had a balcony- however- it was extremely unsafe for kids- wide & open. If you have young kids that can open the slider- it could be an issue. The hotel is in a nice area- walking distance to Westport where there are restaurants and shops.The pool looked really nice with two levels- though we didn't use it. I did think it was a little overpriced but overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMKCWE, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, May 10, 2010
Thank you for your response! We appreciate the feedback and the opportunity to host you and your family at our beautiful location! Customer service is very important to us and we are happy our staff was able to accommodate your special request! We look forward to the next opportunity to host you at our facility!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

The staff was very personable and accommodating! Room was clean but worn. Sink in the bedroom and the bath was very small. We found the place was very well located for us. The breakfast buffet was great! Free parking outdoors and inside garage.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMKCWE, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, March 26, 2010
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your comments. Customer service is a focus of our hotel! We look forward to the next time you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

First time my grandkids were in a hotel....the suites in chicago area are awesome so expected the same....the parking set up is great--covered garage & the check in was smooth....but the room was very shabby....holes in the wall....stains on the furniture....lamps about ready to fall apart....but comfy beds & towels....really tiny bathroom but the sink on the outside allowed for lots of room to make up.....
I have to say everyone I encountered from the lady cleaning up the pool area (which is awesome by the way 2 levels, steam & sauna & decent sized hot tub) to the bar tender at the free reception, to the driver of the shuttle (free service within 2 mi) to the servers and cleaners at the free cooked to order breakfast (don't miss the omelets....good as any I've had) were friendly and very concerned to make me happy!! My grandkids had a ball and were very impressed!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMKCWE, MKCWEDOS at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
We appreciate your feedback! Thank you for your comments. We are happy your stay was enjoyable for your family and look forward to hosting you as or guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Address: 220 W 43rd St, Kansas City, MO 64111-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Kansas City
Kansas City Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing