We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just returned from a knitters escape at...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
kansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just returned from a knitters escape at...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

Just returned from a knitters escape at the Embassy Suites. Great hotel. The staff was wonderful and so very helpful. Free shuttle was awesome. Took us where we wanted to go and then picked us up when we wanted to come back. Complimentary breakie is great. The omelets were super. Rooms are nice and very clean. It is a great place to stay.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kansas28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    415
    344
    218
    134
See reviews for
589
287
40
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

This hotel was nice- in a good location- nothing very fancy but good for families. The wall separating the rooms was a solid door which was great for privacy and the staff was great in having cribs set up in the rooms prior to arrival (I called that day to request). The staff was extremely, especially at breakfast. You get two tickets for drinks at the bar for a happy hour. The rooms all had a balcony- however- it was extremely unsafe for kids- wide & open. If you have young kids that can open the slider- it could be an issue. The hotel is in a nice area- walking distance to Westport where there are restaurants and shops.The pool looked really nice with two levels- though we didn't use it. I did think it was a little overpriced but overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julieod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMKCWE, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, May 10, 2010
Thank you for your response! We appreciate the feedback and the opportunity to host you and your family at our beautiful location! Customer service is very important to us and we are happy our staff was able to accommodate your special request! We look forward to the next opportunity to host you at our facility!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

The staff was very personable and accommodating! Room was clean but worn. Sink in the bedroom and the bath was very small. We found the place was very well located for us. The breakfast buffet was great! Free parking outdoors and inside garage.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMKCWE, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, March 26, 2010
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your comments. Customer service is a focus of our hotel! We look forward to the next time you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
229 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

First time my grandkids were in a hotel....the suites in chicago area are awesome so expected the same....the parking set up is great--covered garage & the check in was smooth....but the room was very shabby....holes in the wall....stains on the furniture....lamps about ready to fall apart....but comfy beds & towels....really tiny bathroom but the sink on the outside allowed for lots of room to make up.....
I have to say everyone I encountered from the lady cleaning up the pool area (which is awesome by the way 2 levels, steam & sauna & decent sized hot tub) to the bar tender at the free reception, to the driver of the shuttle (free service within 2 mi) to the servers and cleaners at the free cooked to order breakfast (don't miss the omelets....good as any I've had) were friendly and very concerned to make me happy!! My grandkids had a ball and were very impressed!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMKCWE, MKCWEDOS at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
We appreciate your feedback! Thank you for your comments. We are happy your stay was enjoyable for your family and look forward to hosting you as or guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

It's not an amazing place but for under a hundred bucks through Priceline, absolutely no complaints. Great location, great room. People complaining about a sink outside the bathroom is pretty ridiculous. My room was huge and the service was great.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamPatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

First night heating didn't work & about froze to death. Fixed promptly the next day. Rooms need major overhaul - only sink is in the bedroom - issue for girls doing makeup & hair. Staff was friendly. About 4 to 5 blocks walk to Plaza which is too far in the cold. Got room on Priceline for $64 so made value better. Did not use the breakfast so can't comment.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC, KS
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

As a HHonors silver level traveler, I stay at Embassy Suites hotels often. This one should have their flag pulled--worst I have ever stayed at. One elevator didn't work the entire weekend (and with a full house it made for very long waits). On Saturday mid-afternoon went to bar for appetizers and drinks--bartender acted like we were imposing on him. Had to wait to get him to even come over to us (at the bar, not even at a table). Then had to actually wave the menu in the air to get his attention 15" after he gave us the menus. The Sunday breakfast was supposed to run from 7:30 to 10:30. We arrived at 9:50 and found that they were "out" of the special (french toast). They were also "out" of biscuits and gravy. Why could they not cook any more? Or, was the person who did the food ordering incompetent? And, there was no ice for the juice/soft drinks--we were told someone had spilled milk in the ice bin, so they removed it and apparently couldn't bother to bring out more. And, as others have noted, the hotel doesn't look like it has had a facelift since it was built in the 1970s as a Granada Royale--dark, dingy, sink in the bedroom, etc.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCinKCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Address: 220 W 43rd St, Kansas City, MO 64111-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Kansas City
Kansas City Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing