We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Ranked #35 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“vacation”
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I would deffinately stay at this hotel again. The breakfast was awesome and the service was outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivera1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    437
    367
    241
    160
See reviews for
655
307
46
545
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

This Embassy Suites hotel is no different then all the others. Great free drinks at happy hour from 5-7. Excellent Cook-to-Order breakfast. The price is right if you figure in the freebies. Only gripe is there is a bit of a walk to the plaza shopping compared to other hotels on the plaza.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We loved the building and the room. The door between the bedroom and the sitting room was not adequate for cutting out the noise of the television but it did help with the light. The beds were comfortable and the staff tried to be very helpful. Although the name says Plaza, it is a bit of a walk to the Plaza for shopping but it is not too bad. We were on the 7th floor and the toilets did not flush well but I find that often staying on the higher floors. Happy hour was fun with great drinks but snacks were better at other Embassy Suites. Free breakfast with omelets made to order was a huge plus for us. I enjoyed my stay there and will stay there again when I'm in the area. Within walking distance out of the back door and through the ally were many nice restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stampaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Room was clean, and everything worked well wte of the bathroom fan which, as is almost always the case in hotels, unable to adequately vent humidity out of even this extremely tiny bathroom.

Room was a non-smoking room, but smelled of cigar smoke on arrival.

As anyone who’s stayed at an Embassy Suite knows they do offer some great ‘freebees’ … for
me those include the free breakfast and manager’s special.

The manager’s special was extremely disappointing – certainly the worst of any Embassy Suite I’ve stayed at. One small, tucked into a corner, bar with two bar tenders could not handle the forty to fifty or so people who gathered each evening. Additionally, the idea of ‘food’ was a popcorn machine and pretzels/fritos – I’ve always enjoyed heavy hors’dors at other ES.

Pool and hot tub always jammed with kids even in 'adult only hours', not enforced by the staff.

As a silver member of Hilton Honors I expected the customary bottles of water in the room with a nice note thanking me for staying … note was slide under the door first night … the only bottle of water in the room had a $4.50 price tag on it.

But, as on most trips the room was the room, a good place to sleep and relax after a busy day. Nice, yet small exercise room.

As I've been finding more and more recently Hilton properties are charging for in room internet access - $10/day is insane.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJHoffnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebrsaka
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2009

They did not honor silver card beneifts I am sorry to say but I have stayed at two other Embassy Suites one by KC airport and one overlandpark, KS this plaza is the worst . Read all the negative reviews they highlight our experince, bathroom very smal and bathromm sink located in the bedroom it does not make sense, I have stayed at a lot embassy suites and I can this is the only I would not stay at again. Again read the negative reviews they are correct, so slow elvators my daughter walked down from 11th floor. The only good about this motel was it was close to Plazza but I would have now rather stayed at other Hilton location
The parking was free but they had no security watching the vehicles
AJBC- B from Seward, NE

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NebrsakaSkater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Erlanger, KY
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

For the most part our stay here was fine, and par for the course for Embassy. What few inconveniences we had were not the fault of the hotel. The night we arrived we were informed there was a power outage. That obviously is not the fault of the hotel, and power was restored before too long. Also the hotel was extremely busy for the weekend, so finding a parking place on Saturday night wasn't real easy, and breakfast was extremely crowded Saturday and Sunday mornings. We were happy to see a lot of the crowds check out Sunday morning, so it was a lot less crowded Monday and Tuesday.

Breakfast was good, and the staff did a good job of keeping everything well stocked considering how crowded it was. I got an omelet each morning, and each of them was good. We were vacationing for a few days in KC and weren't around the hotel much to try the pool or evening reception, so I have no input on those. As advertised, the location is convenient to the Plaza and Westport.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louder72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We just returned from a two night weekday stay. This property was old and needed renovations. Wow the "bathroom" was a toliet and tiny shower. Not even big enough to be considered the size of an RV's bathroom. The vanity (sink) was located in the bedroom. Not easy to quietly get dressed while another sleeps in.
The manager's reception was not impressive as it usually is at Hiltons. The breakfast only included cook to order omlets and burnt pancakes.
Upon check out we request a copy of our bill (none provided under our door the morning of check-out) and we were told since we book online (net rate) that one was not available. Weird. No matter how much pleading we were not provided with one. Please note that we are Hilton Honors members and we were not treated as such.
Beware. Maybe you should check out Hampton Inn for your stay. I believe it is actually closer to the Plaza and possibly nicer. We will not be returning to this property the only advantage of this hotel was its quietness (I swear we were the only ones there) and the free parking.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimInNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 108 in Kansas City
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Address: 220 W 43rd St, Kansas City, MO 64111-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Kansas City
Kansas City Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing