We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed here many times...this was the last time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Ranked #32 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Marysville, Kansas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stayed here many times...this was the last time”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Recently spent 4 nights at this hotel. I've been staying here off and on for probably 20 or more years. First off this hotel is showing it's age and not in a good way. Our room had a nasty moldy damp smell to it and the carpets felt damp the entire time. We called the front desk and they sent up a maintenance man who was very friendly, he installed an air freshener and brought us a couple box fans. It didn't help. They are well aware of this problem because he even admitted that side of the hotel has this problem all the time. The wall near the permanently locked patio door was moldy and rusty by the baseboard, there were Taco Bell sauce packets under the sofa when we pulled out the bed to use it. At first glance the hotel looks beautiful and clean, but closer inspection reveals that not to be the case at all. The breakfast lines were long and slow, hardly worth the wait for the quality of the food. Only thing slower than the breakfast was the elevators, we repeatedly had to wait for multiple elevators till we got one we could get into since they were overcrowded. Overall, I'd avoid this place till they spend some money making it nice like it used to be. There are better hotels for the same or less money in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFrequentEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Good morning The FrequentEater

Thank you for our patronage of our hotel over the last 20 years. I am sorry for the several disappointments you encountered during your stay that is forcing you to look elsewhere for your lodging needs. Losing a valued guest such as yourself will be reviewed with our staff as we should have tried to resolve, correct or made some adjustments while you were still here.
Again I apologize for the disappointments during your stay you had with us.

Scott Woidela
Asst. General Manager
Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    417
    347
    221
    140
See reviews for
606
291
42
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We wouldn't stay at the KC location. The room was Damp and the bed very bumpy. Had to pay for parking and internet. Found a hair in hashbrowns. We have stayed at a few Embassy's and this was the worst one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Good Morning Shannon W

I apologize for the poor experiences you described regarding The Breakfast experience, air conditioning and the bed in the suite. The parking charges are consistent with the other hotels in the area and are actually the lowest of all the hotels on the plaza. I have reviewed your comments with the engineering housekeeping and Food & beverage managers. Again I apologize for the disappointments during your stay you had with us.
Scott Woidela
Asst. General Manager
Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Pella, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was the first time we stayed in an Embassy Suites. The room was clean and big enough for our family of family. The complimentary breakfast with omlette bar was great! The kids liked the pool and hot tub. Service was great at check in and check out. We would stay again. The only bummer was the Wi-fi was not free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Good afternoon George W

Thanks for staying with us. Hopefully your 4 star stay will lead to future visits at our or other Embassy Suites. Please do not hesitate to inquire about rate plans that include WIFI. When you add up all of the amenities – evening reception, Breakfast, and the two-room suite the value is definitely there. Thanks for the lovely review of your stay with us and would hope we have earned the privilege of your future patronage when your travel plans bring you back to Kansas City

Scott Woidela
Asst. General Manager
Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Recently stayed at the Embassy Suites for one night. Great front desk and valet/bellhop staff. Room was clean but definitely had a mildew odor. Very comfy bed. Very small bathroom but worked fine. Had dinner at the restaurant which was fine but nothing special. Managers reception was so crowded and had such a long line for drinks we didn't bother. Breakfast -food was good but very long lines and also very crowded. Great staff there also though very friendly. My daughter really enjoyed the pool!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Good afternoon Jennifer H

I was happy to see that your little princess enjoyed the pool. I always like to ask the little humans if they enjoyed the pool as it does make an impact on their parents overall satisfaction with their stay. Please note that I have addressed the long lines with our Food & Beverage Director and have also made it a point to ensure that there are enough Bartenders at the evening reception. I apologize that you did not get to enjoy that part of your stay. Again thanks for taking the time out of your busy day to share your review with the guests of TRIP ADVISOR and I would hope you would return when your future travels bring you back to Kansas City.

Scott Woidela
Asst. General Manager
Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a staple hotel that always proves it can deliver. It's somewhat older but still very clean and the staff was extremely helpful. We got plenty of free drink tickets, great breakfast, great bed, clean room, an over sized suite for us two ( a plus ), and a courteous staff. People don't realize that this embassy is modeled after the style of the country club plaza ( Rustic Spanish).This was a great stay with the best value in town. Free shuttles to the anywhere near in town as well. Parking is just a one-time 9$ fee for the entire stay so don't worry if you need to drive around and park multiple times. This actually a good deal since parking in the plaza area can be tricky.
I've seen plenty of reviews of the aged look of this hotel. Yet this is all relative since every premier hotel in KC is older in appearance. This includes the Raphael, Intercontinental, Hilton, and of course the Embassy. Downtown KC is not known for its contemporary appeal, it's all about the food culture here. That being said you have to visit KC with this mind, yet expect to stay in a nice and clean hotel.
One thing that the Embassy Plaza could improve on is slight aestethic touch ups and overall extreme attention to detail. Every now and then you'd see chipped paint, rusty AC vents, damp throw blanket, smoky smelling non-smoking room ( mine ), overall dirty car garage, or spots on the carpet. This is something that could be easily fixed and just suggests that the hotel needs to pay just a little bit more attention to detail. If you'd like to be considered a top hotel you should take this seriously. Overall the value is still the best in town. With more efforts in terms of aestethic detail this hotel could be ranked top 5 in KC ( it should be). I think this could beat out the Raphael Hotel if it could step up its game a bit more. I would just suggest that regional Embassy Suite management fund a general facelift for the hotel, because it would improve business 10 fold , run the hotel market in downtown KC, and outperform all others in the plaza area. No reason why the Lincoln, NE Embassy should look better than the KC one. :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg8701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Good Morning Greg 8701

Thank you for a great review of the Hotel. Trust me these were almost the exact items the General Manager reviewed with us last week. In fact I will use your review as a discussion item in our daily huddles with the Housekeeping, Front desk and Engineering departments. I hope to utilize this as an inspirational note to motivate our staff to step up their efforts. Thanks again for your time and also for your patronage and I would hope your future travels bring you back to our Hotel.

Scott Woidela
Asst. General Manager
Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, MO, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The bath room was filthy Room not much better Horible King Matress Valet service excellent Front Desk service excellent Location of hotel excellent Reception very nice Enjoyed our stay because we spent very little time in the room

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Good morning William S

Thank you for your review and the opportunity to respond. Thank you also for your kind comments about our evening reception, great location, and friendly Front desk & Valet staff. I did some investigative work and found your reservation and will be contacting you separately about the cleanliness of the suite and bathroom. Comments from our guests are taken very seriously as we value your patronage. Again I apologize for the disappointments during your stay you had with us.

Scott Woidela
Asst. General Manager
Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Manager's reception was extremely busy and the food was wiped out and took over an hour to replenish. Huge line during breakfast. We have stayed at other Embassy Suites and they have a 2 sided buffet line that works much better than serving it out of the kitchen. We didn't even utilize the breakfast the second day we were there due to the huge line, not to mention there was no place to sit. The first night we ate ate at the restaurant, we were very dissatisfied with how long it took to get waited on. Then when we finally got waited on it took a long time to get our appetizer and for our drinks to get refilled. Because of this, we left without ordering dinner. We ordered room service later that night because we were so hungry. We were very pleasantly surprised with the timeliness of our food, and it was delicious. We enjoyed it so much that we ordered it again the second night. It was too bad the service at the restaurant was not nearly as good as room service. The room itself was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. Our kids really enjoyed the well kept pool, and the hot tub was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tony785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Good Morning Tony785

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments on your stay with the readers of Trip advisor. Please note that I have shared similar concerns at breakfast with the Food & Beverage Director. He just joined our staff and I am sure that he will address this. However, the roller coaster success and shortfalls of our food & beverage offerings was not something you need to experience on your vacation. Thank goodness that the little ones were able to enjoy the pool and you were able to enjoy some rest in your suite. Please do not hesitate to contact me so I can discuss this further. Thanks for the kind words about your suite and the pool and for staying with us. Again I apologize for the displeasure and frustration you encountered and the resulting impact on your overall stay with us.

Scott Woidela
Asst. General Manager
Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#12 of 108 in Kansas City
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Address: 220 W 43rd St, Kansas City, MO 64111-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Kansas City
Kansas City Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing