We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to shops, bars and restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had no idea where we were going to spend the night when we came upon this hotel. The location is great for shopping, eating out or barhopping! The staff was very friendly and the complimentary shuttle service keeps you from having to find parking spots when going to the Plaza, etc. They have a great breakfast buffet that is included with your room. We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shebasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Shebasmom

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you had a great stay with us. This kind of feedback is what we strive for. We will make sure to pass on the kind words to our staff as it does confirm that their efforts are making a positive impact with our guests. I am glad you enjoyed our Complimentary breakfast which is a great way to start the day. On Your next visit do not forget to end the day or start the evening off with our Manager’s reception !
We'll look forward to serving you again on your next trip to KC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,711 - 1,717 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

this summer my family and i went down to kansas city. we desited to stay at embassy suites because close to the plaza. when we got to the hotel and it a bad day the hotel was PACKED. so we got to our room it was clean, in good cintions, and the smell was in good shape. In the hotel the rooms are 80% percent renolted but the hotel was 20% renolted. but the thing i hated the most was the elevators. Early i said the hotel was packed and elevator were packed with people and the elevator was small and it made a lot of stops sometimes it took forever and desited to take the stairs. the thing i loved the most was the breakfast. the breakfast was really good especially the olmlets they we so deilous.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Oscar219

Thank you for your comments of your stay with us last summer. I apologize for the extended elevator wait times which occur during popular times in the morning and afternoon. I was glad you enjoyed our complimentary cooked to order breakfast and will share your comments with our breakfast staff. We would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Solid hotel but showing signs of age. Rooms are comfortable but ready for updates. Staff is very courteous and helpful. I felt misled by name of place as it is a little hike to get to the plaza but it was terrific weather when we visited so no problem. Also the staff offer a shuttle and were very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rock_Chalk_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Rock_Chalk_85

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.
Please accept our sincerest apologies for being mislead concerning the location of the Hotel. Staffs are trained to tell guests that we are 4 blocks from the Country Club Plaza. I was happy that you did take advantage of our shuttle service and the helpfulness of our staff.
We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We recently visited the area to attend a show at the Uptown Theater and decided to try out Embassy Suites - Plaza.

Our check in at around 6 pm was quick and painless.
The Manager's Reception with 2 complimentary drinks apiece was appreciated.
Being within walking distance to the venue (15-20 minutes each way) was great.
The suite was comfy! Plenty of room to spread out, and the AC did a wonderful job at keeping the room a brisk 62 degrees. Slept like babies on the King Sized bed.

We read reviews of this hotel prior to booking, and two of our "Selling Points" were not available. Bit of a bummer there.

We had planned on having access to both 24 hour room service and a 24 hour swimming pool. Both of us being night owls and figuring we might like to wind down after the show, we totally planned on using both. To our disappointment, however, both were closed at midnight (Friday). The vending machines in the place sold only drinks. We ended up having to leave a second time to find something to cure the munchies. Joe's Pizza, a few blocks away, took care of that. Had we known, though, that room service would be unavailable, we would have brought something for the in-room fridge.

Breakfast was good. The made-to-order omelet was tasty, and the lines were not as bad as most reviewers made them out to be. Maybe we just got lucky and arrived before the crowd.
The noon checkout time was a plus for us. After our breakfast we went back to the room for another couple hours sleep.

Overall experience was a good one, however, our search for a hotel with 24 hour pool and 24 room service continues.

Room Tip: If you think you might like something to eat after midnight, take something for your in-room fridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear BigCase

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your stay with the guests of Trip Advisor. I apologize for the incorrect information about the Pool & Room Service. I will alert the appropriate team members to double check our amenity offerings on the various travel sites to see where you may have found that wrong information. In fact the only items listed as available 24 hours is our Front desk and the business center. Our pool Hours are from 6:00 a.m. to midnight. The 10:00p.m. - 12:00 a.m. midnights is designated as an adult swim which has been happily received by all except the little ones who are forced to go to sleep by that time. However, many parents have thanked us for an excuse to get their children out of the pool. Room service is listed as limited hours but as you experienced there are several late night dining options and a lot of which will deliver which is a nice option for late night cravings. I am glad you were able to enjoy the cocktail hour and breakfast as well as get some additional sleep with the 12:00 p.m. check out time. Again, thank you for your kind words about the hotel and I hope your future concert adventures bring you back to Kansas City to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

First of all, the hotel does have many positives...convenient location to both the Westport area (walking distance) and The Plaza (long walk, short drive), their free shuttle service was there when we needed it and we had a super friendly driver who actually seemed to like his job, and the rooms were clean and spacious.
Now for the criticisms: The overall hotel decor was a bit outdated, but clean and well maintenanced.The pool and hot tub was always full of kids when we wanted to go. The breakfast buffet has many options, but the buffet line was crammed into one corner of the room and the line and flow of people is just short of mass chaos. There were biscuits and gravy, bacon, sausage, cereals, oatmeal, toast, scrambled eggs and omelets to order (if you got in line early enough). The "managers reception" was also crazy. It was like a frat party down there with people double-fisting glasses of wine and beer. You get two 'free' drinks per night per person and people were definitely getting "warmed up" there before heading out for the night. Im sure its just me, but I'm not a big fan of the "buffet mentality" where people think they have the eat/drink their monies worth. Personally, Id rather pay $20-$40/night less and buy my own breakfast and my own drinks.
They also charge for internet, which I think is a crime for a hotel, especially one who charges nearly $200/night.
We stayed here because it was recommend for a wedding we were going to in the Westport area. It was definitely super convenient, clean and comfortable, but it was the ancillary stuff that turned me off.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamie_stlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to share your comments about the shuttle driver and the cleanliness of the Hotel with our staff as they are always interested on how their efforts are seen by their guests. Sometimes other guests do not realize they are disturbing and offending fellow guests while they are trying to maximize the value of the Complimentary breakfasts and manager’s reception and I have reviewed this with the Food & Beverage Director. It is a delicate subject matter, and we only serve a maximum of two beverages per guest at the manager’s reception. Breakfast peak dining times are posted and discussed with guests at check in and I apologize if they were not reviewed with you during your check in. There is complimentary internet available in the business center and we do have rates that include internet access. I apologize that these issues tarnished your overall review of the Hotel. Again, we do appreciate the time you took to let us know your thoughts and hope you would choose again if your travels bring you back to Kansas City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here while my wife was having surgery. I loved the breakfasts. They were generous with the happy hour coupons. Easy walking to the Plaza. 5 minutes from St. Luke's Hospital. I did not like the $9.95 per day charge for wifi. They did provide free computer useage in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

First of all, I hope your wife’s surgery went well and she is making a quick recovery. Thank You for your kind words about the hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed the hotel, location and the Country Club Plaza and Westport areas. I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfasts and manager’s reception during your stay with us. Hopefully your future travels will bring you back to Kansas City and you & your lovely wife can enjoy The Hotel, Country Club Plaza and Westport areas together

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Embassy is always a treat. All rooms are big suites and a full hot breakfast is served to your specifications. staff is very friendly and accomodating. It is close to the airport for air travellers and close to the Zanta Rosa Mall, which is a unique mall designed like a 1950's downtown shopping area. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobjan415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Bobjan415

Thank you for the wonderful review. You may have meant for this review to be of the Embassy Suites at the Airport. Thank you again and if your travels ever bring you back to Kansas City we would love to have you stay with us on the Country Club Plaza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza

Address: 220 W 43rd St, Kansas City, MO 64111-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $142 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Kansas City
Kansas City Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing