We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more. Convenient to St. Lukes.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Older property that could stand an update. Don't be fooled by it's name...it's not on the Plaza. It's actually four hilly blocks from the Plaza. If you have to go to St. Lukes Hospital, it's very convenient. Staff was very helpful. No issues there. Breakfast buffet was limited but the guy working the grill could do a lot upon request. Was there for four nights and housekeeping never replaced my bottle of water.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattArmb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,825)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,675 - 1,681 of 1,825 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed here many times.. very comfortable, excellent hotel, but some trouble spots need to be addressed! Housekeeping: 3 consecutive days without towels is not acceptable. Restaurant: food great BUT the hotel is full every Thanksgiving week-end so bring in another chef and waitress...don't tell hotel guests wait time for a sandwich on Saturday night is 40-60 minutes because you only have one chef!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hydrokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

No doubt about it. This hotel is dated. Even for an Embassy Suites --- and yes that is saying something!

The is the opposite of the KC Airport Embassy Suites, which recently underwent a great makeover. This hotel is so worn out, it's takes away from your stay.

Also, they advertise it as the "Plaza" ... but it is SEVERAL blocks from the Plaza (Country Club Plaza shopping district). You will need a car or a pair of running shoes if you want to get to the Plaza. They should advertise it as "Westport" because its closer to that area than the Plaza.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinlight58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

First off, I love this hotel...great location, wonderful staff, awesome breakfast, fun pool area, fun managers reception . Our family has used this hotel as our "command post" throughout the years for weddings, 50th anniversary reunion...you get the idea. The hotel is always busy when we stay there and the service never waivers. Looking closely, the bathroom grout needs replacing, chipped paint on door jambs, etc. I wish the management would spend a little money on these things and this hotel would go from very good to out of this world!!

Room Tip: any room with -26, 27, 28, 29 will be by the elevators and they can be loud....
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunflowergal62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is one of the original Embassy Suites so it is a bit of a step back in time here. Still, I stay here frequently on business as I have clients on the Plaza. The rates are usually comparably to the Hampton Inn but the rooms larger and there is the free breakfast.

I have stayed here at least ten times and the front desk staff is unfailingly efficient, friendly and helpful. The rooms are your standard Embassy huge. They have done some minor updates in the rooms adding new vanities and the beds are top notch. Baths are a bit dated and dark but get the job done. Room temperature control works well - key given how hot KC can be in the summer. This hotel gets a lot of groups including school trips but I have never had an issue with noise.

There is a small exercise room which meets my needs and an interesting bi-level pool and spa that I have used a few times when I've had a few extra minutes.

Parking used to be free but they started charging $10 this summer. Do not park in the lowest part of the garage if rain is expected - it floods.

I never make the happy hour as I'm always out with clients but the breakfast here is very well run with more than enough friendly staff on hand to cook and clear tables. The breakfast at this hotel is usually packed and they do a very good job of keeping things moving.

As mentioned in other reviews, they have a shuttle van but I usually walk to the Plaza - less than ten minutes. You are almost in Westport with all of its bars and restaurants. This location gives you a ton of dining options which is probably why the restaurant is usually empty.

I will be back to this hotel, despite the very annoying new parking arrangement. Large rooms, a good breakfast and location and, most importantly, an excellent staff makes this a good choice in this part of town despite the age of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KR-ORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We were extremely pleased on how friendly and helpful all the staff was.
Room was spacious and clean, and the breakfast was plentiful and tasteful.
We would definitely recommend. Location is several blocks from the Country Club Plaza, but it is walkable, and they also provide a shuttle van.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaydeNoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The folks at Embassy Suites made our trip from San Diego to attend the Charger game against the Chief's a comfortable one.

Although dated, the hotel was clean, quiet and conveniently located to everything we needed.
The staff (Riki and Jaime) were friendly and competent. Kansas City is a great city to visit and we had a blast. BBQ was great and our favorite was Oklahoma Joe's.

Night life is stumbling distance from the hotel if you prefer to walk or you can just ask the desk for the shuttle. We waited no more than 5 mins. at any one time for the shuttle to arrive.

Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santeepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 109 in Kansas City
724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza

Address: 220 W 43rd St, Kansas City, MO 64111-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $186 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Kansas City
Kansas City Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing