We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We had one night to spend in KC, so we wanted to be sure that the hotel was within walking distance to a cool part of town for dinner and drinks. Although a little more spendy than I would have liked, this hotel was a good choice. The location was great to walk to the Westport neighborhood and the suite was huge! The hotel decor was a little old and tired, but the atrium style design makes it feel big and kinda luxurious. Hot breakfast was included, and although it was like a cattle call on a busy weekend morning, everything was good.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amyamylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,730 - 1,736 of 1,856 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

This used to be our favorite place to stay in Kansas City. When our kids were younger, it was great because they had their own area to sleep and watch TV. The manager's reception was great and we always enjoyed the free breakfast. As a Hilton Honors member, we always appreciated the note from the manager along with a couple bottles of water when we arrived. We also liked not having to pay for parking.

Recently, things have changed. The rooms are beginning to show their age. The beds are nice and they have new flat screen TVs, but the rooms need updating. There are no advantages to being a Hilton Honors member (no note, no water). It would be nice to get free internet access or parking for being a loyal repeat customer and a Hilton Honors member. I complained that I wasn't happy about paying to park and the desk clerk explained that they were having problems with unauthorized parking and that they needed to charge to keep them out and ensure enough parking for their guests. I thought that was interesting because I never had an issue with parking in the twenty-plus stays I have had at this hotel over the past 15 years or so.

The bottom line is that iIf you have kids, it is a good value because you don't have to book two rooms, and the breakfast is great. We visit Kansas City often and we have changed hotels, but I would still say that the Embassy Suites is a decent place to stay in Kansas City.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawkeyeDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed 3 nights in late June on family road trip. Hotel is near fun Plaza area (NOT downtown) with great shops & restaurants. Park with walking path right down the block. Medical center is nearby but only heard sirens once. Room x27 was constantly subject to elevator noise/rumble but leaving room fan on helped. Kids loved the two-level pool, and easy to watch from the nearby hot tub. Steam room was broken. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast. Manager Reception snacks were not substantial. Note self park is $10/day; don't bother with Valet. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StLmetroMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Twice I have stayed at this hotel for 5+ nights for business. The hotel is located close to all of the quaint shops, museums and great restaurants that KC has to offer. Unfortunately if staying more than two nights there is little room to hang clothes as a chiffarobe is to serve as the closet. Both rooms in the suites are very dark even with all of the lights on; if you are a female forget trying to put on make-up until you get out of the hotel or consider bringing a lighted make-up mirror. Even though the room service staff is very friendly never once was my food order correct. All of the staff at the hotel are very friendly though.

Room Tip: Okay for overnight stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We had a business event here, when we arrived they had posted incorrect signage that the staff initially didn't want to change, then went in to find a hole in the wall and broken glass on the floor. Sleeping rooms were better but still overall run down and musty. A second desk staffer did print up a new sign for us and later directed us to a nearby brewpub where we had a good dinner, but we had to walk past some empty lots to get there. It was not that close to the Plaza, in a more residential area. We won't be going back - there are cheaper places for personal travel and nicer places for business travel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollykmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I stayed at rhe embassy june 17-19th for a birthday staycay. Check in was amazing and kristal was so sweet. Even gave me a credit for fre movie rental! I had told her I had read bad reviews so give me a good room. Room is spaciouxs and comfy. Bathroom a little small bug bearable. 2 flat screen tvs and the king bed is so soft. Had such a good here and I got a great deal thru priceline!!
I will stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rashedabionka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

The good: Booked one night on Priceline for the Embassy Suites K.C. Plaza. Check-in was smooth (around 8:30pm), no line and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and had everything we needed. Just like other Embassy Suites, it had ample space and was comfortable. The shuttle bus was happy to take us to Rudy's for dinner and the driver was friendly, helpful and opened the door for us every time. We called him for pick-up and he was there in less than 10 minutes. We missed the cocktail reception so I can't comment on that.

The not-so-perfect: We found an ant in our bed...just one. We checked it over and did not see any additional. The hotel is right across the street from a hospital and we were on that side of the hotel so we heard sirens late into the night. Once I fell asleep I didn't wake up to them though. In the morning we attempted to go to the breakfast (about 9am) but were unsuccesful. The elevators were full and slow so we decided to take the stairs down the 6 flights. Once we got there the line was long and the lobby was really full, we didn't have time to wait. No biggie except still the issue with the elevators so we hiked it up the 6 flights and checked out of our room.

The hotel itself is a little outdated but still clean (except for the ant) and comfortable. The entire staff was friendly and helpful and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Probably don't book with priceline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kegohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.3 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza

Address: 220 W 43rd St, Kansas City, MO 64111-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $171 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Kansas City
Kansas City Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing