We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed for three weeks on a business trip and was impressed by just about everything. The building was easy to find and located within easy walking distance of numerous good restaurants, shopping, parks, museums and street corner jazz bands.
The Sheraton was nice and had many services for the guests available such as underground parking, swimming pool, Breakfast/evening appetizers, newspapers, coffee and of course friendly and knowledgable staff.
I would also make a good review on their restaurants cuisine and a great review of the Bartender named Tara for her attentiveness, knowledge, patience and killer Martinis.
Without a doubt I would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are probably equally great and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FireMNDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza and sending feedback on your stay. It was good to read you had a good experience at our hotel. The hotel staff strive to deliver an excellent guest experience to all of our guests and I was glad to read they did a good job of delivering that experience to you. Tara does a great job at the hotel and I am glad she was able to provide great service to you during your stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return to our hotel on a future visit to Kansas City. Ted Frerking, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 756 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I had our Valentine's Day weekend here. We'd been to the plaza many times and always wanted to stay at the Sheraton. From the outside the place looks nice, but our room was outdated and small. We had a king suite. We also were excited for some pool time, but the pool was dirty and the hot tub was very old, it worked, just wasn't at all what we were expecting after what we paid for it. The next time we were at the plaza we stayed at the Marriott and had a great view and a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsTonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza. I was disappointed to read your experience at the hotel was not excellent. I do apologize for the items you mentioned that you encountered during your stay. I fully understand how your experience can be negatively impacted when the room and pool condition is not as expected and for this I do apologize. We appreciate your business and hope to have you return to our hotel on a future visit to the Kansas City Country Club Plaza. Ted Frerking, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

OK, we had one incident with the hotel. We left at 8 in the morning, came back at 5 and our room was not made up. I called guest services and was told by the young woman answering "not to raise my voice with her" and she hung up. I didn't raise my voice so that made me mad. Eventually after more phone calls our room was made.
The rooms themselves are nice, clean and large. We were on the top, the 18th floor and had a nice view facing west. We didn't use the microwave or coffee maker in the room, but we did use the fridge. Wireless access was strong throughout the room.
You will have to pay $15 a night to park your car, unless you want to park across the street in the free Plaza parking or on the street a few blocks away.
The bed was large, soft and great to sleep in. The room was totally quiet with absolute blackout curtains if you need to avoid that horrid morning sunshine/hangover combo.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $ per night if you are staying a few days so that you will have access to the club lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza and sending feedback on your stay. It was good to read you had a good experience at our hotel. The hotel staff strive to deliver an excellent guest experience to all of our guests and I was glad to read they did a good job of delivering that experience to you and your family. Sorry about the late cleaning of your room one day. I was glad to read they did get it cleaned for you quickly upon your request. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return to our hotel on a future visit to Kansas City. Ted Frerking, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I wasn't thrilled with my stay at this hotel. The location in Country Club Plaza is good, as many things are within walking distance. However, the rest of my experience could have been nicer. The suite was sizable, but had a musty smell that was less than desirable and ever-present. There were odd stains all around (what was that giant one on the lampshade?), and the bathroom was rusty and peeling. In addition, the hotel garage (which you have to pay for) is very, very dark during the day or night. I would not go down there alone.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank GooseNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza. I was disappointed to read your experience at the hotel was not excellent. I do apologize for the items you mentioned that you encountered during your stay. I fully understand how your experience can be negatively impacted when the room condition is not as expected and for this I do apologize. We appreciate your business and hope to have you return to our hotel on a future visit to the Kansas City Country Club Plaza. Ted Frerking, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a few times and I keep going back because of the location and it is a full service hotel at a decent price. I keep hoping they will renovate and upgrade but they still have left it as it has always been. Rooms are very small to be "suites" and the bathroom is horrible unless you're staying there by yourself. Two people could not be in this room at the same time...very small. Also, I wish the Starwood group would get away from Starbucks coffee - it's just awful. I think I will try to find something else next time we're in town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arkies10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza. I was glad to read you found the staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay. I do apologize for the issues you experienced with the condition of your room during the past stay at the hotel. Our hotel is in a great location within walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants on the plaza. We appreciate your business and hope to have you return to our hotel on a future visit to the Kansas City Country Club Plaza. Ted Frerking, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

When we look at staying in KC, we always first look at the Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza. Hotel and staff are wonderul. Location is a major plus. You can park and walk to shops and restaruants - which a plentiful! Excercise in the fitness center or head down to the canal. Great place to stay. We will return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza. I was glad to read you had a good experience at our hotel and everything was comfortable during your stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return. Ted Frerking, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

First of all, despite some hooplas we had a wonderful experience at the Sheraton Suites Country Club in Kansas City. Sheraton Suites is central to the Plaza area, within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants, very clean, food in the restaurant was exceptional – breakfast was very good, suites are spacious and the beds’ comfortable. Most notable for our experience was the front desk receptionist named Erica. She was a gem. Her professionalism and customer service skills are incomparable. As many times as we’ve stayed in hotels, Erica ranks among the very best with regards to handling adversity and dealing with irate guests. Even while working alone at the front desk on a Sunday morning with a line of guests checking out, locating luggage carts, staffing the coffee station, and answering customer telephone calls – Erica efficiently handled it all with a smile and positive attitude. Since the water was shut off earlier that morning in the entire hotel – I guarantee everyone checking out had a mouth full – and Erica handled each one with respect and understanding. As I observed her interact with each customer, I couldn’t help but notice how well she defused the complaints and won the customer over. When I got to the front desk and mentioned some of the hooplas we had during our stay to Erica – again she was considerate and when my wife and I departed we knew we would return to Sheraton Suites on our next trip to Kansas City. Not because of the hotel, location or food; but simply because of their front receptionist named Erica. Sheraton – you should be proud of that young employee. She is empowered, made good decisions that morning and in my opinion is an up and coming star performer in your organization.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the Plaza area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza. I was glad to read you had a good experience at our hotel and everything was comfortable during your stay. I will share your positive comments about Erica's service with her. She does an outstanding job at the front desk and all of our guests love the service she provides. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return. Ted Frerking, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.6 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza

Address: 770 W 47th St, Kansas City, MO 64112-1802 (Formerly Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Country Club Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: $149 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites at Country Club Plaza is minutes from Sprint Center, Power & Light District, Kansas Speedway and the Kansas City Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Sheraton Hotel Country Plaza
Sheraton Kansas City
Sheraton Country Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing