We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Suites, breakfast "soso"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice Suites, breakfast "soso"”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Nice and comfortable rooms and good location in Kansas City.
Friendly staff at the reception and quick check in, even if there are long lanes.

The breakfast was a bit disappointing, as well as the service at the bar in the night, but there are lots of restaurants ariund there, so there is better choise around.
Would stay there again.
Check your rates: in some rates the Valet parking is included, in others Valet parking will be charged with USD 15

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikkelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdStevens, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
We always appreciate our guest’s feedback, both positive and negative. It is through this feedback that we can be made aware of any shortfalls that occur so we can make necessary improvements.

Your comments of the breakfast and the bar of the hotel are taken seriously and we regret you were not provided with the high level of service and quality that our guests are used to experiencing.

Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to bring your experience to my attention and I look forward to the opportunity to exceed all of your expectations the next time you visit Kansas City.


Ed Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    233
    136
    72
    49
See reviews for
176
167
31
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
JC,mo
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Rooms are divided by glass doors so your kids and friends have a little privacy. Staff is good. Plaza has many dining options. KC needs to do something to keep minors from ruining night life. Three kids were injured when gunfire broke out where the juveniles were congregating the nigh we visited.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSOVERFELT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdStevens, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
We are glad to hear you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel’s service and accommodations.
The shooting that occurred on the East end of the Plaza was indeed very unfortunate. This was an isolated incident. Historically, the Country Club Plaza has been one of the safest areas in all of Kansas City and remains so today. With-in five days of the shooting, our Mayor implemented a 9:00pm curfew on weekends for anyone 18 years old or younger who is not with an adult. The last two weekends have been very typical Plaza weekends… a lot of friends and families enjoying the shops & restaurants and the cooler weather. There have been no incidents of any kinds since the curfew was implemented. The Mayor and Chief of Police continue to pledge they will do everything possible to ensure the Plaza remains Kansas City’s Crown Jewel and a place everyone can visit and feel very safe while doing so.

Again, thanks for choosing the Sheraton Suites and we’ll look forward to serving you again in the near future”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Great location at northwest end of Plaza, minutes to KU Medical Center. Beware reservations and check in advance--my only problem, but multiple issues with name, type of room, number of people, all the basics! Room experience itself was great, clean and comfortable, especially the pillows. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. Easy in and out parking made the 12/day charge well worth it. Indoor/outdoor pool was almost empty, hot tub not hot enough but enjoyable. Breakfast buffet looked great but not included in our rate, so we found alternatives at Ingredient and Classic Cup. That were much less pricey. Despite this, looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdStevens, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you found our hotel quite accommodating to your needs. Please visit us on your next trip to Kansas City.


Ed Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The Sheraton Suites had everything we needed for a comfortable weekend... refrigerator, microwave, comfortable and separate bedroom and great location. Steps away was the Country Club Plaza with some of the best shopping and restaurants in the country. We would definitely stay there on our next visit.

Room Tip: We found the best rate on their website. Choose a room with a fridge and microwave for the best valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdStevens, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback. It is pleasing to know that you found our hotel to have the comforts of home. I wish you well and look forward to your next visit with us.


Sincerely

Ed Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The good: The hotel is great. The staff is outstanding. The rooms are very nice. The hotel was priced right for the area $129.00 - so we thought.

Now the bad: The Plaza use to be an out standing place to hang out both day and night. During the day - you still see the same basic crowd that that has been coming down to the Plaza to party/shop/visit for years. What we found was as soon as the sun went down - the Plaza turned into GANG BANGER CITY! There were two shootings 1/2 block from our hotel. It is very dangerous! The Plaza is not where you want to be when the sun goes down - unless of coarse you are looking for a shoot out.

We heard the next day that the Mayor of Kansas City Missouri was going to consider a curfew in the Plaza West port area of 9:00 PM.

Kansas City is a great city with much to offer - stay away from from the Plaza it is not safe.

Parking $12.00 covered garage.

Room Tip: Great hotel - dangerous area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakelizrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdStevens, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
”Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel’s service and accommodations. The shooting that occurred on the East end of the Plaza was indeed very unfortunate. It resulted when a group of unsupervised teenagers and preteens utilized social media to select the Plaza as a meeting spot on August 13. The shooting victims were part of this teenage group. Please know this was a very isolated incident. Historically, the Country Club Plaza has been one of the safest areas in all of Kansas City and remains so today. With-in five days of the shooting, our Mayor implemented a 9:00pm curfew on weekends for anyone 18 years old or younger who is not with an adult. The last two weekends have been very typical Plaza weekends… a lot of friends and families enjoying the shops & restaurants and the cooler weather. There have been no incidents of any kinds since the curfew was implemented. The Mayor and Chief of Police continue to pledge they will do everything possible to ensure the Plaza remains Kansas City’s Crown Jewel and a place everyone can visit and feel very safe while doing so.

Again, thanks for choosing the Sheraton Suites and we’ll look forward to serving you again in the near future”

Ed Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel and in a great location. The rooms are very nice, with a nice layout and ours was very clean. One complaint and one complaint only----our room wasn't ready when we checked in so we had to wait about 45 minutes in the lobby. The staff was very friendly and apologetic, but it wasn't what I would call a smooth, efficient check in! She gave us numerous dining coupons to use in surrounding restaurants on the Plaza, which were great. We would definitely stay here again due to the price ($119) and the location. I would also definitely choose the other parking garage directly across the street for free. It's closer than we realized.

Room Tip: request a room facing the Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanielyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdStevens, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I certainly apologize that you had to wait for your guestroom. However I am pleased to know that throughout your interval, my staff was empathetic to your needs by accommodating you until it was available.

Ed Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringfieldMO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The beds are the best I've slept in. The employees are always courteous and helpful. The restaurant has excellent food plus the Hotel is within walking distance of numerous other fine restaurants as well as shopping.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpringfieldGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdStevens, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza. It is always welcoming to know when our guest has had an invigorating and memorable experience. Please keep us in mind for your next getaway to Kansas City.

Ed Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza

Property: Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Address: 770 W 47th St, Kansas City, MO 64112-1802 (Formerly Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Country Club Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites at Country Club Plaza is minutes from Sprint Center, Power & Light District, Kansas Speedway and the Kansas City Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Sheraton Hotel Country Plaza
Sheraton Kansas City
Sheraton Country Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing