We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strip "Steak" or Bowling Shoe Sole?”
Review of Range Steakhouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Range Steakhouse
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kansas City, MO
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Strip "Steak" or Bowling Shoe Sole?”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Dinner at the Range Steakhouse: KC Strip, "Voted Best In KC by Pitch". Someone needs to check the voting at the Pitch. We both had the KC Strip and it was so tough we could hardly chew it. No time to send it back due to concert tickets at Voodoo Lounge. I mean REALLY tough! Waitperson showed no concern that we left half of our steaks on our plates. And the wine...what there was of it...has to be the skimpiest pour in town, no more than 3 ounces in the bottom of a large glass, which made it look even smaller. For unexplained reason, we didn't get the wine until we were half way through gnawing on our "steaks". On the plus side, it was good wine...too bad it was like a sample. Not that I expect fine dining at a casino but I expect a lot more from a $100 dinner!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ciaotime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Steaks”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Range at Harrah's has delicious steaks as well as other meals such as Pork Chops and their Salad Bar. Usually can get a comp from my casino host for around $80 which will cover this restaurant for two delicious meals and an appetizer.

You can also use your reward points here as well to help knock down the tab. It's a great place for a date night when visiting the casino and has a nice ambience. Usually try and visit here about every other time we visit Harrah's.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Tx.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's no Binions”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

When I walked into a n 80% empty steakhouse at 8pm on a Saturday night that should have been my first tip off.For the money The Range is a fair bargain but if you are a Harrahs patron beware this place does not hold a candle to Binions Steakhouses. The service was excellent. The atmosphere I felt was lacking. The top 40 music was a put off and the lighting was just odd.
The food itself is a little below Longhorn Steakhouse. The porterhouse I had was good but nothing to write home about.
Maybe I caught them on a bad night. I'll try them again and report back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TxRRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had our dinner on October 9, 2012. We inquired the day before, whether or not we would need a reservation. We were told we wouldn't need one. As I did research prior to our arrival, I was pleased that this restaurant, unlike other "Range Steakhouses", was not a' la carte. With your entree, you had a choice of the salad bar, or the spinach salad/caesar salad. Also, you had a choice of not one, but two sides.

We had the prime rib. It was cooked to perfection, just as ordered. My husband ordered medium rare and I ordered rare. It cut like butter. He wasn't too fond of his Au Gratin potatoes, but loved his potato soup, which, by the way, he was able to substitute for a salad for $2.00 as oppossed to the normal $7.00 for the soup. He had the corn as the other side and thought it was fresh and tasty.

My sides were a baked potato and the sauteed baby spinach. The potato was huge, the spinach had bits of fried garlic in it and was out of this world. My only complaint would be there wasn't enough of it!

Our daughter joined us, as this trip was to visit with her ( We flew to Kansas & then drove to Harrah's). She had prime rib, Creamy Parmesan Mashed potatoes, and Fresh Steamed Asparagus. She didn't care for the potatoes. As for her salad, she ordered the caesar salad and loved it. Her prime rib was cooked to perfection as were all of ours.

Dessert for my husband was cheesecake. He loved it! As I am not a dessert person, I just had an after dinner cordial.

Service was impeccable. I also enjoyed being able to watch the kitchen and the plating. Great care was given. I felt like I was in "Hell's Kitchen" without Gorden Ramsay! This was a wonderful dinner to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. I only wish that other Harrah's properties made a meal just as affordable as this one was by being all enclusive and not a' la carte.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaughlinSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waverly, nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Very convenient and excellent meal. The restaurant was not over crowded there was plenty of room to be comfortable and enjoy the well prepared meal.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Range Steakhouse also viewed

Kansas City, MO
Kansas City, MO
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing