We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in Our Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southmoreland on the Plaza
Ranked #3 of 11 Kansas City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We were disappointed in our room (Ella & Jacob Loose)...it was very small, had no TV or radio and the bed was very noisy. I felt like I was at my grandma's house rather than a luxurious B&B. Definitely thought this room was overpriced! Couldn't tell that much from the website pictures and didn't get the opportunity to see any of the other rooms in person to compare. Staff was friendly and breakfast was outstanding but I would not choose to stay at this B&B again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 232 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2010

We loved staying here. It was the perfect location close to the Plaza and to the Nelson Atkins museum. The breakfasts were amazing (we stayed two nights) plus there was a tasty appetizer and wine for "happy hour" and fresh baked cookies when we came back at night. Our room was comfortable--we stayed in the Thomas Hart Benton room. I love mission furniture and this was such a nice change from the lace and frills of many B&B's. We had a great balcony and really enjoyed the warm early spring weather. The only reason I might not stay again was the price. It was a bit of a slurge for us and we loved it--but we may have to be more budget conscious if we return to KC.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariemom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

The Southmoreland in Kansas City, MO is our favorite B and B. And that is saying a lot because our group (five long-time friends) have been traveling together for 23 years, and we've stayed in many B and Bs.The Southmoreland is not only clean (rooms, baths, kitchen, porches, public rooms), it is loved. All the rooms, public and private, are well appointed as an artistic hand flourishes in the decor, and little touches like fresh flowers, and fresh herbs and apples. Southmoreland breakfasts, with hours that accomodate their guests, are varied, delicious and eye-appealing. The owners, Nancy and Mark, are friendly, but never intrusive. This B and B offers their guests not only hors d'oeuvres at five, but cookies and decaf or tea before retiring to one's room at night, and if that is not enough, in one's room on one's pillow is a square of chocolate that's as sweet as a good night kiss for one, like me, who loves chocolate.The Southmoreland's location is within walking, or easy driving distance of fine museums and up- scale restaurants and shops, The rooms are pretty, several with porches, which are a real joy when the weather is cooperative, as if was for us.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandbar38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Wonderful nooks and crannies steps away from the plaza and art museum. Great value and excellent meals/snacks.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alkatz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Stayed in Carriage House, room was warm, had an unusual smell in entry way, but it was clean, spacious, with comfortable chairs and worn antiques. Bed was mushy with polyester sheets. Bath worked, adequate number of towels, grounds and public spaces were very nice and breakfast and service were fine. Location is excellent. The owners have a very strict cancellation policy; a death in the family required me to leave a day before I planned. They refused any consideration for this - no exception to their cancellation policy - and required me to pay half of the room price for the night we didn't stay, since they didn't book the room. Maybe this is standard policy for BB's but it seemed rigid to me, and didn't make me inclined to return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timetoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I loved this B and B. The food was amazing and the surroundings even more incredible. Parking is VERY tight, but they tell you this ahead of time. They are very strict about it b/c the parking is tight everywhere. The owners were incredibly accomodating. We showed up and early and they let us park and enter our room early. The only problem we had was that the hotel was very quiet, which may sound silly, but you could literally hear what was going on in the next room. We were out at a concert that night and came back very late, had to sneak in (like when you lived at home : ) ), and then try to keep our laptop tv quiet. We were also disappointed in the "no tv" in the room thing. HOWEVER, if you are looking for a TRUE getaway-this is your place! Amazing caretakers and staff. They were beautiful people who genuinely seemed to care about you. I loved them! They even did chocolate chip cookies and drinks for the guests that night : )

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank areick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Great stay this week at Southmoreland on the Plaza. Owners are very accomodating with most request and questions.The property is well kept and clean. It's very secure 24/7 and quiet the two nights we stayed mid-week. The Plaza is to the southwest of the property by 3 to 4 blocks, walking distance on nice days. Parking is tight in the rear of the Southmoreland and actual bedrooms are in proportion to the the cost per night.. Over all we had a nice stay on a couple of rainy days in Kansas City.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VRBOTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.8 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 111 in Kansas City
1,204 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.4 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southmoreland on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southmoreland on the Plaza

Address: 116 E 46th St, Kansas City, MO 64112-1702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kansas City
Price Range: $213 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southmoreland on the Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Southmoreland on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southmoreland On The Plaza Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing