We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“southmoreland - ok but” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southmoreland on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southmoreland on the Plaza
Ranked #3 of 12 Kansas City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“southmoreland - ok but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

Stayed in Carriage House, room was warm, had an unusual smell in entry way, but it was clean, spacious, with comfortable chairs and worn antiques. Bed was mushy with polyester sheets. Bath worked, adequate number of towels, grounds and public spaces were very nice and breakfast and service were fine. Location is excellent. The owners have a very strict cancellation policy; a death in the family required me to leave a day before I planned. They refused any consideration for this - no exception to their cancellation policy - and required me to pay half of the room price for the night we didn't stay, since they didn't book the room. Maybe this is standard policy for BB's but it seemed rigid to me, and didn't make me inclined to return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timetoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    25
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
19
128
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

I loved this B and B. The food was amazing and the surroundings even more incredible. Parking is VERY tight, but they tell you this ahead of time. They are very strict about it b/c the parking is tight everywhere. The owners were incredibly accomodating. We showed up and early and they let us park and enter our room early. The only problem we had was that the hotel was very quiet, which may sound silly, but you could literally hear what was going on in the next room. We were out at a concert that night and came back very late, had to sneak in (like when you lived at home : ) ), and then try to keep our laptop tv quiet. We were also disappointed in the "no tv" in the room thing. HOWEVER, if you are looking for a TRUE getaway-this is your place! Amazing caretakers and staff. They were beautiful people who genuinely seemed to care about you. I loved them! They even did chocolate chip cookies and drinks for the guests that night : )

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank areick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

Great stay this week at Southmoreland on the Plaza. Owners are very accomodating with most request and questions.The property is well kept and clean. It's very secure 24/7 and quiet the two nights we stayed mid-week. The Plaza is to the southwest of the property by 3 to 4 blocks, walking distance on nice days. Parking is tight in the rear of the Southmoreland and actual bedrooms are in proportion to the the cost per night.. Over all we had a nice stay on a couple of rainy days in Kansas City.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VRBOTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

After reading all of the positive reviews on line, and the fact that this bed and breakfast was located so near the Country Club Plaza in Kansas City, I was expecting a blissful stay. I was a bit disappointed. The staff and owners were very welcoming, friendly, accomodating, grounds were very pretty and peaceful, the food was average, however, we were disappointed with the room, which is where we spent most of our time. It was small in size for the price and had no TV or radio. There is no temperature control per room and at night we had to open the windows to get air since the air appeared to have been turned off or on a timer. Parking was very cramped. This would probably be a gorgeous place to hold a bridal shower or small BBQ event, however, next time I want a romantic evening, I will probably spend the $$ on a very posh hotel and have just as good a time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasCitySoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, MO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

My girlfriend and I made the trip up from St. Louis and could not have been happier with the accomodations. We stayed in the Carriage House. The staff were very friendly and accomodating and the room was perfect. It was clean and very spacious. The parking area is small but that was the only drawback. You are literally a couple blocks away from the plaza and an easy 5 minute walk. The breakfast was delicious as well.

Definitely worth the money and I would stay there again and recommend it to others.

-Chuck C.
St. Louis

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck74252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

My husband and I both loved our stay at Southmoreland on the Plaza!! Southmoreland on the Plaza provided the best of personal care and service. Our stay was very welcoming, heartwarming, comfortable and romantic. This was our first of many stays in a B&B and our first of many stays at Southmoreland. It was a wonderful getaway from home and located right in the heart of many attractions (Nelson Atkins Museum, Plaza). We enjoyed all of the common rooms and outdoor deck. The personal jacuzzi and personal deck was very romantic and relaxing. The afternoon crab dip/crackers, the late night hot drink and cookies, and the gourmet breakfast were delicious and mouth watering. Each room is decorated and named after famous historic people of Kansas City, which brought history and personalization to our stay. We were spoiled with turn down service and chocolates. It was the perfect getaway from our busy everyday lives!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlehands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

Flew into KC and rented a car. Found the Plaza with well positiioned hwy signs. Parking was tight but sufficient. Room was roooomy and comfortable. Choices of rooms to eat in, yet! Airy with many windows. Pastry baked by HIM was just delicious and the whole breakfast experiene from table and polite mannerware, flatware, china, just class!! Hospitality was first rate with nice people skills and polite manner, yet they weren't "all over you like some Innkeepers."

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirksville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southmoreland on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southmoreland on the Plaza

Property: Southmoreland on the Plaza
Address: 116 E. 46th St., Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southmoreland on the Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Southmoreland on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southmoreland On The Plaza Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing