We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southmoreland on the Plaza
Ranked #3 of 11 Kansas City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I visited Southmoreland recently for our anniversary. What a great place for a getaway! We truely enjoyed our fantastic hosts! In addition, this B&B is located within walking distance to the plaza on a quiet side street. The rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable. Delicious home cooked breakfast awaited us each morning. We stayed in the Jacob Loose room on the second floor and enjoyed reading on the private balcony. This is an exceptionally well run B&B. You will not be disappointed booking a room with these great hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSRancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Southmoreland on the Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 225 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Southmoreland was the best B&B we've stayed in in Kansas City. The location is central to the city and within walking distance of the Plaza and Nelson Atkins (and many other things if you're willing to walk). Our room was nice and nicely kept. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and very creative.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dondejuann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at Southmoreland on the Plaza. We are experienced travelers, having stayed in every kind of accommodation in many countries. This inn is at the top of our list of places to stay. From check-in, with wine and hot snacks, through warm cookies at night to a gourmet breakfast, our only negative was that we had to leave to go home! :-). Excellent innkeepers make your stay personable, while respecting your privacy. This is the best place to stay in KC!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurieM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My friend who found the Southmoreland, certainly came up with a winner! We like to have a central place to gather and chat and there were multiple places to do just that. The staff was very helpful, and the breakfasts delicious especially the Saturday patio one, described in another post.
It was nice to "come home" in the afternoon to wine and appetizers, and then later wonderful cookies.
Conveniently located near the Country Club Plaza, so shopping and dining were within easy walking distance. Also the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art is very close by.
Our rooms were quiet, however if stairs are an issue this may not be the place for you, especially the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank illinilass_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently stayed at Southmoreland for a long weekend getaway. The accommodations were excellent with staff and food being equally amazing. The Saturday patio breakfast with molasses marinated pork chops and French toast made from croissants and smothered in bourbon maple syrup with peaches was over the top! The short walk to visit the shops on the plaza allowed us to not have to have a car until are final departure. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed on two different rooms and all have equal amenities. All very lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay and an excellent breakfast. The sausage ws great and the eggs could not have been better. We had fresh home-made yogurt with fresh fruit. The coffee was very good. The Chocolate chip cookies served as a late night snack made up for a very mediocre meal we had in Westport that night.
The inn is tucked away on a side street and is quiet and cozy. It is much better than paying to stay in a hotel!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank DeWitt65101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My son share this wonderful place me and my wife. He proposed to our daughter-in-law here and both had returned several times raving how great it was. My wife and I finally arranged to get away to see if it was everything they said it was. Well, we spent three nights here and enjoyed it tremendously. The owners and staff were very hospitable. The breakfast they serve each morning were excellent. They made the experience. It is walking distances to the museums, wonderful parks and the famous Plaza. We will go back. Thanks Mark and Nancy for being so friendly and making this a great time. See you in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 109 in Kansas City
724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,161 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southmoreland on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southmoreland on the Plaza

Address: 116 E 46th St, Kansas City, MO 64112-1702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kansas City
Price Range: $207 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southmoreland on the Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Southmoreland on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southmoreland On The Plaza Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing