We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girlfriend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southmoreland on the Plaza
Ranked #3 of 12 Kansas City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Martinsburg, WV
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Girlfriend getaway”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My friend who found the Southmoreland, certainly came up with a winner! We like to have a central place to gather and chat and there were multiple places to do just that. The staff was very helpful, and the breakfasts delicious especially the Saturday patio one, described in another post.
It was nice to "come home" in the afternoon to wine and appetizers, and then later wonderful cookies.
Conveniently located near the Country Club Plaza, so shopping and dining were within easy walking distance. Also the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art is very close by.
Our rooms were quiet, however if stairs are an issue this may not be the place for you, especially the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illinilass_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    25
    8
    1
    6
See reviews for
19
132
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ava, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently stayed at Southmoreland for a long weekend getaway. The accommodations were excellent with staff and food being equally amazing. The Saturday patio breakfast with molasses marinated pork chops and French toast made from croissants and smothered in bourbon maple syrup with peaches was over the top! The short walk to visit the shops on the plaza allowed us to not have to have a car until are final departure. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed on two different rooms and all have equal amenities. All very lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, MO
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a very comfortable stay and an excellent breakfast. The sausage ws great and the eggs could not have been better. We had fresh home-made yogurt with fresh fruit. The coffee was very good. The Chocolate chip cookies served as a late night snack made up for a very mediocre meal we had in Westport that night.
The inn is tucked away on a side street and is quiet and cozy. It is much better than paying to stay in a hotel!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DeWitt65101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My son share this wonderful place me and my wife. He proposed to our daughter-in-law here and both had returned several times raving how great it was. My wife and I finally arranged to get away to see if it was everything they said it was. Well, we spent three nights here and enjoyed it tremendously. The owners and staff were very hospitable. The breakfast they serve each morning were excellent. They made the experience. It is walking distances to the museums, wonderful parks and the famous Plaza. We will go back. Thanks Mark and Nancy for being so friendly and making this a great time. See you in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Southmoreland is a charming victorian style B&B. The hosts were very accommodating. It is a nice touch that they serve wine and an appetizer for arriving guests after check in.We actually had one of the smaller rooms which had great character, and we were very comfortable. The only negative was the bathroom mirror. The glass is old and it was hard to see. But to help they have a smaller mirror that you can extend. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The best and most important part was the the morning environment and breakfast. We choose our b&b's for this part of our stay. They have a breakfast porch that is bright and sunny overlooking the back grounds which are beautiful. I look forward to returning in the warmer weather so that we can enjoy their decks and lovely grounds, although, some of the rooms have fireplaces as an advantage for winter stays. You can't beat that! It is an easy walk to the plaza as well! Just loved the feel of the whole experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieWichita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I had a very nice stay here after going to see Fleetwood Mac in concert. The staff and owners were delightful and helpful. We were greeted upon arrival with a short explanation of how and when things worked followed by sparkling white wine and chips with homemade black bean dip. Cookies and chocolate in the room when we came back that night was a welcome treat. Breakfast was very good as well. Close to plaza area and Nelson art gallery.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My flights to Kansas City were cancelled (the day of the trip, obviously). Refund policy: must pay 100% of first night; pay 50% of fees for all remaining reserved nights unless room is rebooked. In sum: because of UA's cancelled flights, I am now paying this hotel upwards of $250 for the pleasure of having made a reservation through their website. I do think it's critically important to support local businesses, but I won't be making reservations at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southmoreland, Owner at Southmoreland on the Plaza, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello and thank you for your note. We are sorry that your flight was cancelled as we were looking forward to serving you during your three day stay in Kansas City.

We are a bit surprised that you felt uninformed about the details of our policy. The cancellation policy is outlined on our website. Secondly, in order to make an on-line reservation, guests are asked to read the terms of the cancellation policy and must agree to it before the reservation can be made. Thirdly, we email a confirmation note to the guest outlining the policy applicable to their reservation. We do our utmost to share this and in no way attempt to hide it in fine print.

We do understand that cancellations are frequently due to circumstances out of the guest’s control but they are out of the Inn’s control as well. To minimize any cancellation fee we are very diligent in attempting to rebook cancelled rooms by contacting our wait list and ensuring the room is immediately made available for online booking. Should a potential guest call we make sure to include the cancelled room in our description of the available inventory. In your case we were able to rebook one of the three nights reducing the total charge by $65!!

While the circumstances are unfortunate we feel we have acted in good faith. So, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future and we hope that the airlines were able to readdress your travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 109 in Kansas City
704 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,134 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southmoreland on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southmoreland on the Plaza

Property: Southmoreland on the Plaza
Address: 116 E 46th St, Kansas City, MO 64112-1702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southmoreland on the Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Southmoreland on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southmoreland On The Plaza Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing