We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southmoreland on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southmoreland on the Plaza
Ranked #3 of 12 Kansas City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Have stayed many times here. Staff is friendly and helpful. They have a great gourmet breakfast and a beautiful porch Walking distance to the plaza and a museum. Lots of nice extras included like wine and appetizers on arrival, Chocolates in the room, etc. Just wonderful

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cammy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    23
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
19
118
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Southmoreland is a great place to stay close to many Kansas City attractions. It is in walking distance of the Nelson-Atkins Museum plus a short drive to the Plaza for shopping and restaurants. Innkeepers Nancy and Mark are always welcoming and helpful. The food is excellent from appetizer and wine on arrival to the wonderful breakfast. It is a place we stay often and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed in the Carriage House for a long weekend. Top notch. One of the best B&B's we have stayed at. Great food, great service and just a well run Inn. I was worries that this might feel a little "corporate" since it was larger than the B&B's we normally stay at, but they did a wonderful job of making us feel welcome and as if we were one of the very few guests. Wine and cheese was nice and the breakfasts were outstanding. Parking is tight and when it snowed it was challenging getting in and out, but much better than being on the street I guess.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank przeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My hubby and I were looking for a place to stay that was not so far from home but still felt as if we had been whisked miles away. Well we found that in Southmoreland. Beautiful, classy with a very friendly and highly professional staff. We felt as if we'd come to stay with family. They treated us like royalty. We stayed in the Claire and Russel Stover room and we loved it!!! Nancy and Mark are the best host and hostess their staff is bar none. We had a breakfast that had been featured on the Food Network the ginger waffles with lemon cream sauce. We were in heaven. There were home made cookies. The lovely hors d'oeuvres, sherry in our room and the amazing whirlpool tub for two are just a few of this place's many charms. We will definitely be coming back. This place is amazing!!! Mark is a 5 star cook and he and Nancy run what is in our opinion a 5 star inn!

Room Tip: Upstairs room are quieter as you can barely hear conversations and no footsteps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpryss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed for a three day event with a group of entrepreneurs from PIPELINE, and surprise! We got hit with a foot of snow, cancelling all our travel events and dumping us all unexpectedly on Nancy and Mark for the duration. Snowed in, they pivoted on their plans and accomodated us in brilliant and memory-of-a-lifetime style. The B&B is so cozy, relaxing, and beautiful, and the food all so over-the-top-great that I can't say enough. Stay at this place when you are in KC!!

Room Tip: They offer a fitness collaboration nearby; I didn't use it because we were snowed in. All the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I'm so glad I took a local's recommendation for Southmoreland. They said it was the best inn in KC and they were correct. Breakfasts can't be beat, fire in the fireplace, staff that is so friendly, rooms that are spot on clean and well furnished. A newspaper is delivered to you door every morning (I have little praise for the KC newspaper, however). The place has an authentic feel, unlike many inns that are dolled up and feel fake. I will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem terrific. I had the smallest and it even had a small porch for sitting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCGPHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Southmoreland many times. Each and every experience has been positive. We love the comfortable and private rooms! Mark's breakfasts are to die for! Each and every staff person is so warm and welcoming. This weekend we hosted a group of 13 couples at the Southmoreland. Each couple in our group couldn't say enough positive things regarding the weekend. We loved it and we will be back next year with 13 additional couples. If you are looking for a bed and breakfast in Kansas City, The Southmoreland is the place to be!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PioneerPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#14 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southmoreland on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southmoreland on the Plaza

Property: Southmoreland on the Plaza
Address: 116 E 46th St, Kansas City, MO 64112-1702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southmoreland on the Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Southmoreland on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southmoreland On The Plaza Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing