We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“5 Star Staycation!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southmoreland on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southmoreland on the Plaza
Ranked #3 of 12 Kansas City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 Star Staycation!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My hubby and I were looking for a place to stay that was not so far from home but still felt as if we had been whisked miles away. Well we found that in Southmoreland. Beautiful, classy with a very friendly and highly professional staff. We felt as if we'd come to stay with family. They treated us like royalty. We stayed in the Claire and Russel Stover room and we loved it!!! Nancy and Mark are the best host and hostess their staff is bar none. We had a breakfast that had been featured on the Food Network the ginger waffles with lemon cream sauce. We were in heaven. There were home made cookies. The lovely hors d'oeuvres, sherry in our room and the amazing whirlpool tub for two are just a few of this place's many charms. We will definitely be coming back. This place is amazing!!! Mark is a 5 star cook and he and Nancy run what is in our opinion a 5 star inn!

Room Tip: Upstairs room are quieter as you can barely hear conversations and no footsteps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpryss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    24
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
19
124
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
KC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed for a three day event with a group of entrepreneurs from PIPELINE, and surprise! We got hit with a foot of snow, cancelling all our travel events and dumping us all unexpectedly on Nancy and Mark for the duration. Snowed in, they pivoted on their plans and accomodated us in brilliant and memory-of-a-lifetime style. The B&B is so cozy, relaxing, and beautiful, and the food all so over-the-top-great that I can't say enough. Stay at this place when you are in KC!!

Room Tip: They offer a fitness collaboration nearby; I didn't use it because we were snowed in. All the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I'm so glad I took a local's recommendation for Southmoreland. They said it was the best inn in KC and they were correct. Breakfasts can't be beat, fire in the fireplace, staff that is so friendly, rooms that are spot on clean and well furnished. A newspaper is delivered to you door every morning (I have little praise for the KC newspaper, however). The place has an authentic feel, unlike many inns that are dolled up and feel fake. I will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem terrific. I had the smallest and it even had a small porch for sitting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCGPHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Southmoreland many times. Each and every experience has been positive. We love the comfortable and private rooms! Mark's breakfasts are to die for! Each and every staff person is so warm and welcoming. This weekend we hosted a group of 13 couples at the Southmoreland. Each couple in our group couldn't say enough positive things regarding the weekend. We loved it and we will be back next year with 13 additional couples. If you are looking for a bed and breakfast in Kansas City, The Southmoreland is the place to be!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PioneerPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have stayed here once before in the Carriage House. Decided to spend a night in one of the rooms in the main house to give it a shot. The house itself is located close to the Plaza and all it has to offer. The common areas of the house are well-appointed and relaxing. The sun porch is particularly inviting. Light fare is served every night, along with wine - a nice touch. The rooms in the main home are well decorated and the bedding very comfortable. Complimentary Sherry also a nice touch on the nightstand. The room itself could use a bit of a touch-up (i.e. spider cracking along the walls in the bedroom and in bathroom, etc.). I understand this is an old home, but as with all old homes it needs CONSTANT repair, and this home could use a bit of a touch-up in those areas to be on par with some of the other Select Registry B&Bs I have stayed at. Also, be warned that the walls are pretty thin in the house and each room does not have its own thermostat - this made for a somewhat restless night as it was warmer than I would have liked and other guests were heard arguing in the middle of the night. Another minus was the "honor box" for snacks and drinks. At the Select Registry B&Bs I have stayed at before they offer this sort of thing gratis. The cost should just be absorbed in the the price of the room to stay on par with the sophistication that they are striving for. Breakfast was wonderful, and we enjoyed it. The owners were there in the morning, and were nice to converse with. The outdoor cats are always an attraction. All in all I wish there was another Select Registry B&B in the KC area to compete, but this will do the job in a pinch.

Room Tip: The Carriage House will offer you all the privacy you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbzippy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our first time to celebrate our anniversary. We loved it and had a wonderful time. I would recommend this place to anyone. The owners and staff are friendly and very helpful. Rooms are great and the breakfast was wonderful! The only negative thing is that parking is tight. It's easy walking distance to the shops on the plaza. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedBarron6420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I gave the Mary Atkins room as a surprise (late) Christmas gift to my husband last year. It was perfect! They had homemade brie and crackers set out to enjoy as we checked in, and beautiful music played throughout the house to set a relaxing, and romantic tone. We enjoyed our cozy room (perfect for two, no more) so much! The breakfast was wonderful as well, with a candied pear of some sort and some other delicious things I can't even remember the names of. Also, not only was there a bottle of cherie in the room along with a basket of apples to enjoy, but there were chocolates on our pillow when we arrived back from dinner!! We LOVED that and seriously made us feel so special. We loved it so much and it was the perfect romantic gettaway!!

Room Tip: The Mary Atkins room we stayed in had a nice balcony, but not much room. It was perfect for the two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHolt4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 113 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southmoreland on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southmoreland on the Plaza

Property: Southmoreland on the Plaza
Address: 116 E. 46th St., Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southmoreland on the Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Southmoreland on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southmoreland On The Plaza Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing