We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer on the inside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #77 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nicer on the inside”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn across from Arrowhead Stadium. We picked this hotel based off having a priority club card as well as the FREE shuttle to the game the next day.
The outside of the hotel is very dated and looks run down. They are working on updating the inside of the hotel but there are still some problems.
The walls are very, EXTREMELY, thin. We had a tough time sleeping due to the people below us partying all night. We called numerous times about this and since the walls are so thin no one could determine the exact location of the noise. Took over an hour to find the source.
The Wi-Fi is extremely slow and will disconnects you very often... very irritating.
Our bathroom was in poor condition as well. The mirror is disproportional for the wall and is very small. Our shower curtain had many holes and the water was cold. (We told front desk about the water and nothing was even attempted to be fixed.)
Breakfast was mediocre. There are a lot of choices but all are just okay in quality and quantity.
Overall our stay was okay. But by far not the best, or worse, of our stays at other Holiday Inns. They seem to be trying to make it better but it is a slow process.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lluetchford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria D, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I do apologize for the noise level at the hotel; sold out nights to tend to get a little loud as fans are excited about game day. I can assure you that your experience will be addressed with the management staff so that the issues you experienced can be resolved. I hope that you enjoyed the shuttle ride to the game and hopefully you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    180
    184
    149
    187
See reviews for
479
105
25
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Well for starters front desk was polite and accommodating to my needs, however after staying the first night I became little frustrated, my housekeeper was rude and not willing to be patient. She knocked on my door around 10 am and my kids and I were preparing to go to the waterpark, so I asked her could she come back later. (with a snotty attitude) she says how long because I have to be outta here at 3 o clock. I told her an hour. We were at the waterpark for a few hours, when we returned to the room it still hadnt been cleaned, I had no fresh towels, the phone in my room wasn't working so I headed down to the front desk to complain, on my way I ran into another housekeeper in the hall, I believe she said her name was Latoya, she came and cleaned my room and provided me and my children with fresh towels and a good laugh. She was nothing like the young lady who knocked on my door that morning. She was patient and sympathetic and very polite. I never made it down to front desk to complain about the other young lady because Latoya went so far out of her way to fix my issue that I saw no need to complain about the service. However I did eat at the tradewinds restaurant and the food was disgusting and cold. But all things considered the stay was cool, but they need to fire miss Courtney the housekeeper from hell.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilesatdatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria D, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I do apologize for the unacceptable service that you received from Courtney and this will definately be addressed with her. However, I am so very glad that Latoya was able to provide the customer service that we do stand by here at our property. I am also happy the the front desk was polite and accommodating. We are also addressing the issues with the restaurant as it is under new management. I do hope that you come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed 11/24 and 11/25 for Chiefs/Broncos game. Great location for taking in a game. We were upgraded to a suite which was a nice surprise however the suite was dated. Small fridge was really old, freezer was full of ice (needed to be defrosted). Leg on table was broken. Room was dusty. No ice machine on 15th floor. Luke warm water in shower. Size of the suite was great though. We ate the breakfast buffet before the game due to how busy the restaurant was, we were afraid to order from menu as not sure how long it would take. The food was terrible and overpriced. At $13.99 per person for wet runny eggs, biscuits and gravy and paper thin over cooked bacon, not a good deal. Would much rather have had a free continental breakfast you may get at any other similar hotel, which typically aren't too bad. The fresh fruit was the only edible item. Not worth the price to only eat fruit.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria D, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor with us. I do apologize for the food not being up to our standards for your breakfast meal. I will definately review this with our new Food & Beverage Director. I am sure that this will be rectified. I am glad that we were able to upgrade you to one of our suites as the view of the twin stadiums is spectacular. Hopefully you will come back and visit us again for another game.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

With no real restaurants very close by you would think they would have good or at least decent food. It is so bad my dog who travelled with us wouldn't eat it,
The buffet looked like leftovers that were just reheated and hoped to get by with. It made airline food seem like a gourmet dinner in comparison.
When our server pointed out the "chef" he was a slovenly ungroomed portly man who showed no pride in himself let alone the food he prepared.
We ended up going to Denny's which was the nearest eatery but when you are at the hotel for 3 days you would expect more.
I suggest you bring in fast food with you if you decide to stay here.

Room Tip: Just don't eat here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank criticalsuccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria D, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
criticalsuccess - I am so sorry that you did not enjoy the food at the hotel. We normally have very good feedback on our food. I will share your experience with the management staff. Thank you and have an ejoyable day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kansas City hotels

Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed here after attending the Chiefs/Raiders game on 10/28. We went to the bar/lounge after checking in to watch the game on TV and get something to eat. The bar was packed and they only had two people working. Service? Forget about it, we waited at the bar just to get a beer for 20 minutes. They had no security watching the doors, drunk fans were stumbling in all night. One of them decided to take a drink out of my pitcher of beer and then pick a fight with me when I asked him what he thought he was doing. When I complained to the staff, they informed me there was nothing they could do as they don't have any security at the hotel except for one guy who is hired to watch the parking lot only.
After about 30 minutes of this they told me they would comp my room for my trouble. Since I booked online they said I would need to contact the web company for my refund. I returned home, contacted the web company who then called the hotel. The manager at the hotel told them they would NOT comp the room and had no record of my complaint.
Needless to say besides the awful service, the dirty hotel room and the amount of noise in the hallways I highly recommend avoiding this hotel. Probably one of the single worst stays I've ever had in my life!

Room Tip: Try the Drury Inn across the street. Stayed there a couple times and it was great. I would've st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria D, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Jeff D. - I do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay here. It was extremely busy in the bar the night that you stayed and I do apologize that someone took a drink out of your beer. I do hope that you did receive your refund from your third party company as I have instructed them to refund you. Unfortunately, since you did not pay us directly they are responsible for any refunds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Also stayed for the Chiefs game. Sheets were dirty. Room service did come within the hour and changed the sheet. The shower curtain rod was broken. Engineering never came to fix it. When u take a shower the floor gets wet because the shower curtain slid all over the place. Parking was horrible. Elevators were slow. I was on the 14 th floor and it was quicker to take the stairs. Front desk was okay. They were busy so I guess this was the best they could do. Only stayed 1 night thank goodness. Then drove to St Louis and stayed at the Hyatt. No comparison. I haven't stayed at many Holiday Inns. If this is an example of what they are like, I will not start. Never heard from the manager about our stay. Very sad!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corshe32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria D, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We will review your comments with our Housekeeping and Engineering management team to ensure that we are able to meet our goal in providing a clean and comfortable experience for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was sitting in a chair at the dining table when the arm of the chair fell off, i therefore had an accident. The only good part of my stay was how helpful and friendly the front desk guy Bill was at resolving the issue. He was extremely friendly and helpful..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcmoguy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria D, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I do aplogize for the experience that you had here at our hotel. I am glad that Bill was able to provide great service for you. It was also great getting to speak with you personally on Saturday night after staying an additional two more nights at our property. Hopefully you and your friends will be able to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Stadium
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Kansas City - Sports Complex
0.5 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#23 of 109 in Kansas City
603 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
3.0 mi away
Best Western Truman Inn
Best Western Truman Inn
#5 of 18 in Independence
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 9103 E 39th St, Kansas City, MO 64133-1110 (Formerly Holiday Inn Kansas City SE - Waterpark)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adam's Mark of Kansas City is a full-service hotel and conference center located on the Southeastern side of Kansas City, MO. Our location is adjacent to the Truman Sports Complex, home of the Kansas City Chiefs and Royals. The Adam's Mark of Kansas City offers over 369 well appointed rooms and 17,000 sq. ft. of event and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kansas City Se - Waterpark Hotel Kansas City
Sheraton Kansas City
Kansas City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing