We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny! Lots of pennies”
Review of Bluestem

Bluestem
Reserve with OpenTable
Bluestem is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 1,422 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Roanoke
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth every penny! Lots of pennies”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Dined at Bluestem with family and friends. This was our first time at Bluestem and the wine, décor, cuisine was excellent. Would recommend to family and friends

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FriendlyAdvisor44535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    32
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Will return again and again...”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

AMAZING EXPERIENCE
My husband and I had gone to Bluestem 3 years ago and loved it; we just now made it back, and if anything it just gets better. The food was amazing (did the five-course selection). Yes, the portions are smaller, but they're very filling. There wasn't a single dish or sample I tried that didn't feel like an explosion of flavor in my mouth. I also did the wine pairing (extra $40). Some might consider this a bit pricey, but I was very glad I did, the gentleman who paired my wines was friendly and definitely knew his stuff, as did our waiter. Every waiter here works together to make sure you have fresh silverware for every course, a fresh glass, a full water cup, everything. It's pricey but worth it for a romantic night out or trying something new with friends.

WHO WOULD LOVE IT
Anyone who loves trying unique flavors and wants a 5-star experience in Kansas City. Someone who's looking to spend an hour and 45 minutes (which we did!) just enjoying dinner and conversation.

WHO WOULD HATE IT
Anyone who isn't comfortable potentially spending $100+ on a meal, likes bigger portions and a doggy bag, or doesn't care for more "unique" flavors.

BEST PART
The best part is split between the wait staff and the food itself. The food is amazing, but the wait staff know their stuff, whether it's where the cheese came from or how the meat was cooked and with what. They were all so friendly and quick to take care of anything we needed.

We will return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Went to the Bluestem for my daughters birthday. What a wonderful eating experience! I have been to several 5 star restaurants and this is as good if not better.The waiter was fantastic. He even doubles as an artist in his spare time. Notice the sculpture/picture on the wall it is his. We chose the 5 course tasting menu. Very creative. You get to choose from the menu what you want for each course. All the food was excellent. Presentation was perfect right down to all plates set down at once. An experience all should enjoy at least once! A great place for date night or special occasion. Not a place for young children. Loved it! I hope to go back next time I am in KC.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen56_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very close to 5 stars”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I've written before that a 5 star rating should indicate a restaurant that is a once-in-a-lifetime experience. This restaurant is probably as close as I will ever get to a true 5-star.
Food was excellent...excellently prepared and excellently presented. I had the hangar steak, my wife had the salmon. Both perfectly done. Pea soup was probably the best pea soup I've ever had (and yes, I have eaten at Pea Soup Anderson's).
A caveat...this is not a cheap place and the servings are not Applebees quantity. However, for a special occasion, I'd highly recommend it. Chef Garrelts has won the "Best Chef in the Midwest" award from James Beard and truly deserves it, based on the meal we had.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kcmoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Husband and I dined at Bluestem for my birthday. What a wonderful experience. We are not from the area, but every so often I seriously get the urge to make the 6 hour drive so I can dine here again. If you get the chance - Dine at Bluestem. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyReviews234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluestem also viewed

 

Been to Bluestem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing