We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Q39

Q39
Ranked #1 of 1,400 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We read about this restaurant while it was being built. Just by reading the article we knew that we would want to try it. Our daughter lives close by and had tried it a couple of times and said it was good. Well she was right, it was very good. It is a higher end BBQ restaurant with table service. The food was great, brisket melted in my mouth. My daughter had some of the macaroni and cheese and it was very good. Our service that we received was great. It's just a nice atmosphere with great food at a reasonable price. Look forward to going back there!

Helpful?
Thank trsabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    999
    273
    83
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not you typical KC barbecue!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Full disclosure: My business is next door to Q39, and I've met the owner, so maybe I'm a little biased. That said, we have eaten at Q39 at least once per week since they opened, and have yet to be disappointed. Everything is good, and the sauce- with hints of honey, berries, and heat- is a fantastic reinterpretation of traditional BBQ.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReineoftheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
1,029 reviews
609 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“This place was outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Four of us dropped in for a late lunch and left amazed. The pulled pork was stunning, the brisket tender and nicely smoked, the spare ribs were perfect. Sides of white bean cassoulet, potato salad, and french fries were very good. The starter was a cheese fondue with pretzel bread and sliced apples. It was so good that we took BBQ sauce home, and a take out menu. We will definitely be back again and again.

The beer and wine selection was actually quite a nice surprise for a BBQ place. It was clean and quick a the food was hot. Very nice parking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JimOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“An excellent addition to the KC BBQ scene!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

This was a great lunch! Their menu reminded us of a combination gastropub and BBQ restaurant. My husband loved the burnt end burger and I thoroughly enjoyed the no jackin' around pork sandwich. The beer menu was also large with great craft brew selections. We will definitely be back - again and again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
175 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

I had the combo lunch which included a sampling of ribs, brisket and chicken. The chicken was somewhat dry but the ribs and brisket were very good. The ribs were so good that we ordered an extra small plate of ribs to share.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ned M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Q39 also viewed

 

Been to Q39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing