We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I arrived late at night to find that my...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Ranked #44 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Williamsburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I arrived late at night to find that my...”
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I arrived late at night to find that my hotel room was given away. When I explained that I reserved a certain room type, the manager responded this other room is all I have for you. So I look online for availability and wow, to my surprise, it was still available, so I called customer service & they confirmed it was still available and that they would call the hotel. They came back on the line & said there is an error, the room is not available but they will give you free breakfast for the mixup. It was late & I was left without a choice, so I checked in. Extremely small corner room! I saw something in the toilet but just to make sure, I asked my wife to look. The toilet had rust inside that made it look like the guest in front of us or housekeeping forgot to flush the toilet. The lady at checkout was very short with us when we asked her a simple question. If this hotel treats priority club members like this, I would've hated to stay here and experience how a non priority club member is treated.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    200
    112
    46
    33
See reviews for
60
183
45
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Usually when I think of a Holiday Inn, boring comes to mind, but this was far from what I was expecting. Plush beds, modern decor and within walking distance to the Power and Light district... very cute, almost like Alice in Wonderland. Next time we visit for a Cards/Royals game we will stay here. Go Cards!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2cardsfans05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtimmons, Manager at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Dear 2cardsfans05,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Aladdin. We value every comment we receive from our guests. Know that you are welcome back any time you are in KC!

Sincerely,
Jim Timmons/Guest Service Manager
Aladdin Holiday Inn - Kansas City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
264 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Just returned from a long football weekend in KC. We choose to stay at the Alladin Holiday Inn due of the reviews on TA. We decided we wanted to be in an area where there was a lot of bars/restaurants within walking distance (Power & Light District) and were not disappointed by this. The hotel was easy to find and conveniently located just outside of the P&L District.

The hotel is an older/historic building. I like that about it. Has some "charm". The rooms are small as stated in other reviews, so wasn't surprised by that. The size was fine for 2 people. There was a small closet. The room was lite well. Though our window looked out onto a brick wall of the next door hotel (Marriott). I would recommend asking for a view.

The bathroom was nicely updated, though small. The shower (no rub) had excellent water pressure, though it was small too. The bed was probably my biggest complaint - it was a bit firm for me. There was a flat screen tv (but no HD); a comfortable chair, desk and free wifi.

The room was not greatly sound proof - so I heard people returning on our floor at 3am. Tip - as for something a bit more quiet if you are a light sleeper.

The staff was welcoming at check-in - we were offered free champange (how can you beat that?). The bellmen were nice as well.

We found free parking near the hotel without a problem.

We did have a few "bumps" - when we booked online the rate said it included breakfast. We were given the coupons when we checked in and thought it was one coupon per room per day (3 nights = 3 coupons). Well apparently the coupon is per person. So we were told it was only one free breakfast with our rate and that the other person would have to pay for the breakfast. Very odd, since we've stayed at many Holiday Inns and never had this problem. After speaking with the front desk and manager, we were given additional coupons, but it was really a hassle. They did give us 2 free dinner coupons to use as well, so they made up for the hassle.

Frankly, the food in general was mediocre. I'd recommend eating elsewhere. The dining staff at breakfast was excellent; the staff at dinner not that attentive.

There is a 2nd floor lounge/martini bar, that is nice. A business center with printer to print your boarding passes and a gym which is small but nicely appointed.

Overall, a good stay and I'd stay here again. The only thing that might deter me would be the bed. Since we had been offered the same rate to stay at the Hilton, which is about 2 blocks closer to the P&L District, I might stay there next time if I could get the same rate since the "free" breakfast wasn't really that great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Extremely friendly, helpful, welcoming, eager to do whatever is necessary to make a guest comfortable. I would gladly visit with them again.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DouglasT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Last weekend used Aladdin as home base for Yankees-Royals baseball weekend. Nice hotel, friendly staff who bend over backward to help newcomers enjoy KC (tip - doormen know much more than desk staff, ask them first), good modern rooms, small but generous mezzanine bar for "safe at home" nightcaps. Easy walk to Power & Light district & City Market (go early Sat morning, eat @ the counter @ Cascone's to avoid line & talk to the chefs), Starbucks @ next door hotel, bus stop across the street from that for easy touring w/o needing car. 28X bus takes you to ballpark for $1.50, $30 cab fare back, worth it both ways. Eat @ Jack's Stack bar. Check WX, it gets hot. Talk to other NY fans @ ballpark who come from all over the Midwest - for many KC is the closest MLB & they watch Yanks @ home on Direct TV, best Yankee fans out there. Short flight from east coast, worth it to see a town you may not go to otherwise. KC residents are very nice people and KC has tweaked its older buildings with modern architectural touches which are fun to observe while walking & busing around. Not a multiple visit place but definitely worth a weekend - last year we hit Cleveland for Yanks-Tribe and in spite of the heat KC has more to offer, Rock 'n Roll Hall of Fame not withstanding.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Washington_DCMws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We arrived on a Friday evening and were greeting by the manager Amy....she was super nice and gave us each a complimentary glass of champagne. We told her we had reservations to Bristols seafood a block away and she gave us a coupon for a free appetizer. Rainy night...so we decided to head back to the hotel....apparently if you are VIP guest you receive free dessert delivered ...We came back to pinnapple upside-down cake :-) After Wolfgang puck Coffee and dessert we stopped by the Martini bar- Barney the Bartendar was awesome!!! He made great drinks! Decor at the hotel was contemporary while keeping some of the historic aspects....Rooms are smaller than normal but they use the space so well you hardly notice. Beds/pillow were comfortable. Checkout 11am was a little early if you've been out all night.
Overall we would def go back to this fun hotel. We loved it!
***Side note if your in Kansas City The Boulevard Brewery gives free tours that includes free samples of their beers....a must if your love craft beer....and who doesn't love free :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The Aladdin is certainly aesthetically pleasing. It looks expensive and modern not only in the lobby but also the rooms. The employees upstairs were very nice - housekeeping and such. However, the front desk staff was a bit shrill and not very helpful.

The room was small but comfortable and the bedding was excellent - a great night's sleep (they even offer a pillow service). The hotel advertised 24hr. room service but when we tried to call at 11pm there was no answer (?). Three large windows in the room. Great view of the city! Excellent Location!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plishyploshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#13 of 108 in Kansas City
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#19 of 108 in Kansas City
1,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aladdin

Property: Holiday Inn Aladdin
Address: 1215 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1621 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Aladdin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this KC landmark has had an extensive historic preservation bringing back the original art deco ambiance with a vintage hip approach for a fresh look at yesterday. The Aladdin Holiday Inn Hotel is located in the heart of the downtown convention, business, financial and entertainment districts, and is connected to the KC Convention Center and Marriott. The Aladdin is also three blocks from the Sprint Center. We look forward to Welcoming you with a glass of champagne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aladdin Hotel Kansas City
Aladdin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing