We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming find in downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming find in downtown”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The Aladdin is certainly aesthetically pleasing. It looks expensive and modern not only in the lobby but also the rooms. The employees upstairs were very nice - housekeeping and such. However, the front desk staff was a bit shrill and not very helpful.

The room was small but comfortable and the bedding was excellent - a great night's sleep (they even offer a pillow service). The hotel advertised 24hr. room service but when we tried to call at 11pm there was no answer (?). Three large windows in the room. Great view of the city! Excellent Location!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plishyploshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    203
    113
    47
    33
See reviews for
60
185
46
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2010

In this bad economy you would think businesses receiving business would be want to show their appreciation. WRONG! This hotel is run by a large group of people that don't know the definition of customer service! It seems as though every encounter we had with them showed their incompetence. The only thing that went smoothly was our very first meeting with them. It was a breeze to get them on the phone, set up an appointment and tour the hotel. That was the only easy involvement we had with them. After that first meeting the sales rep Brandy was going to email us a contract and get us on the books. One of the amenities to the package we were buying was a suite for the bride and groom. Not only did we not hear back from Brandy but we had a very hard time getting a hold of her again. She would not return calls or emails. When we did finally get a hold of her to come in for our second meeting she stood us up! Can you believe it! She was out to lunch when we got there!! We had to meet with the chef instead. She never showed her face to even apologize. At that point we were very nervous about what we had gotten ourselves in to and we had to switch sales rep. The ball got dropped on the bride and groom suite they promised . All the suites were booked by the time we got in for that second meeting with them.
The next giant debacle we had was the room block! We were promised a large room block as well as they were suppose to be monitoring it to make sure to add more as needed. I received many calls from guest saying my room block was full. Every time I would here this I would get on the phone and call to see if they were correct. There is a line people call to make reservations as well as the front desk has a reservation log that you can view reservations. I made numerous phone calls to the reservations line and the front desk. The reservations agents computers all said my room block was full. But the Front desk at the hotel said our block was wide open. Each time I would call to resolved this problem the person at the front desk would say it was reservations problem. And then off course Reservations said it's the hotel's problem. The room block NEVER got fixed! Guest found other places to stay or paid full price. No one ever acted liked they cared or understood how we were being treated! The Aladdin went threw 3 chefs during this process of planning our event. By the time our event came our guest were served heat and serve food. We spend $400 on a frozen 8X10 cheesecake!!! If you going to charge $400 for a 8X10 cheesecake the least you could do is make it yourselves!! We even overheard the wait staff planning to order a pizza and add it to our tab! Not to mention there was a mis communication on our payment for the reception. We intended to pay with a check, not charge. The night before the reception we were informed that you have to have checks clear before the event. Which is completely reasonable. but since we were not informed that they treated us like we were not planning on paying at all! They told us that if we didn't have cash in the morning they would not open the doors or begin preparing our event!! All and All I can't say we have ever been treated worse! The Aladdin is a huge rip off considering the quality of food and service. If you are looking for an easy event space. This is NOT it!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VGovea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Both rooms were not particularly clean, one of the rooms had a slice of cake left on the desk from the previous occupant. There were air conditioning fans located outside on the roof below our window and these were noisy. We were in rooms located opposite each other and you could hear everything in each others rooms throught the air vents. It was actually possible to have a full blown conversation through them.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clowndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2010

This hotel is full of vibrant colors and contemporary art! It is a place that will brighten your mood, that's for sure. The staff is very friendly and the food is delicious!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

For the price, this hotel is great! The rooms and bathrooms are a little small, but still plenty of room to move around. The champagne at check-in was such a nice start to our stay. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was clean. Our window looked out to a brick wall, but it didn't really bother us. We got massages in the spa downstairs, which were amazing. I wasn't sure what to expect, it's just a little reception room with two tiny treatment rooms, but I was pleasantly surprised, it was one of the best massages I've ever had and the staff there was so nice. The hotel is in a great location, only a couple of blocks from the Power and Light District.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandigrace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Had a 4 nt. stay, I was fortunate to have a corner room (these rms. are larger), it was great!!! Staff is outstanding, helpful and the champagne upon arrival was appreciated. We were there for the Womens Big 12 Tourney, the arena is 1/2 blk. The location can't be beat, this is our 2nd time to stay with HI Aladdin, it won't be our last. Everyone in our group enjoyed there stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2010

This hotel has the worst customer service. We had a reception there for my sister. From day one it was a horrible experience. I would never recommend someone hold a big event here. Even the simple block of reservations we had set aside was messed up. Even after every mistake they NEVER made if better. They could have cared less we were getting less than perfect service.
At the reception the dirty food stations weren't picked up and we even overheard they're staff asking the bartender if they could put a pizza on our tab!
When it comes to the rooms......small, heard everything from the rooms around us and again poor service. Called for help getting our bags down and they never came! Top 10 unorganized hotel i have ever stayed with. After all it JUST a HOLIDAY INN!
I could go on all day!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blanton3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#22 of 109 in Kansas City
1,107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aladdin

Property: Holiday Inn Aladdin
Address: 1215 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1621 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Aladdin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this KC landmark has had an extensive historic preservation bringing back the original art deco ambiance with a vintage hip approach for a fresh look at yesterday. The Aladdin Holiday Inn Hotel is located in the heart of the downtown convention, business, financial and entertainment districts, and is connected to the KC Convention Center and Marriott. The Aladdin is also three blocks from the Sprint Center. We look forward to Welcoming you with a glass of champagne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aladdin Hotel Kansas City
Aladdin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing