We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tall, skinny, vintage and chic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Got a great rate for a great location - right in downtown Kansas City. Hotel is not a typical Holiday Inn at all! Very retro and chic decor. I loved my room with its retro look and unique shape. They made good use out of a kind of small area. The bed didn't seem that comfortable the first night, but the second night was fine (go figure). Cute "Martini Loft" on second floor for cocktails. Didn't try the restaurant but got room service and ordered two appetizers and they were huge portions for me and delicious. Parking across the street at the public garage was about $13 a day. All in all the hotel was a good value.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFCupCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Aladdin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 543 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2009

Yes, its Holiday Owned, but that's where the connection with HI ends. Elegant and small. Very good design blends modern features with art deco style. I booked a room for 59 bucks via price line. That was cheaper than the econolodge down the street.

I also stayed at the airport Rennaisance, and the airport Hilton on this trip. Neither compared to the Alladin. Finding this hotel was a blessing. Ill never stay any where else in KC. I travel a ton, and have very high standards. Number of outlets, cleanliness of everything etc. This place came as close to being perfect as the Ritz Carlton in orlando

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orlandoauction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnitsche, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2009

Thank you so much for your compliments and feedback. It's always wonderful to hear when a guest wants to stay with us again. It sounds like you received the unique level of service we strive to provide to each guest every day.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Kansas City and the Aladdin!

Yours in Hospitality,

Tiffany Nitsche
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

I would consider this more of a boutique hotel rather than your typical Holiday Inn. The rooms are quite small, but loaded with modern amenities and wonderful decor. My boyfriend really loved the shower, which featured two different types of shower-heads. The location was awesome, because it was walking distance to the downtown entertainment district. (KCP&L District) The only major problem we had was that the other guests were really drunk and rowdy.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chadior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

I stayed here as part of a wedding block and I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms have been recently remodeled and the bed was really comfortable. The room was clean, the A/C worked perfectly (it was over 90 degrees outside) and I liked the city view. The room was also only $100! What a deal.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

My wife and I sometimes like to make a whole night of it when we go downtown for a concert. We have stayed at the Aladdin twice now doing this and both stays were very nice. Located just a few minutes walk from the Power & Light district and Sprint Center puts it in an ideal location for us. Both stays we were greeted with a glass of champagne during check-in which is a nice touch. The martini loft is nice where we could get great martinis and good appetizers. The rooms aren't huge but they are plenty big enough for the two of us. The beds are very comfortable and come with both soft and firm pillows so you have a choice. Great, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksav8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

I tried to block off 20 rooms for a wedding. Called numerous times, left several voicemails, and several emails over a month long period... not ever one response.

Might be a nice hotel, but they definitely lost our business.

Stayed: May 2009
2  Thank kcwildcat35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Got very reasonable rates through an internet travel service - $60. With a price that low, you begin to wonder what is sacrificed. But overall, this is a great value for a nice boutique hotel downtown. Yes, it is a few blocks from the Power and Light District, but no more than a 7 - 8 minute walk.

The hotel is indeed stylish, the most for a Holiday Inn I've ever seen. Red and black dominate. This does not come at the expense of the basics, which are to me clerk service, room cleanliness, and a sense of safety and security. With the exception of one clerk giving me the wrong directions to a restaurant, they were all great. The rooms were very clean, and the beds were a clean pure white and comfortable. The immediate area is characterized by hotels and the convention center, so you always saw at least one or two souls on the street.

Some inconveniences were: the TV, which you have to wait after you powered it up for it to show the channels -- I just left mine on the whole time. The parking is expensive $13 across the street, but I always found a space. Additionally, the hotel could have booked me for three days (F, S, S) for the garage, but only booked me for two, as I was only in KC for two full days. There are no bars to hang your towels. I saw no one in the restaurant, but there could be other explanations for that other than the quality of the food. The immediate area is lacking non-destination restaurants, but there is an upscale Cosentino's market that offers a full bakery and salad bar (including breakfast), so that's your resort if you can't find anything else to your liking that's open.

Overall it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urbanokcadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 109 in Kansas City
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#21 of 109 in Kansas City
1,137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aladdin

Address: 1215 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1621 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: $160 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Aladdin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this KC landmark has had an extensive historic preservation bringing back the original art deco ambiance with a vintage hip approach for a fresh look at yesterday. The Aladdin Holiday Inn Hotel is located in the heart of the downtown convention, business, financial and entertainment districts, and is connected to the KC Convention Center and Marriott. The Aladdin is also three blocks from the Sprint Center. We look forward to Welcoming you with a glass of champagne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aladdin Hotel Kansas City
Aladdin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing