We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Aladdin

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

My husband and I had made reservations for a one night "Romance Package" at a higher priced hotel down the street last year and when we got there the electricity was out. We went to the room for a bit but decided we didn't want to stay without the air conditioning. We stopped into a few other hotels downtown to check out prices and availability. We almost didn't go into the Aladdin because it said "Holiday Inn" on it so we expected less than we got.
As soon as we walked in we wanted to stay there! The decor is incredible! Everything is very modern, bright, and beautiful. The staff was so nice. We told them about our anniversary being ruined by the other hotel's power outage and they gave us a price cut on the room, a bottle of chanpagne, and certificates for breakfast to be sure we would have a great time.
Once we got settled in our room (again, totally modern, all new and gorgeous! Tons better than the higher priced hotel room!) the front desk clerk called up to see if there was anything missing in our room and if we needed anything else.
We spent part of our evening in the lounge where the atmosphere was sophisticated yet cheery, and the food and drinks were amazing! The desert we had from room service is all I can think about for this year's anniversary, and breakfast was wonderful!
If you can go to this hotel, you should! No one should miss this incredible place!

  • Liked — The decor!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cstice79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    197
    112
    45
    32
See reviews for
59
182
45
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend of 8/22-24 and what a great deal! We booked it soley based on reviews from this website and I am so glad we did.
The room was VERY small, so if you are looking for a nice, big room, this is probably not your place. We didn't really care, so we gave it a shot. The service was amazing! They mapquested directions to everything for us, they gave some great recommendations of things to do while in town. They have lots of ammenities that we did not even have time to use including a spa, pillow menut, rooms service, free internet in the room, etc.
There was a very nice TV in the room and the shower and bed were very nice also. The hotel is probably a 10 minute walk from the new Power and LIght District. There are also several restaurants and bars in walking distance and we found it to be very safe walking even late at night.
We parked in the garage across the street for $12/day.
Give it a shot! You won't regret it!

  • Liked — Location and Service
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank recharged90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

Not a bad hotel overall... Nice flat panel TV in the room... Bed is comfortable, but make sure to check out the pillow menu in the guest book. Lots to choose from.

Of course every place has some bad things:
Elevator - I was staying on the 12 th floor and I know that at times I waited more than 5 minutes for the elevator. Yes the hotel did have someone here twice working on them.

Bathroom - The bathroom that I had was very small, ever hear the says I had to step outside to change my mind? Well that was the size of my bathroom.

AC - In my room it just never Cooled down. Now of course it was well over 100 degrees outside, so I'm sure that had something to do with it.

Let me do say that I would come back and stay here, it is very close to convention center and some good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

I was in KC for a conference for three nights at the end of July and beginning of August. The conference organizers recommended 4 hotels- I researched them all here and chose the Holiday Inn Aladdin based on the great reviews. I have never stayed in a HI before (usually Hilton, often BnBs) and wasn't exactly sure what to expect. I travel fairly often and have pretty high standards (OK, I'm a little picky) and the HI far exceeded my expectations on nearly everything.

The location is wonderful if you're attending something at the convention center. The bellhops out front are friendly and helpful. Free sparkling wine at check in. Very friendly hotel staff. I mean, really, really nice people. I had an issue with a very rude cabbie who also accidentally broke my bottle of wine... I was telling them about it at check in as my suitcase dripped. Some time later the manager of restaurant services appeared with a complimentary bottle of a quite tasty chardonnay to replace the ruined one. I was floored by their hospitality! This was really far above and beyond any service I could've expected.

I did not get a chance to take lunch or dinner in the restaurant as I would've liked as I was attending events with others from the conference, but I suspect it would've been great. The bar is really pretty.

I had a king sized bed on the 14th floor, great views, room on the smallish side but it was just me so who cares. Neat decor. Great showerhead. Housekeeping was up to par. Big TV, lots of cable channels, free internet... shall I continue? Apparently they also have complimentary ipod rental, complimentary dvd rental, and a pillow menu but I did not use any of these things.

If I had to find anything to complain about (not everything can be completely perfect, right?) I'd get nit picky and say the gym is pretty small and the coffee/creamer setup in the room isn't very good and only has sugar and sweet n low, but I bring my own Splenda anyway. The mattress/linens leave a little to be desired (the sheets were a little pilled up and the duvet was really, really thin) but these are all very minor things that really didn't make a big difference overall.

If I ever come to Kansas City again, I'll certainly stay here. It has been one of the best (if not THE best) hotel experiences I've ever encountered.

  • Liked — Amazing, friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Sheets/duvet.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Dylaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

We can thank TomTom for helping us find this really cool hotel. This was our second stay in KC in a week (we were on the last day of a TN-UT and back trip). We had stopped in KC on the way there and had so much fun that we decided to spend another evening there on the way home.

We had spent some time in the Power & Light entertainment district the first night, so we set the GPS for that part of town. We saw a few hotels close by and parked the car to investigate. We walked around the corner and saw a Holiday Inn sign attached to an old building. Now, we've stayed in some pretty sketchy Holiday Inns in our time, but this can be said about A LOT of hotel chains. Out of curiosity, we went inside to check out the rates.

This is NOT a typical HI. This is a hip boutique hotel. The lobby made me feel like Alice in Wonderland. Super cool. The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and engaging. We inquired about rates only to be quoted not only their rate for the evening but also the rates of several nearby hotels. How cool is that?? The difference between this hotel and the cheapest one was 10 bucks and not worth the trouble.

Our room had a brick wall view, but we were there to experience the city, not look at it from a window. The room was pretty fantastic. King sized bed with a pillow menu in the hotel book just in case the several provided didn't meet your comfort needs. The bathroom was spacious and super clean. This hotel also participates in the water saving "Use Your Towels More Than Once Like Normal People Do" crusade which earns them a gold star in our book.

This hotel is two blocks up and two blocks over from the restaurant/bar district. There were some really cool places to visit. Two of our favorites were The Flying Saucer, a beer bar with a mindboggling selection and Raglan Road Irish Pub, a beautiful pub that looked more like a cathedral than a bar.

There is a public parking garage located directly across the street from the hotel lobby.

We walked to and fro, and we never felt uncomfortable or unsafe at any point.

This place is highly recommended by my hubby and me. The next time we are in the States, we are definitely hitting up KC again, and we will most likely stay at the Aladdin.

  • Liked — Convenient location; great staff; parking is a non-issue
  • Disliked — Nothing to report
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura_belle35758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

Stayed one night at the Aladdin, enjoying our anniversary. We loved the building--beautiful classic architecture, very tastefully renovated and updated. A little bit on the small side, but not terrible. Our room was in keeping with the pictures advertised on the hotel's website and very comfortable. We purchased the Dinner package and found it to be a decent value. The food in the Zebra Room was excellent.
Only a few slight detractors:
Restaurant wait staff and front desk staff were a little less professional than we would have preferred--although not a major problem.
Bar area was rather awkwardly placed on the second floor.
Parking is a bit of a hassle--definitely worth the two extra dollars to get valet parking.
We didn't like the activity and extra people from a convention group staying in the hotel, but not much you can do about that.
Very close proximity to downtown Power and Light district and immediately across from Bartle Hall Convention Center.
Overall, very satisfied with our stay at the Aladdin--would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — Beautiful building!
  • Disliked — Lack of professionalism by front desk/ restauant staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joshua515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, WI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2008

Stayed early June 2008. Boutique hotel is wonderful, from the beautifully decorated lobby and rooms to the very helpful and friendly staff. Justin at the front desk, Jack at the Bellman desk to Sabrina in housekeeping, all were just great. Perfect downtown location near the new Power & Light district, which is a 2 - 3 block area of shops, restaurants, music venues, etc. MAX bus system very close by, very inexpensive to get around town. Rooms very comfortable and quiet. Great city to explore.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Sartori_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#16 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#21 of 109 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aladdin

Property: Holiday Inn Aladdin
Address: 1215 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1621 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Aladdin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this KC landmark has had an extensive historic preservation bringing back the original art deco ambiance with a vintage hip approach for a fresh look at yesterday. The Aladdin Holiday Inn Hotel is located in the heart of the downtown convention, business, financial and entertainment districts, and is connected to the KC Convention Center and Marriott. The Aladdin is also three blocks from the Sprint Center. We look forward to Welcoming you with a glass of champagne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aladdin Hotel Kansas City
Aladdin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing