We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming, with a few glitches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“charming, with a few glitches”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Aladdin is a cozy and historic boutique hotel, but it is also very charming and welcoming. The room was exceptionally clean, the lobby and bar area were beautiful and the staff was great. However, we did have a couple of issues. Our bathroom door decided to lock us out, which we discovered in the middle of the night. It was a long night. However, the next morning the staff immediately fixed the issue and were extremely apologetic. There was also a very rude and drunken group of wedding partiers, which caused lots of noise and mess. Again, the staff handled things appropriately and well. The location of the hotel was really convenient to the Sprint Center and great restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We love hearing about how our guests like the hotel charm and ambiance! I sincerely apologize about the door and noise issues - I hope our staff was able to get those items under control quickly for you. We hope to have you back again, and soon!!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    203
    113
    47
    33
See reviews for
60
185
46
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very nice hotel. My wife and I got a great deal on this hotel and we were treated very very nice. The service was fantastic and the rooms were very cool. The hotel itself has some wicked awesome decor and the lobby is out of sight. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy that you liked our hotel, especially our cool decor! We strive to offer each guest an amazingly unique experience. We look forward to welcoming you again, and hopefully soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

On the evening of Saturday April 13, 2013, I ordered the trout almandine from room service; they delivered salmon instead. Not a huge deal and frankly, I would have just eaten it, but it came with a soy glaze (gluten intolerance) and since I had tickets to a show for that evening and did not have time to wait for a replacement, I called the front desk to request that they drop the charge. I was connected with Jai, and after explaining, I was asked, "Well, are you going to give us the chance to fix it?", which rather surprised me. I explained that I had a show to go to and I didn't have time to wait for a replacement meal. To this he replied, "Well, can we come up and get it then?" So NO APOLOGY and he NEEDED ME TO PROVE TO HIM THAT I ACTUALLY RECEIVED THE WRONG ORDER AND DID NOT EAT IT! Kind of a rude way to treat a person who is already paying you for a crummy room.... But I just said, "Yes, you may."
In the meantime, we discovered the disgusting bathroom (wish I had photographed!) with moldy exposed drains, faucet that blasts water everywhere, TP off the roll, and USED BATHROBE AND TOWEL STILL HANGING ON THE BACK OF THE DOOR....
When we got back from our show 3 hours later, EVERY LOBBY EMPLOYEE WAS CROWDED OUTSIDE THE DOOR SMOKING! Seriously, at least 5 of them and no greeting from any of them as we entered. Of course the lobby was empty of employees! Upstairs, the tray of salmon was sitting untouched in the hallway outside our room. I took the tray back to the front desk myself, managed to find somebody who was finished smoking, explained my situation and found out that NO REFUND HAD BEEN ISSUED. The smell of three hour old fish and the look in my eye must have convinced "Magic Maker" (no real name tag... professional!) that I meant business, because I managed to get the charge dropped without another reprimand from service. I asked to speak to Jai, but he was no longer there, and I was assured that his customer service is usually top notch. Fine, but not tonight! INSULTED AND GROSSED OUT! Yucked up our weekend over and over. Poorly managed and unmotivated personnel. I recommend you do yourself a favor and spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yourelyingtome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations. I have been researching your issue with the room service order that was delivered incorrectly, and know that you have already been in touch with our management, and IHG. I know that we have removed your entire bill, please let me know if this is not satisfactory to you. In regards to the employee issues, the people you saw were guests of the hotel, and not employees of our hotel. I again apologize that you did not have a good experience at our hotel.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our family and volleyball club stayed here last year. I now wish I would have read my own first review and then asked the other families about their stay prior to making arrangements again for this season. My review last time was okay (not a FABULOUS) stay for the price we paid ($146 per night, plus parking).

I coordinate hotels for over 200 families during club season and so I always try to get rooms with the biggest bang for their buck (I.e., closest to venue, breakfast included, no parking fees, etc.) but I have to admit, I royaly screwed this one up. Outrageous prices for a Holiday Inn, beds were hard, covers had major stains, floors were filthy, staff was rude and cussing at check-in, bell hops were still out smoking in front of hotel, walls were so paper thin you could hear tv's blaring, kids yelling and, literally -- an orgy going on next door! Needless to say, my 200 families will no longer be staying here, ever. From now on, we will stick with our Marriott points! Dirty, dirty, dirty!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okzrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We take great pride in our service, and award-winning product. What you experienced is not typical for our hotel, and I apologize that it did not meet your expectations. We have addressed the items in your review with our staff.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

On Friday April 12, 2013 we arrived at the Holiday Inn
Aladdin in downtown Kansas City, Mo. We checked into the rather small lobby, got our room keys and we offered a complimentary glass of champagne which was most welcome after our long drive. We went up to our room to find a tiny,tiny room with a closet that had no door but rather a sliding curtain. The bathroom had a moldy shower curtain and was very tiny. However the double shower head was working well and was a nice addition to what the hotel billed as a "boutique style" meaning they put some granite on the old vanity and a raised sink bowl. There was a regular bathtub shower combination

We took a walk after we got settled to get familiar with the area then decided to return to the hotel for dinner. What a surprise. We started with a spinach artichoke appetizer which was average but not terrible. We ordered wine. Big mistake and there was no beer except for bottled. Not a big problem BUT when our food arrived, my French Onion Soup and husband's touted chicken pot pie, things went bad quickly. My husband had to send his pot pie back for reheating. Lukewarm at best. I noticed he wasn't eating much and I asked for a taste. It had a really terrible, off taste to it and was inedible. He just kept eating the chips and spinach dip. I was trying to enjoy my soup when I pulled what I thought to be a long piece of onion wrapped in cheese but it turned out to be a circle of twine, similar to what you would find tying up a chicken or a ham. Needless to say I didn't eat the soup. Some people at a table next to us had also ordered the pot pie and couldn't eat theirs as well. Something was definitely off about it.

On the plus side, the hotel is very convenient to the convention center, music auditorium and little theater. There is sparking garage across the street from the hotel and is not too expensive per day. Valet parking is $16.00 per day or you can self park.
The staff was pleasant. The hotel is quiet. Our room seemed clean enough although when we returned to our room the second day it was obvious the maid gave the bathroom little attention other than giving new towels. Counters were not wiped down nor bathtub cleaned. Mirror had the same haze of dust on it that was there the day before. Very subpar cleaning standard.

On the minus side was the terrible food but the hotel did remove the entire meal from our bill. We paid $132 per day which was a reduced rate because of a special event we were attending. This is reasonable only because the Marriott, the Crowne Plaza and the Westin were nearly twice as much per night cashing in on the convenient location. This reduced rate was still too high for a Holiday Inn. The room we had was old and only had cosmetic changes but there was free wi-if which is handy

Overall I would say if you don't need to be downtown, look more toward the Country Club Plaza area for lodging great shopping and atmosphere.





Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 22traveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you had a bad experience in our hotel and restaurant. I have been following up with our different departments and know that you have been in touch with our management team and IHG. We did remove the entire meal from your bill, and hope that this was satisfactory to you, but if you would like to discuss this matter further, please contact me directly at 816-421-8887.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalla
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We requested early check in when we made our reservation three weeks in advance, were told they couldn't guarantee a 1pm (requested because we had a 4pm wedding) check in but that we could get in by 2pm for sure. We got to the hotel at 12:45pm and we told they were cleaning the room and it would be 15 - 45 minutes. At 1:30 pm we were told it would be 15 - 20 minutes - they were cleaning the room. At 2:00pm we were told it would be 15 minutes (meanwhile they are checking other guests in). They kept saying to each other at the front desk - these people are not with the Cerner group. We did no get into our room until almost 3pm. The rooms were very old and the ceiling was peeling. The bed was sunken in the middle and was a terrible nights sleep. I would never stay at the Aladdin Holiday Inn again and I am a Holiday Inn fan. This place was a really bad experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize that our staff did not communicate to you correctly regarding your early check in request. We do not guarantee anything until 4pm, and you should have been told that from the very beginning. We do try very hard to assist our guests with early check in requests; however it is something that we never guarantee. I know that you also had another room you wanted to be next to, which can also add to the time of preparation for your room to ready earlier than 4pm.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Scooped up the hotel at a discount and thought what a steal from the pictures. it does look great but that’s wher it ends. saw a review about hard beds and thought it wasa joke.

very disappointed by the noise level. I could hear the guy sleeping in the next room clear his throat and in the morning his alarm clock was so clear it could have been in my room.

the beds are very hard. worse than a sofa. i had to put towels under my side of the bed. They should have spent more money on mattresses and not the decor. the pictures are real but the beds are so bad. we get hotels to sleep in to look at. never again

Room Tip: if you must stay here dont pay until you get a room with a good bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize that the beds we have did not meet your expectations. We receive a lot of compliments on our beds, and have found it really is about personal choice. I hope that on your next visit to Kansas City you give us another try.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#14 of 109 in Kansas City
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#22 of 109 in Kansas City
1,107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aladdin

Property: Holiday Inn Aladdin
Address: 1215 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1621 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Aladdin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this KC landmark has had an extensive historic preservation bringing back the original art deco ambiance with a vintage hip approach for a fresh look at yesterday. The Aladdin Holiday Inn Hotel is located in the heart of the downtown convention, business, financial and entertainment districts, and is connected to the KC Convention Center and Marriott. The Aladdin is also three blocks from the Sprint Center. We look forward to Welcoming you with a glass of champagne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aladdin Hotel Kansas City
Aladdin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing