We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel was perfect. Our room was pretty small but when getting a hotel in that area I don't plan on spending much time in the room. We were given champagne on our arrival and valet wisked my car away. Although it was not free for the convenience of being downtown I didn't mind to pay for parking. We walked down to power and light and spent the night eating and drinking. Loved being able to walk back to the hotel!! The next morning when we were leaving so was an entire bridal party and the valet was flooded with people as well as people checking out. They still were very speedy and our wait was no longer than 15 minutes! Great location you cant beat!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pkonert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! We are on the National Register of Historic Hotels, originally built and opened in 1926. Each room on each floor is configured differently to give each guest a unique experience. Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to hosting you again!

Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 547 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

First of all, the location of this hotel is excellent. It was clean, and the staff was nice.

Most of the reviews on TripAdvisor are accurate. The complaints from others who stayed at the Aladdin are true but really not a big deal. The rooms are a little small, and the bathroom sink sprays on you when you turn it on, the TV is wonky (but you can get used to it), the check-in process is complicated by the lack of "pull-in" area and my girfriend pretty much hated the beds (they were very firm but fine with me.) Most of these things were minor though given the price and location.

Honestly, this hotel was cute, clean and conveniently located. I would stay here again as long as I got the excellent Hotwire price again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! We are indeed an historic boutique hotel. Each room on each floor is actually configured differently, which offers a really unique experience for our guests. We love the location of our hotel as well! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our family was in Kansas City to attend funeral services. We checked in with two adults and two children. When we requested two beds we were told that whenever someone books at the priceline or expedia rate they are not given a double room we asked to upgrade by paying the difference but were told they had no availability of double rooms. As weary travelers desperate for sleep we asked for and paid for a second room. And surprise that room was a double so we were lied to regarding the room avalibility in order for the hotel to sell a second room. We were moved to another room the next night which was a double room on the third floor. The people next door screamed, cursed and fought till the wee hours of the morning. When we contacted the front desk they said they heard nothing. In addition the second lock on the room door was inoperable and you must pay an additional twelve dollars per day to park. The bed was also uncomfortable they did not have regular hotel pillow top mattresses but but a feather topper on a regular bed. If you want to book a Holiday Inn in Kansas City book the one on 45th street near the Plaza not the Aladdin Holiday Inn bates motel.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sactravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you very much for your recent review of our hotel. We apologize that it did not meet your expectations. From reading your review, I can see that you booked through a third party web site, and the only room types available on third party sites are singles. We are sorry that it did not meet your expectations. Again, thank you for your review.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Valet parking was courteous and efficient. Check-in was fast and efficient. Elevators are small but FAST! the room was small, and the view outside my window was of a rooftop and several air conditioners, one of which ran continuously inches outside my window.
The tv was good, lighting good, internet was good. Room service was quick, but don't get the chicken pot pie! (what was I thinking?). UGH!
The staff was nice, courteous and did their jobs well.
Lots of good places to eat within walking distance.
probably wouldn't stay there again, it just didn't stand out as a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctall41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your recent review. This hotel was built in 1925 and is on the National Register of Historic Hotels. We pride ourselves on the uniqueness of our product. The elevators are the original size from when the hotel opened. We also have an ADA required elevator for larger loads. Thank you so much for the nice compliments on our staff, we make it a point to go above and beyond each guest's expectations.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The staff was friendly and helpful, and my room was clean. Within walking distance of eating places and very close to convention center. Unable to hear my neighbors but could hear the alley. However, I was disappointed that all the pictures on the website showed full size windows to the floor and my room faced an alley with normal windows and could only see a building directly across the alley - no view. Also disappointed that there was a window air conditioner in my room (not cool enough with just the central unit). Could hear all the sounds from the alley outside and was awoken by them because of the unit's installation, and the unit itself was loud. Had to turn it off to when using my cell phone to hear. I reserved a king size room, but had a full size/maybe a queen bed. Mattress needs to be flipped or replaced as there is a definite divot between the left and right side of the mattress. The room was also small and with the lack of view I felt almost claustrophobic in it. Am glad I didn't have to share the small space with anyone. I like the historic aspect, the modern decor, Wifi in the rooms, and the convenience of the location, but am not sure I will choose to stay here the next time I have to travel to KC. The rooms were also very expensive, and did not include breakfast (restaurant onsite).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FleetingBeauty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! Our hotel was built in 1925 and is on the National Register of Historic Hotels, and definitely offers a charming and unique place to stay in Kansas City. The building offers many different window sizes, and each room on each floor is configured differently - as when the hotel origionally opened there were 309 guest rooms, and now there are 193! We do have an amazing staff, and great location! Thank you again for your review!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great hotel! Clean, cute and very friendly. I was in KC for a conference at the convention center. Close proximity to convention center, and many restaurants. Great price ($99) a night! Rooms are a little smaller than a new hotel, but loved that it was an old building that has been renovated.

Room Tip: Not the 3rd floor. I was originally in a room on the 3rd floor with the Hotel AC unit right outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! Our hotel was built in 1925 and is on the National Register of Historic Hotels, and definitly offers a charming and unique place to stay in Kansas City. We hope on your next visit you will once again have the opportunity to stay with the Holiday Inn Aladdin.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

If you are planning an overnight stay at the Power and Light district in downtown Kansas City, MO I would highly reccomend the Aladdin. It is an older hotel dating back to the 1920's I believe. Recently remolded in art deco fashion. 2-3 blocks from the P&L district with very reasonable parking across the street. Beds are very comfortable and rooms are extremely clean plus it is quieter than most hotels. Check it out, I think you'll be very surprised. Excellent staff also.

Room Tip: Look for hotel specials at visitkc.com.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your recent review! We take great pride in our staff and the unique experience they provide to all of our guests that stay with us. Thank you again for the great compliments!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#21 of 109 in Kansas City
1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton President Kansas City
Hilton President Kansas City
#12 of 109 in Kansas City
1,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Kansas City Downtown/Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Downtown Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aladdin

Address: 1215 Wyandotte St, Kansas City, MO 64105-1621 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range: $161 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Aladdin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this KC landmark has had an extensive historic preservation bringing back the original art deco ambiance with a vintage hip approach for a fresh look at yesterday. The Aladdin Holiday Inn Hotel is located in the heart of the downtown convention, business, financial and entertainment districts, and is connected to the KC Convention Center and Marriott. The Aladdin is also three blocks from the Sprint Center. We look forward to Welcoming you with a glass of champagne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aladdin Hotel Kansas City
Aladdin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing