We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Atmosphere and Great Food”

Cafe Trio Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Trio Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 1,489 Restaurants in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: E. 45th Street
Transit: On the actual Main Street route, including the Max. Only a few feet from two stops.
Description: Comfortable, calming and chic, Café Trio draws a diverse clientele of urban dwellers, on-the-town suburbanites and tourists who strike up lively conversations over classically inspired craft cocktails and beautifully imagined seasonal, from-scratch dishes. Perched on the incline at 45th and Main Street, the restaurant’s all-seasons patio view of the J.C. Nichols Fountain and Country Club Plaza add to the vibe. Executive Chef Adam Yoder and his culinary team hand-cut the steaks and chops and use a cornucopia of local and regional produce and artisan foods for their well-curated menu. Don’t-miss items include Café Trio’s handcrafted cracker-crust pizzas, roasted chicken, confit garlic mashed potatoes and the warm chocolate truffle cake. Imbibe your pleasures at the weekly happy hour with signature martinis such as the Marilyn Monroe or Paris Hilton — paired with the Price Edward Island mussels or crispy lump crab cakes, you just might have fantasies of taking up residence in one of Café Trio’s comfy booths. And if you’re planning a party, Trio’s two private event spaces are just the ticket for a sexy soiree.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a great meal at this restaurant. Everything we ordered was delicious and the service was great. The environment was energetic.

Thank FLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher Y, Owner at Cafe Trio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for the compliments! We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. You're more than welcome to come back & visit us again any time! Sincerely, Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 275 of 377 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

I've been here twice for supper on a weeknight. Both times the food was great, creative without seeming forced. Once I got the stuffed chicken breast, once the Margot pizza and a nice fresh salad with beets. All super yummy and enough leftover for lunch the next day. The decor and even the menu have a sense of whimsy, fun to discuss with dining companions.

My favorite thing about Cafe Trio is the hospitality. Both times I've been there, the staff is so warm and pleasant. I felt like a "regular" just walking in off the street. I was not surprised when I came on TripAdvisor that a manager was responding personally to the reviews.

Parking is in a small lot behind the restaurant with a steep hill climb, but there is valet parking available if a walk doesn't suit you.

The prices are a little high for my personal budget, but they run occasional Groupon-type deals and participate in the public radio member 2-for-1 card, local dining discount cards, etc., which, in my mind, contributes to the welcoming atmosphere.

I will definitely return for a special occasion!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bookmom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher Y, Owner at Cafe Trio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed your dishes & that you received excellent service on both occasions. We will be sure to pass your sentiments along to our entire staff & please come visit us anytime! Sincerely, Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I did like it but I specifically remember the service was slow. We were there after ten at night. Everyone enjoyed the food but no one was happy with the service.

Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher Y, Owner at Cafe Trio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thanks for reviewing us & letting us know about this incident David. Your comments will be shared with our wait staff so this issue will be resolved at once. Please stop by again sometime so we can show you that we have improved in this area. Sincerely, Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

1/2 price wine is all you need to know! OK, everything else was fabulous also. We were staying with friends in KC and told them we'd take them out to dinner, Cafe Trio was out of their mouths in less than a second. Portions are huge AND we had the small plates! Our server was fantastic - did not try to up-sell and even let us know that we could get smaller versions of the salads even though they were not listed on the menu. We sat on the patio even though it was cold outside but warmers were on. 2 hours later we were stuffed, sated and a bit tipsy - fine by me! Best meal i have had in KC in a long time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher Y, Owner at Cafe Trio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us! We are thrilled to hear that you & your friends had a wonderful time here at Café Trio. We hope you'll visit us again soon! Sincerely, Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Where to go at 4PM for a drink and a light snack? We had a couple of hours to fill and needed a place to spend the time and get a bite to eat. Cafe Trio was within blocks of our next destination so we stopped in. What a great decision. Jake, our server, did a superb job, from suggesting a light wine (Stella, Pinot Grigio) to seeing to our every need. The wine went well with the Cheese Company Cracker Crust pizza with sausage. Jake was courteous, friendly and helpful in making us feel welcome. We look forward to our next visit. And, it will be a thirty mile drive get there. I can also mention that it overlooks the Country Club Plaza, a very nice shopping area. Web link: http://cafetriokc.com/wp2/http://cafetriokc.com/wp2/?page_id=1015

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jak201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher Y, Owner at Cafe Trio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed your dishes & appreciated the service. We will be sure to pass your sentiments along to Jake and the rest of our staff. Come back & see us anytime! Sincerely, Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Trio Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Trio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing