We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay, would and have stayed again when in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Having recently stayed at the Courtyard, my second time, I must say it is a very nice hotel and I'd highly recommend it to anyone considering it.
Yes I was on business, but I have a choice of where to stay. I was here a few months ago and liked it enough to return when the need arrived.
Rooms are sweet! Extra pillows, quiet and comfortable. Front lobby & free parking excellent. I loved the front porch area, as it was beautiful outside and an excellent way to unwind after a day of work. A cold beer and watching the world go by! There is a Beautiful park right across the street -- excellent for a morning exercise routine!

And while I didn't deal with the front desk staff other than to check in / out, I must give special mention to Corey in the breakfast area. My entire group, six of us, would come for breakfast each morning and Corey was always a smiling face, quick witted and with fantastic service. He almost was intuitive to our needs by the second day!
My entire group was impressed enough by Corey, that is the primary reason for my review of the Courtyard -- to see that Corey gets some of the recognition he deserves.

I hope to be back again soon.

Room Tip: Anything facing the park gives you a great view. Say hi to Corey in the breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 554 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel, best restful "girl's shopping & dining out" weekend ever! Hotel was first class charming all the way. The room was quietly luxurious, beds were perfect for sleeping in late every morning. Toiletries were nice, variety of fresh towels from thick to thin, whichever you preferred, also a perfect assortment of pillows on the beds. Only thing I would add to troom is a lighted, magnifying wall-mounted make-up mirror in the bathroom for us older gals who need a little help applying our eye make-up and inserting contact lenses. Stayed in room 508. Cannot wait to return, this hotel made the entire 3 night 4 days weekend stay perfect. The entire staff was genuinely friendly and helpful. Did not get to use the pool, the only day we planned pool time it rained, but I am certain it would have been great. Breakfast buffet was nicely priced, good variety,delicious and so convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the park area, if possible. We didn't spend much time looking out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladyonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

kudos to Marriott for helping to preserve this historic apartment building, including the original dairy delivery pass through closets with glass door knobs. this historic building is just quirky enough to make your stay a little more than a run of the mill hotel stay. my room was located on the corner of the 2nd floor and consisted of a 2 room suite with bedroom and living rooms. it had a lot of windows and natural light facing the park in front of the building. it was very well appointed, clean and very comfortable. the air circulation was a bit loud but helped muffle any traffic noise that may have existed. the entry and lobby area is like walking into a private club or resort with lots of common area and seating. gym and pool are nice but small. one small space in the lobby doubles as bar by night and starbucks coffee by morning but it seemed adequate given the large lobby area and proximity to other restaurant bars. great location just a short walk from the main shopping and restaurants on the plaza.

Room Tip: corner room offered lots of space and light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

When reserving, I thought this was a bit pricey, however I can tell you after our stay that it was worth every cent! The service provided by EVERY employee was off the charts! The free shuttle to the plaza was great and very quick. You felt like every employee was there to make your stay outstanding and that is exactly what they did!
Our room was very clean and updated. We had forgotten a tooth brush and called and they sent one up right away and then called to make sure it had been delivered.
We paid a little extra to have the breakfast included and so happy we did. Again service was great and the food was awesome!
Honestly, have never been so impressed by a hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wenjammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

My room here is very nice, large enough for me, very clean and a great staff. They offer breakfast here, but I'd suggest eating at one of the great places to eat around here. Parking us cheap, $5.00 per day. There is a nice park across the street and tons of nice shops and restaurants very close by. I'll be back here.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

I have many options when traveling for business in Kansas City, but always come back here. The hotel itself is, I think a classy old apartment building. The location is perfect if you want to take advantage of the shopping, restaurants, and nightlife afforded by the Country Club Plaza or Westport area (which is totally walkable). The staff is awesome, they serve Starbucks, and have a nice small bar area. The only complaint I have is that the ironing boards are great if you are 12. Very short and not big enough to effectively iron adult clothes. But you know what... This is more than outweighed by the great location and impeccable service. Highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank comrade74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

First of all, the hotel is located two blocks from the Country Club Plaza with lots of restaurants and shops, several blocks from the Kemper Museum and one block from the Modern Art Museum. It's a far better option than being in downtown KC with the streets torn up! The Marriott lived up to its reputation with top notch service and care. This hotel is an older property but was very well maintained and I enjoyed the room which was spacious and well kept. The only area I would work on is the restaurant. Breakfast was good, lunch buffet was mediocre and room service was overpriced. We did enjoy our week stay there and thank the staff for providing excellent service!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nettie8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.6 mi away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Address: 4600 J C Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#22 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $136 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Courtyard by Marriott Country Club Plaza hotel is set in the famed Kansas City Country Club Plaza, just minutes from the Kansas City International Airport. As one of the preferred Country Club Plaza hotels, the property is perfect when traveling on business, planning a meeting/social event, or enjoying the area's excellent shopping, dining and entertainment. Overlooking the breathtaking J.C. Nichols Fountain, this Kansas City, Missouri hotel is designed to fulfill the needs of all travelers. Spacious guest rooms welcome you with thoughtful and modern services and amenities, ensuring your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Courtyard Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott
Kansas City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing