We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property, perfectly located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Ranked #19 of 108 Hotels in Kansas City
Franklin, TN
Level Contributor
153 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very nice property, perfectly located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is a very nice property, with a lot to brag on. First, staff were great and very responsive, from check-in and beyond. I had a slight problem with water not draining from the tub, and staff were on it immediately, and didn't stop until the problem was solved. I was very impressed with that. Please note that is a plus, not a complaint.

The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was large, and the bathroom was on the larger side, too. I appreciated the fridge and microwave, and it was nice to see an older building retrofitted to such modern style. So often you sacrifice, but not at this hotel. Parking was free, and just outside the back door. And also out the back door was the Country Club Plaza, which is one of the nicer parts of the city, in my opinion. Out the front door - just down the street - is the fountain you're used to seeing there, to give you an idea. The hotel blends in well with its surroundings, and on previous trips I hadn't even noticed it was there.

When you stay here you're just a 5 minute drive from the scene at Westport, and maybe a 15 minute drive to downtown KC - the convention center and so forth. This is an accommodating property, and I would - and will - definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: This hotel is only five stories, but a room to the front should have a better view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BattlegroundTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    188
    35
    15
    14
See reviews for
124
142
35
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is very nice with a great location. The beds were very comfortable and our room (2 queens with a sofa sleeper) was quite large compared to most hotel rooms. The bathroom was also a nice big space. The room was nice and quiet too. It was great to have free parking included in the rate. We enjoyed the proximity to all the shops and restaurants in the area. The only downsides of this hotel were the pool is pretty small and was on the cool side, the whirlpool was closed for repairs and was not mentioned at check in, and no free coffee or continental breakfast. 2 of our group of 5 did receive free breakfast as a part of our room rate, with a charge of $9.95 for any additional. The breakfast looked very good and they offered to make anything that wasn't out such as an omelette.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Quick first-time trip to Kansas City. Had less than 24 hours to sightsee, but loved the location of this charming Marriott. So easy to park (free) at the hotel and walk around the area. Great shops and restaurants nearby. A little far from the airport, but worth the travel time. Stopped at the Public Library and WWI museum on our way to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Important: the photos are not updated on Tripadvisor!! These are NOT the standard issue primary color Courtyard dated rooms!! This was an AMAZING Courtyard, with a recent stunning renovation....I am calling it "Spanish Deco", the entire Plaza area is based on Spain, so that's the Spanish part, and the Deco comes from the fact that this hotel is in a former luxury apartment building from the 20's (I think). There are many historical details throughout...the trim, the grand lobby windows, even the historic milk lockers in the hallways! (If you have ever stayed at the Boston Courtyard that is in the former theater, this has a similar historical vibe)

PROS:
Great location, pre war thick walls, spacious room (517), easy parking in back,

CONS:
The sheets came off corner of bed...a very comfy mattresses, but need deeper pockets on the fitted sheets. Also, the stairs in the front entry area can be a challenge, but there is an accessible ramp in the back. The is a very cheery outdoor patio in front overlooking the park. And others have mentioned the
fun Frank Sinatra and Ella Fitzgerald music in lobby!

Notes:
Someone mentioned there was no covered access in case of rain, but the front drop off area (while small) does have an adequate awning.

Nikki and Trey very helpful in lobby and Starbucks. Others not so responsive, however, it may be that they can't hear when someone is at the desk, since there is an office behind. They really need an old fashioned bell to ring at the front desk!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BizTooMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEXICO CITY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The staff is so friendly at first you suspect their friendliness and helpfulness but they are really nice! The lobby is awful and so are the bathrooms they need urgent remodeling. The tv is great and in general the rooms are sad and tired Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LANGUIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is not a standard Courtyard by Marriott. It has only been a hotel for seven years and the building is on the National Register of Historic Places. Our welcome was superb and the receptionist kindly delivered a cart to the car park door to make it easier to unload the car.

The hotel was previously an appartment block and its renovators have done a pretty good job turning it into a modern hotel whilst retaining original features such as milk closets in the corridors. We had a suite which was ok, althought the furnishings were dark and purple and not to my taste. .The bed was comfortable although the pillows were hard, synthetic and springy

An unexpected extra is the free laundromat - including detergent and softener. The machines are good quality but (and it does seem churlish to complain about something free) the dryer is not very effective and takes an hour (on medium) to dry a cotton polo shirt.


Location is superb, adjacent to upscale Country Club Plaza with lots of restaurants and shops

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a great place to stay right on the Plaza in KC. We enjoyed staying in an historic hotel with great views. The access to the plaza and all the shopping and dining options was great. The only thing that could have made this trip better would be a courteous and knowledgeable staff. The workers at the front desk knew very little about the area and gave poor and incorrect advice, including telling us that all the restaurants were 'closed' when we checked in just after 10 p.m. We decided to wander out anyway, and were glad we did, as we found many restaurants, just steps away, to be open and serving food until 1 a.m.

Room Tip: I have stayed here multiple times and am yet to be placed in a room I did not like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeymooners_811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#12 of 108 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Property: Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Address: 4600 J C Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#22 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Courtyard by Marriott Country Club Plaza hotel is set in the famed Kansas City Country Club Plaza, just minutes from the Kansas City International Airport. As one of the preferred Country Club Plaza hotels, the property is perfect when traveling on business, planning a meeting/social event, or enjoying the area's excellent shopping, dining and entertainment. Overlooking the breathtaking J.C. Nichols Fountain, this Kansas City, Missouri hotel is designed to fulfill the needs of all travelers. Spacious guest rooms welcome you with thoughtful and modern services and amenities, ensuring your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Courtyard Kansas City
Kansas City Courtyard
Kansas City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing