We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An unexpected pleasure at the Plaza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Ranked #24 of 113 Hotels in Kansas City
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An unexpected pleasure at the Plaza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

After the hustle and bustle of the holidays were over, we realized that we missed our annual trip to the Kansas City Plaza this year. We normally drive down to Kansas City and back the same night. But this time we booked a room for one night and made our trek to the Plaza from Nebraska. This hotel was an unexpected pleasure. The hotel was a mere block to the Plaza which meant that our car never left the parking lot the entire time we were there. The walk to the Plaza was very pleasant and very safe. The hotel itself was very clean and up to date. The room we had was a king bed suite complete with refrigerator, microwave oven, couch, coffee table, etc. The lobby was tastefully decorated for the holidays. The staff was super helpful and the available continental breakfast that next morning was worth every penny. We have decided that every year from here on out, we will be returning to the Plaza and staying at the Courtyard Marriott Hotel. They have rightfully gained our business.

Room Tip: Even though our room was on the JC Nichols Freeway side of the hotel, we experienced very little noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    181
    34
    15
    12
See reviews for
118
134
35
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

BIG room, great service, walk to anyplace on the Plaza! Stayed here a few days after Christmas. The hotel is literally right on the edge of the plaza - you can walk to any store/restaurant in a few minutes. Had free covered parking! The hotel staff was lovely and our corner room was huge. The Courtyard is the only hotel I found on the Plaza with Queen beds -- with a family of 5, we need the 2 queens and the sofabed. Lastly, we left my daughter's favorite 'blanket and stuffed animals' in the room and after a few days, the housekeeping staff tracked it down for us!! The front desk mailed it back to our home, which made for a very happy little girl!! Thanks to Daniel at the front desk for all his help!

Room Tip: Corner room was HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
277 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a lovely converted old apartment building in Country Club Plaza. Each room is a bit different, roomy, with couch, microwave, and refrigerator. Nicely appointed, free parking, pretty lobby, and easy walk to a gorgeous shopping/restaurant area, especially beautiful at Christmas time. We walked to a movie theater, had a great dinner, and wandered the beautifully lit shops and streets. Free WiFi and, easy connectivity for iPad to the TV for Netflix watching, means a perfect stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swl781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

From the front desk to maintenance, these folks are some of the best. The property is in very nice repair, and just off the plaza. Special kudos to Kelley (sic?) in the executive lounge. What a very sweet young lady, and beautiful English accent. She was one of the most attentive executive lounge attendants I've ever experienced. When walking by maintenance or housekeeping they always smiled and spoke. I stay in copious hotels throughout the year, and rarely give a perfect rating, but this one deserves a five plus. You will not go wrong here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayfarer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The location is wonderful! The staff is amazing! They called when we arrived to see how our room was, and the evening prior to checkout to see if we needed any wake up calls or transportation. It is in a historic building, which adds to it's charm. Breakfast buffet was great! We plan to stay here again! Very quiet hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gkaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Everything about my stay was great.... From the time I checked in (great job front desk staff) down to the little hotel shampoos ( who knew Courtyard carried Paul Mitchell?!) I felt right at home. The hotel is walking distance to great restaurants and upscale shopping. I was also able to easily get to all of my appointments throughout the city. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustCallmeTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I visited KC for the weekend to celebrate our birthdays and had a great stay at the Courtyard Marriott on the Plaza. Huge room, very clean, quiet, and friendly staff. On site parking was easy and the property's proximity to restaurants and shops made it a convenient place to stay. Sunday breakfast buffet was good. Will definitely visit again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank meganbtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 113 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Property: Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Address: 4600 J C Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-1603
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#22 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Courtyard by Marriott Country Club Plaza hotel is set in the famed Kansas City Country Club Plaza, just minutes from the Kansas City International Airport. As one of the preferred Country Club Plaza hotels, we are perfect when traveling on business, planning a meeting/social event, or enjoying the area's excellent shopping, dining and entertainment. Overlooking the breathtaking J.C. Nichols Fountain, our Kansas City Missouri hotel is designed to fulfill the needs of all travelers. Spacious guest rooms welcome you with thoughtful services and amenities, ensuring your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Courtyard Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott
Kansas City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing