We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming historic hotel right in the middle of everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 JC Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #24 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Charming historic hotel right in the middle of everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Everything about my stay was great.... From the time I checked in (great job front desk staff) down to the little hotel shampoos ( who knew Courtyard carried Paul Mitchell?!) I felt right at home. The hotel is walking distance to great restaurants and upscale shopping. I was also able to easily get to all of my appointments throughout the city. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustCallmeTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    177
    32
    14
    11
See reviews for
110
129
34
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I visited KC for the weekend to celebrate our birthdays and had a great stay at the Courtyard Marriott on the Plaza. Huge room, very clean, quiet, and friendly staff. On site parking was easy and the property's proximity to restaurants and shops made it a convenient place to stay. Sunday breakfast buffet was good. Will definitely visit again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank meganbtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I really like this hotel and the Marriott up in the downtown area...but I prefer the Palza hotel a little more just based on location. You can easily walk out your door and go for a run along the river, or walk to the art museum, and I feel like the eating options within walking distance are better here. I like the downtown area a lot, but I tend to spend more time after work exploring or running in the Plaza.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stanfordgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
227 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

On the plus side- super easy walk to the "first mall" built in USA. Free accessible parking. Price is competitive for KC.
Down side: building appears to be a former apartment or senior housing facility, has all of that charm. Does big volume with groups, creating mild havoc from time to time in the lobby, hallways, and can create a LOT of noise.
Price for in-room bottled water is insane, as it is in many hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Myself and 2 co-workers stayed at this Marriott for two nights recently. The hotel staff was very service oriented and went out of their way to make sure we had a good stay. The food in the concerige lounge was excellent for both the breakfast and the evening snacks they provide. The rooms were clean and well appointed and when I forgot my razor they brought one immediately, would not accept a tip and then I received a phone call later to make sure I received the razor and to ask if I need anything else. i did not get a chance to use the exercsie facility on this trip but I will most likely return and get a chance to add this to my revew.

There is also a nice place for dinner with numerours restaurants and shops just down the street and they have a free shuttle or it is close enough to walk to.

Overall a very nice place to stay for a business trip in the KC area.

Room Tip: Try to get on the concerige level if you have the correct Mariott status or upgrade to these floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeyetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our daughter was married in the Kansas City area on October 27,2012. A block of rooms, at the Courtyard Marriott, was available for those attending the wedding. We received exceptional service from start to finish - the director of sales put together an incredible package for our guests, the staff at the front desk and in the breakfast room were so accommodating, and there is free parking. The hotel location is prime - easy to walk and enjoy the Country Club Plaza. This hotel has alot of character - the floor plan of each room is different. Our wedding guests were very pleased. It couldn't get much better than this! - unless there was an indoor swimming pool!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdavis49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
180 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here October 12-14, 2012 for a weekend getaway with my wife. The location cannot be beat if you are wanting to check out Country Club Plaza. The parking is free. There's free Wi-Fi too. We booked a room with King-sized bed, which we thought included breakfast, through Expedia. We discovered that the breakfast was not included as part of our reservation. This was NOT the hotel's fault, but Expedia's.

The hotel itself was an old residential building which was converted into a hotel. The check in process was quick. You park in the back of the hotel and have to take about 7 stairs down to get to the elevator level. If stairs are a deal-breaker for you, then you may wish to select another place.

The room is quiet enough, although we could hear thunder during a rainstorm. The king-sized bed was comfortable, but I DID NOT like the too-soft pillows. I requested some firm pillows from the hotel and they said they only had the type already in the room. Flat-screen tv was nice, although there weren't too many channels. Just the networks, 5 sports channels, HBO, TWC, TNT, CNN, Headline News, Fox, MSNBC, etc. There's a small fridge, coffee maker, and microwave, which was nice to store leftovers from the nearby Cheesecake Factory!

The bathroom was adequate. Shower only had 2 settings. Hairdryer, iron, ironing board included. Wi-Fi was decent.

The shower only had 2 settings, but was decent.

Overall, a nice place to stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#17 of 111 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Property: Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Address: 4600 JC Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#22 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Courtyard by Marriott Country Club Plaza hotel is set in the famed Kansas City Country Club Plaza, just minutes from the Kansas City International Airport. As one of the preferred Country Club Plaza hotels, we are perfect when traveling on business, planning a meeting/social event, or enjoying the area's excellent shopping, dining and entertainment. Overlooking the breathtaking J.C. Nichols Fountain, our Kansas City Missouri hotel is designed to fulfill the needs of all travelers. Spacious guest rooms welcome you with thoughtful services and amenities, ensuring your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Courtyard Kansas City
Kansas City Courtyard
Kansas City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing