We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Ranked #24 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I visited KC for the weekend to celebrate our birthdays and had a great stay at the Courtyard Marriott on the Plaza. Huge room, very clean, quiet, and friendly staff. On site parking was easy and the property's proximity to restaurants and shops made it a convenient place to stay. Sunday breakfast buffet was good. Will definitely visit again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank meganbtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 559 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

I really like this hotel and the Marriott up in the downtown area...but I prefer the Palza hotel a little more just based on location. You can easily walk out your door and go for a run along the river, or walk to the art museum, and I feel like the eating options within walking distance are better here. I like the downtown area a lot, but I tend to spend more time after work exploring or running in the Plaza.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanfordgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

On the plus side- super easy walk to the "first mall" built in USA. Free accessible parking. Price is competitive for KC.
Down side: building appears to be a former apartment or senior housing facility, has all of that charm. Does big volume with groups, creating mild havoc from time to time in the lobby, hallways, and can create a LOT of noise.
Price for in-room bottled water is insane, as it is in many hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Myself and 2 co-workers stayed at this Marriott for two nights recently. The hotel staff was very service oriented and went out of their way to make sure we had a good stay. The food in the concerige lounge was excellent for both the breakfast and the evening snacks they provide. The rooms were clean and well appointed and when I forgot my razor they brought one immediately, would not accept a tip and then I received a phone call later to make sure I received the razor and to ask if I need anything else. i did not get a chance to use the exercsie facility on this trip but I will most likely return and get a chance to add this to my revew.

There is also a nice place for dinner with numerours restaurants and shops just down the street and they have a free shuttle or it is close enough to walk to.

Overall a very nice place to stay for a business trip in the KC area.

Room Tip: Try to get on the concerige level if you have the correct Mariott status or upgrade to these floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckeyetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our daughter was married in the Kansas City area on October 27,2012. A block of rooms, at the Courtyard Marriott, was available for those attending the wedding. We received exceptional service from start to finish - the director of sales put together an incredible package for our guests, the staff at the front desk and in the breakfast room were so accommodating, and there is free parking. The hotel location is prime - easy to walk and enjoy the Country Club Plaza. This hotel has alot of character - the floor plan of each room is different. Our wedding guests were very pleased. It couldn't get much better than this! - unless there was an indoor swimming pool!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdavis49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here October 12-14, 2012 for a weekend getaway with my wife. The location cannot be beat if you are wanting to check out Country Club Plaza. The parking is free. There's free Wi-Fi too. We booked a room with King-sized bed, which we thought included breakfast, through Expedia. We discovered that the breakfast was not included as part of our reservation. This was NOT the hotel's fault, but Expedia's.

The hotel itself was an old residential building which was converted into a hotel. The check in process was quick. You park in the back of the hotel and have to take about 7 stairs down to get to the elevator level. If stairs are a deal-breaker for you, then you may wish to select another place.

The room is quiet enough, although we could hear thunder during a rainstorm. The king-sized bed was comfortable, but I DID NOT like the too-soft pillows. I requested some firm pillows from the hotel and they said they only had the type already in the room. Flat-screen tv was nice, although there weren't too many channels. Just the networks, 5 sports channels, HBO, TWC, TNT, CNN, Headline News, Fox, MSNBC, etc. There's a small fridge, coffee maker, and microwave, which was nice to store leftovers from the nearby Cheesecake Factory!

The bathroom was adequate. Shower only had 2 settings. Hairdryer, iron, ironing board included. Wi-Fi was decent.

The shower only had 2 settings, but was decent.

Overall, a nice place to stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel twice, and very pleased both times. Well located on the Plaza and overlooks the park. I really love that they have maintained the historical integrity of this building while making it a perfectly comfortable and modern hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building overlook the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
0.2 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Address: 4600 J C Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#22 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $143 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Courtyard by Marriott Country Club Plaza hotel is set in the famed Kansas City Country Club Plaza, just minutes from the Kansas City International Airport. As one of the preferred Country Club Plaza hotels, the property is perfect when traveling on business, planning a meeting/social event, or enjoying the area's excellent shopping, dining and entertainment. Overlooking the breathtaking J.C. Nichols Fountain, this Kansas City, Missouri hotel is designed to fulfill the needs of all travelers. Spacious guest rooms welcome you with thoughtful and modern services and amenities, ensuring your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Courtyard Kansas City
Kansas City Courtyard
Kansas City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing