We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the old and the new” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton President Kansas City

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton President Kansas City
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best of the old and the new”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The outstanding service started and ended with the valet parking attendant. He was friendly, knowledgable and helpful. The historic hotel has a beautiful lobby. The location in the Power and Light district is ideal. The rooms have obviously been remodeled and are like new. The breakfast buffet was a cut above. Also, the price was amazingly low. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KPre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review of your visit to our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed all facets of the hotel. We certainly would like to see you again if your travels bring you to Kansas City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    304
    137
    59
    47
See reviews for
171
322
58
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a renovated older building. Nothing wrong with the rooms, they are decent sized and clean. Service is fine. My only complaint is the price relative to what you are getting. When I stayed here, the rates were about $200 per night mid-week. That is way too much for this place. Yes, it is in downtown Kansas City, but this is not Manhattan. Just too much for this size of a room in this location. You could not walk to an area with alot of restaurants from here. This is a mismatch between price and room size/amenities/location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write the review. Sorry you felt the value was not there. We try to offer competitive rates however we also feel the value of a Four Diamond hotel located in such a wonderful area offers a great deal of value, but your point is certainly taken under advisement. I did note a comment about restaurants in the area. We should have done a better job of advising you of the 20-30 restaurants and entertainment venues that are within one block of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked the "Take me to the Top Package" and it was so worth it. We had a corner room on the 11th floor with 3 huge windows overlooking the beautiful city lights! The room was very spacious and the hotel overall was wonderful. Will be staying here again soon and will definitely recommend to family and friends!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review of your visit to our hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed our "Take Me to the Top package" It certainly is an affordable way to get some nice upgrades during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Fallon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel! It is beautifully appointed and the staff members that we encountered were definitely interested in providing outstanding customer service, particularly Tahir in Valet and Amir in the restaurant. Will definitely stay here again when I return to KC. GREAT location in the Power and Light District as well. This hotel is absolutely surrounded with dining and entertainment options!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review of your visit to our hotel. I am so pleased everything was perfect! Most importantly you point out two things that set us apart. 1. The staff. We have a wonderful team of hospitality professionals. Thanks for mentioning the service from Tahir! 2. The location. The location is second to none. We are the only hotel located in the Power and Light Entertainment District, and we are the closest hotel to the Sprint Center. Ideally located for just about any kind of trip to Kansas City.
Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Hilton President was a great hotel with an excellent staff. My wife and I were extremely pleased to stay there. We'll be back. When we got there we realized there were feather pillows and comforter in the room, which we are allergic to. The hotel staff quickly removed the down materials.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks for the great "5-dot" review of your visit to our hotel. I am pleased we reacted quickly to your allergy. May I suggest in the future you ask for one of our "PURE" rooms. They are completely engineered for those who suffer from allergies. Again, thanks so much and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
121 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Room was very quiet and peaceful. My dinner from room service was rather bland - not much flavor to the salad or pasta special. The hotel is old, but has aged relatively well, although the bathroom in my room could have used some updating. Finally, the breakfast selection was very good - better than the typical fare at other Hilton properties.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLEShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for the review. Sorry for the food and beverage experience. We will take your comments under advisement. Overall it looks like you had a nice visit. We look forward to seeing you again at the President in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
592 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Never having been to Kansas City we wanted a hotel near an area of restaurants and entertainment. This hotel fit the bill being adjacent to the Power & Light district. While the 8 block entertainment district is relatively new, the building housing the Hilton President was not.

Built in 1926, the hotel is on the National Register of Historic Places which always appeals to me. The hotel had actually been closed for 25 years starting in 1980 and reopening as a Hilton in 2005. Fully upgraded in bathrooms and bedding, the rooms are none-the-less a little small but more than adequate. Service was prompt but not as polished as some Hilton properties. Self-parking required using a garage adjacent to the hotel with kind of a complicated path back to the hotel.

My only disappointment was, and this is all on me, that the famous Drum Room which had hosted the likes of Benny Goodman and Frank Sinatra no longer functions as a music venue. I had naively thought that it did. It is now a very nice restaurant with a comfortable bar. But there was no blues or jazz playing there anymore.

The experience was good, the location was darn close to perfect (especially if you want to be a couple blocks away from the convention center but still having dining options) but I would probably try a different hotel next time just to see what else is offered in this city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review of our hotel. Point taken about the Drum Room and live music. The room just does not have the space for live music. We certainly would love to see you again in the future. As a frequent user of TripAdvisor your review will be very important as others choose a hotel in Kansas City. I am sure your review will help them choose the President!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kansas City Downtown
0.2 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
Kansas City Marriott Downtown
#21 of 109 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Aladdin
Holiday Inn Aladdin
#43 of 109 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton President Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton President Kansas City

Property: Hilton President Kansas City
Address: 1329 Baltimore Ave, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#16 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton President Kansas City 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond award winning hotel, and the only hotel in the new Power and Light entertainment district. The hotel was originally opened in 1927, closed for many years. Re-opened in 2005 after a 45 million dollar renovation. This stunning hotel is truly one of Kansas City's grand hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton President Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton President Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing