We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little expensive”
Review of Gates Bar-B-Q

Gates Bar-B-Q
Ranked #254 of 1,415 Restaurants in Kansas City
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little expensive”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Bar-B-Que ribs was very good, had baked beans and french fries with the meal. To me it was a little expensive though.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Linda7144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    38
    20
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otavalo, Ecuador
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family Tradition”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have always loved this place! From the first moment when you walk in the door and hear the familiar "Hi! May I help you?" as the amazing smells of sweet, spicy BBQ sauce swirl around you, to the strawberry soda and warm BBQ sauce that I can't wait to dip my Combo and a Half sandwich and french fries in!

I live in Ecuador now, so when I go back to the US, I always buy an extra bottle of their BBQ sauce to take back with me.

Try Gates BBQ and you'll start making this place a family tradition every time you're in KC area too!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MisiFuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Barbeque Horrible”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

On our way home from Colorado, we stoppd at Gates in Indepence, Mo., outside Kansas City. Don't.
The food was Inedible, the service shabby and the decor old and disgusting. We left our charred burned ends and a chicken he size of a quail. Gates is a poor entry in the World of barbecue
Way overprice and no table service. Yuck!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cstucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Meat is fatty.”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Doesn't quite add up to other bbq joints in KC. Meat is a bit fatty. Fries aren't anything special.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank abreithaupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ribs!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

KC has such a great choice of BBQ joints. When at Gates -- go for the ribs!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank KCMO_JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gates Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Gates Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing