We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, modern yet comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Randolph, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Elegant, modern yet comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I reserved a room at this hotel for our anniversary. On arrival the clerks found a minor glitch in our reservation but upon learning of our anniversary upgraded us to a junior suite. The room was huge, the bathroom huge. The bed was so cushy soft it made sleep a breeze and we found the hotel extremely pleasant due to the extraordinary care given especially by the valet staff (this is a valet parking only facility). The care given to personal attention was wonderful, a real treat for our special stay in the city. I would note that the potty itself is in a very narrow portion of the bathroom, but the walk in rainfall shower was big enough for at least two and there was a double marble vanity (two sinks) just gorgeous. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I found our room on the second floor extremely quiet and very comfy--junior suites are very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sorella_GM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Donna B,
Congratulations on your anniversary! We are happy to have been able to treat you to a wonderful stay. The showers are actually said to hold at least 6 people by some guest estimates and the Presidential Suite can hold a dozen. These are all urban legends, but the showers in all rooms are equipped with an adjustable rain shower head and are very spacious! Bath sheets made of Egyptian cotton linens and custom amenities created by Lather add to the experience. Thank you for staying with us and recommending our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    178
    46
    17
    18
See reviews for
176
416
22
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

From the moment you arrive the staff treats you with respect. The staff gets an A+. The hotel is clean and quiet. Hotel gets an A+. The rooms are designed with thought. Hotel rooms get an A+. The bar and restaraunt get an A+. The pool is nice but small. The hotel needs to add more loungers during the day. There is only 3. So pool setup needs "great improvement". Location gets an A+. Overall I will come back every time I do business in Kansas City. Definitely an A+ hotel. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sorella_GM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you Benjamin S for "highly recommending" us. We certainly appreciate you rating all of our areas A+ and yes, we could use more loungers. We do also have the 2 cabanas with full size "beds" and a built in ledge area in the pool for relaxing as well. Since you mentioned returning to KC, please join our VVIP program for some free perks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The location of this hotel is wonderful About a half of a block from the Plaza. The front desk and valet staff were very friendly and helpful. However, the staff at the pool and bar were slow and even aloof at times.

The pool is a little weird. Three lounge chairs is all they have outside of the two cabanas (which each have two loungers, but are shaded. The rest of the seating is regular chairs. I think they try to make the pool area a "club" scene and that's why they need so many chairs vs loungers. If you're looking for a pool to layout at, this might not be the place for you. Also, the cabanas are first come first serve, which I have never seen. Usually you can pay to reserve one.

The rooms are nicely done. We were upgraded at check-in to a Deluxe King which was nice of the staff. The bed was super comfy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omaha7533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sorella_GM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
omaha7533,
Thank you for staying with us and for submitting your review. We appreciate the opportunity to learn from your stay and correct the missteps in bar service. Of course we do have the option to pay and reserve the cabanas. They are only first come - first served if they have not been reserved. I do apologize for not properly explaining this to you. We also do have a full length seating area in the pool where you can be submerged only waist-high to relax in the water. Thank you for posting pictures and we will make sure to fix the issues you experienced while also continuing the great service and experience you received elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

A very pleasant stay at this facility! Enjoyed being close to the Plaza. An all-around good experience! Stayed in one of the deluxe rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful in all respects. Would come back again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnbxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Staff were accommodating and friendly! Loved the rooftop ambiance! Complimentary European breakfast was perfect, thanks Simone for your service with a smile! Rooms were lovely! Only suggestion would be in room microwave and refrigerator. Otherwise, a delightful and elegant hotel experience!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnangelique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hotel Sorella is a good overall hotel; good location just outside the country plaza, modern contemporary feel to the hotel and the room, and friendly staff. Nothing fancy or extraordinary, but rather very solid. Several hotels in the area are a bit old so it is a nice deviation from that. Breakfast is good again but not excellent. Overall, it is good for the price and I may go back again, unless I am looking for something extra special.

Room Tip: Higher floors are always better options
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mungo777Omaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

love the sorella in kansas city...the staff is so amazing and take care of every request i have...Mona is the best at the front desk....she always remembers me when I return....i look forward to coming back very soon...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerald w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.4 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#20 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 109 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza

Property: Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
Address: 901 W 48th Pl, Kansas City, MO 64112-1895
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and sophisticated, a boutique hotel in Country Club Plaza. The newest hotel by Valencia Group blends timeless elements of classic design with Mediterranean influences. Hotel Sorella is a premier luxury hotel in Kansas City near shopping, dining, museums and events. Your rate includes complimentary, streaming quality, internet access, and a complimentary European breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing